We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Moose Walk Cabin night view Cloudy Moonlit night over Moose Walk Cabin.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Northern Lights over Moose Walk Cabin.
Moose Walk Cabin night view
Cloudy Moonlit night over Moose Walk Cabin.
Cabin entrance
Moose Walk Cabin entrance overlooking water
Front porch
Living room with water view
Dining room
Kitchen
Upstairs with two queen beds and futon--open floor plan
Upstairs with two queen beds and futon--open floor plan
Bathroom with shower/ tub and toilet
Mom and baby moose in stream in front of Moose Walk Cabin.
Your view of the magical aurora from Moose Walk Cabin window.
Cow moose feeding by cabin
Trumpeter swans feeding by the cabin
View of moose from picture window
Turn here. You've reached Moose Walk Cabin.
Rainbow Grayling fishing is excellent in front of the cabin.  2 canoes and fishing poles are on site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fairbanks, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tozierla
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cabin is beautiful and Rod and Terri (the owners) were more than accommodating! They came over and talked with us as well as made us a delicious cake and gave us some Caribou meat after Rod came back form hunting. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice home away from home to stay while they are in Alaska!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty of the cabin
Liked least: how close it is to neighbors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humboldtb...
Eureka.Ca
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Everything that we had hoped it would be and more!”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I recently spent three nights here on our long dreamed of and awaited winter vacation to see the northern lights. Over the years, we have stayed in many vacation rentals through VRBO, and this is without a doubt, is the cleanest most well equipped of them all. Terri and Rod have only owned this cabin for just over a year and during this time they have worked very hard to update the property in every way. The cabin is quaint and has a true Alaskan feel but with all the modern touches. The furniture is cozy and comfortable, the cabin is warm and inviting and the kitchen is one of the best that we have ever stayed in. I especially loved the new coffee maker and the assortment of chocolate and teas! (and the delicious dessert that was left for us in the refrigerator) Since I often prefer to cook rather that go out, the quality of the kitchen a most important feature to me.
Terri and Rod are warm and friendly people who are well suited to welcoming visitors to this cabin. They go out of their way to extend the best of Fairbanks to their guests. Their goal was to own a VRBO and this property is the realization of that dream.... and we might guess that they may own others in the future...... We would to stay with them anytime without question.
We are actually thinking of returning in the fall to see Alaska without snow. We hope that Rod and Terri will have an opening for us when we come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cabin and the conversations with Terri and Rod
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvz13
California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Family Holiday Spot”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 5 spent Christmas week at this wonderfully charming cabin. It was a perfect place for our family to use as a home base. Rod and Terri are wonderful hosts. The location is perfect and our family had the best time playing hockey out on the backyard rink, doing puzzles at the dining table with the fireplace going, baking Christmas cookies while it snowed, etc. The cabin offered everything our family could want or need. It has a well stocked kitchen and bathroom, comfy beds, a warm and cozy fireplace, and a wonderful view. We were very lucky and enjoyed watching the Northern Lights from the backyard on 5 different days. The cabin is close to the town of North Pole which has a delicious Thai restaurant, a Safeway grocery store, The Santa Claus House, and the Bargain Bin (a fun thrift store for you treasure hunters). Our family loved our stay here during this winter wonderland and we would stay again in a heartbeat any time of year.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fun and relaxing place to spend your time in Fairbanks”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Moose Walk Cabin was an excellent place for our family to base our Fairbanks activities. We arrived late in the day, but the Pangborns greeted us as if we were long-lost cousins. They told us about the cabin, introduced my children to their lovely dog and children, offered us use of their canoe and fishing gear (which we used).

The cabin itself was well decorated and had everything a traveling family would need - great kitchen, television with DVD collection, dining area, nice bathrooms and a washer/dryer. On the summer nights we stayed, 2 moose walked up the stream each evening and gave us our closest look of the trip at these magnificent animals. (We found out the reason the cabin is called Moose Walk.) The beds were comfortable and our family of 5 all found places to sleep.

I can't really say enough about our hosts or the cabin. The Pangborns are excellent hosts and made sure we were very comfortable. The cabin was close enough to Fairbanks so we could see the city, but still felt like we were seeing a part of natural Alaska. I recommend taking the canoe out and going up or down the river.

The Moose Walk Cabin is a lovely place. If you are in Fairbanks, I highly recommend that you stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The access to the waterfront and canoeing with my daughter, seeing moose
Liked least: Saying goodbye
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff K
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
772 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,381 helpful votes
“Great Cabin for Northern Lights”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in late February. The cabin was fantastic - very complete. It had everything you need for a short-term or long-term stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful. It's about a five minute drive to a Safeway and local restaurants.

Our principal reason for visiting the North Pole/Fairbanks area was to see the Northern Lights and we weren't disappointed. We saw them on two of the three nights we stayed there. The lights were extremely good on our last night. We watched them for about an hour on the frozen pond in front of the cabin. They continued for most of the night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happpycam...
portland, or
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Relaxing Cabin Stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Spent 4 nights at Moosewalk cabin and I only wish it could have been longer. Terri and Rod were great hosts and have stocked the cabin for comfort. The couch with recliner seats was very comfortable, a great dining room table with seating for six and a well supplied kitchen for making basic meals. Having the Keurig coffee maker was greatly appreciated plus supplied half and half. The wood stove kept the cabin extremely cozy even in -25 degree days that we had. Although, I would recommend slippers as the floor can be cold to bare feet. There is an ample supply of firewood supplies by Rod. There is also another heat source if you don't want to use the wood stove. The upstairs has two queen beds that were very comfortable and the bathroom is well supplied with a nice shower. Rod and Terri were very helpful with suggestions of activities and also generously let us borrow their snowshoes. The cabin is about a 15-20 minute drive to Fairbanks and about 5-10minutets to North Pole where there is a Safeway. The cabin sits on the Chena River slough and faces north. We drove out to more open areas to view the aurora, but you could see it from the cabin as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely comfortable in a beautiful spot, really great cabin.
Liked least: Could have used a softer pillow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardg8...
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy , well equipped, comfortable cabin with friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you are planning to come to Fairbanks area to see aurora and experience winter near the arctic circle, this is the place to stay!
The owners live nearby are very attentive and try hard to be sure your stay is the best it could be. They are a great resource on local activities or if any problems arise. He is a professional guide and very knowledgeable on all outdoor activities and she is an open, energetic friendly upbeat person who has made sure the cabin is spotlessly clean, tasteful and well equipped with everything you could need.
The cabin is very comfortable with a wood burning stove with an ample supply of seasoned wood. There is also an oil heater if you don't have the time or interest to heat the cabin with wood. Both can keep the cabin very comfortable - even in the frigid temperatures the area routinely experiences ( was minus 20 Fahrenheit nite time and minus 8 day time the week we stayed).
The location is excellent for watching aurora. The sky is dark and clear. Amazing moonlight , stars and aurora. Moose is abundant and routinely seen .The windows in the main room face north and since this is beneath the aurora oval, any activity is usually visible. Nearby are many winter activities and the owners will supply snowshoes -and there is even a wood fired sauna next to the cabin for your use. Wifi was broadband , fast and reliable.cable TV included HBO/Showtime.
We have only visited in the winter, which was really fun, but there clearly are many warm weather activities such as fishing , hiking, hunting, boating etc within a short walk or drive.
I can't describe what a cozy, comfortable well equipped cabin this is.The owners are fantastic hosts and can offer many suggestions if you are looking for an activity or need anything.
The small town of North Pole is very close and has a couple of restaurants and a full service Safeway for groceries etc as well as fuel , fast food etc.
We will be back to see aurora again and will stay at the cabin if it is available (it is frequently booked- another indication of the quality of the place). We are also planning a solstice visit to experience 23+hr daylight and this cabin would be our preference as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: woodstove, comfortable beds
Liked least: hard foam pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing