We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Our first stop on our trip and the hotel really made us feel we were in Alaska, not some generic motel in anywhere USA. Right near airport and highway, yet very quiet. Located on river (our balcony overlooked it)--fun to watch boats go by. Room was clean and comfortable. Got good deal on room rate thru Northern Lights Coupon book (2 nites for price of one). Staff very accommodating and informative. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank octobersky1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here for only one night before catching the Aurora Winter Train to Anchorage. The room was fine, the beds comfortable, with a nice view of the river. The lobby is spacious with a large area for a diverse complimentary breakfast. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. Pike's Landing restaurant was next door for a meal. Pike's Landing is an historic location and currently sports an ice bridge, which we walked across in the dark. I imagine it is beautiful in the light, but we arrived on one of the shortest days of the year, so missed that. The lobby coffee was the best of our trip. The free airport/rail shuttle is available 24/7. Everyone is cheerful and it felt merry and welcoming for Christmas Eve.

Room Tip: Get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiCottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Pike's was such a pleasant surprise. We were able to get a good price through the ATS coupon book (you can order on line prior to your trip). We were confirmed for a double queen bed room, but when we arrived, our room type was not available. We were given our own cabin along the Chena River. It had a king bed and the staff was quick to bring two roll away beds to accommodate our family. Although we were wall to wall in the little cabin, it was cozy and very comfortable. We loved the privacy of our own little home. We had a small kitchenette with sink and microwave. The days were long, and our boys were playing football on the lawn at 11:30 PM. Very memorable.

The lodge is a favorite with the locals. There were two weddings there during our stay. Although we didn't eat any meals at the hotel, we did take advantage of hand scooped ice cream in the lobby which was a nice treat. Very reasonable. We would stay again if we ever get back to Fairbanks.

Room Tip: Request a cabin for privacy and a unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maawandoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed for my first time at Pikes, it was pleasant, and I was very impressed! My room was cozy, and clean, with a balcony and river view. It has a warm feeling when you walk in the door and are in the lobby area, and the staff is very pleasant. It is close to the airport which is convenient, and a 10 minute ride to downtown. I highly recommend this place if you are in Fairbanks! :D

Room Tip: I feel you will be happy with any room here, as I have viewed several on my last trip before I decid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKGIRL411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This is such a nice place to stay. We are locals and wanted to take advantage of a New Years Eve promotion 2009/2010 that they offered. The hotel's ambience is very nice, warm and inviting. You feel like you are in Alaska with the art. We were staying on the third floor facing the river and they had firework displays for the guest. It was so nice to watch the fireworks from the winter in your warm room. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. I slept like a baby. We were given complimentary tokens for ice cream from their onsite ice cream parlor. There is dining in the hotel but we did not go so I can't comment on the quality of the food during this particular visit. The hotel is really close to the airport with shuttle service. However, you will need a vehicle to get around town which is not a major obstacle because most everything is relatively close. The staff was amazing to our family. Our vehicle was not properly plugged in and the car was frozen the next morning and would not start. After we realized that we were having vehicle problems, the front desk stepped in and was amazing. After plugging up the car, the grounds personel later gave us a battery jump. Well this all took several hours to get resolved and while we were trying to get my car started again, the front desk offered my family the opportunity to return to our the room, where it was more comfortable, until we got car started. We did not leave until about 5pm that same evening. The hotel did not charge us anything extra for the extra time in the room. They were above and beyond accommodating. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I like the upper level of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The staff was pleasant and the cookies were delicious. The walls seemed thin and I could hear the people next door. I didn't like that at all and I am sure they wouldn't have like that if they knew.

Room Tip: Call ahead and state that you would like a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Hello-
we are sorry that you did not have a more restful night's sleep. I have spent many nights at Pike's (over 120) and have not experienced a thin wall problem. However, you were in one of our connecting rooms that unfortunately does not have as much sound proofing due to the connecting door. Thanks for letting us know about this problem and we will see if we can do anything about it.
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The kids (2 older teenagers) went to Fairbanks as an 'end of summer' trip. It was quite enjoyable overall. Pike's Waterfront Lodge definitely met our needs. The grounds were well kept. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. We also enjoyed the unique flavors of complimentary ice cream. We enjoyed that overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobbyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
7.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.8 km away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
3.9 km away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
1.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport
6.5 km away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: $135 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms and cabins many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside decks, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and sleeping rooms. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves and are non smoking. We offer Aveda aromatherapy bathroom amenities. Our exercise room is open 24 hours. The gift shop with ATM machine and selling food items is open 24 hours. We have extensive interpretative sign display on Fairbanks history and ecology of the area. We have free Bocce Ball, golf putting and FoosBall in the game room. We have a coin operated laundry facility. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska International airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. We have free shuttle service to/from the airport and railroad station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing