We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Moose in the Garden for several nights on our 3 month trip to Alaska. We stayed at probably 35 B&B's on the trip and I can say that A Moose in the Garden was tied for the best place we stayed at with maybe 1 or 2 other places. It was wonderful. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable. The common area upstairs was great and we even got to see Mount McKinley out one the windows one day.

The breakfasts were very good and our hostesses were welcoming and friendly. They also recommended that we visit some places in Fairbanks that were not in our guide books and that we would never have found without their recommendation. That is one of the advantages of staying in a good B&B - local knowledge.

After you have stayed at as many B&B's as we did, you can recognize the difference between the good ones and the great ones. A Moose in the Garden is one of the great ones.

There are two things that you should be aware of about this B&B. First, there is one bathroom that is shared between the two rooms on the lower level. We knew about this advance and it did not present a problem to us. If you do insist on a private bath, there is a very large suite upstairs with an ensuite bath.

Also, the place is a bit out of town so you do need a car to get there. It took us maybe 10 minutes to get from the B&B to anyplace in Fairbanks.

A Moose in the Garden is the #1 rated B&B in Fairbanks. I can see why. Stay there if you visit Fairbanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
67
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Okay, to be perfectly honest, we haven't even stayed at the Moose yet, but already we are so impressed with the flexibility and helpfulness of our hostess, Cathie. Via personal phone calls, she has assisted us in the daunting task of making arrangements for our visit to Fairbanks to move our daughter into her college dorm. It felt like I was talking with a close friend as she warmly discussed our travel plans and offered solutions to any concerns we had such as needing sleep space for three at the start of our stay, but only for two once we have our daughter settled into her dorm. Unbelievable service! Can't wait to meet her in person and to see her beautiful home! We couldn't be happier with our choice to stay there.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Kathy made us feel like family from the moment we met her. Her log home is exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed the three days we spent with her. Her B&B was the best one of four we stayed in Alaska. The breakfasts were creative and tasted outstanding. When we return to Fairbanks, we won't stay anywhere else.

Doug and Jean McCusker
Calisle, PA

Room Tip: There are two rooms on lower level with shared bath and one loft with room for four people with priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

From the moment we walked in it was like we walked into the home of close relatives or friends. We got such a warm, friendly greeting and the feeling stayed till the end. The place is beautiful, yet still comfortable and Cathie couldn't be nicer. We are a family with 2 teenage boys and stayed in the upstairs loft - the boys even got their own cozy room. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub. Cathie is so flexible and acomodating. Breakfast is bewteen 8:30-9:00, but she doesn't mind if you don't sleep in (it's just that her hot entree will be cold then) but you can't help waking up because of the yummie smells coming from the kitchen. Breakfast was both delicious and very hearty, enough to keep you going the whole day, and it was nice to also talk to her and get local information. They also didn't mind that we were coming in very late (1am) one day after an Artic Circle tour.
She's so relaxed - down to not requiring a deposit and being flexible about checkout time. I can't compliment it enough!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Cathie (I hope I spell it correctly) took care of us, as if we were her personal guests. She took care of everything we needed. It felt like she genuinely cares about us. She did our laundry, changed our towels and made our beds, even though it is not something you would expect at a B&B. It was a perfect mix of pampering accommodations you'd find at a hotel and the warmness and friendliness of a private hostess. She also provided excellent tips on hiking trails and good restaurants in the area.

Everything was spotless and she paid attention to the smallest of details, such as stocking the bathroom with soap, shampoo, conditioner as well as cotton swabs and beach towels to take with us to the Chena Hot Springs facility.

The breakfast was delicious and hearty and the company priceless.

She is THE BEST!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avital_G_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Just a short note to say how much I enjoyed staying with Kathy at the Moose. From start to finish Kathy went out of her way to make sure my stay was great. She was extremely friendly and welcoming. The B&B is located in an amazing area. If you want peace and quiet then this is the place.

Tremendous breakfasts, clean rooms, lovely garden.

When I return to Fairbanks I will certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed at A Moose in the Garden in September to get a little weekend away from everything. I actually live in Fairbanks (in town) and wanted to take my girlfriend somewhere special to have a relaxing weekend. This place shows that you really don't have to drive very far to get into the countryside and find a quaint place to stay. It was getting chilly around that time, but still warm enough that you could go out for hikes and whatnot. Beautiful scenery abounds in the area and the view of the mountains from the back deck is fabulous on a clear day. Even with all of this and the cozy fireplace, the best part is the breakfast each morning. We stayed for two nights, and although the breakfast items varied widely each day, everything was nothing short of delicious. If you have the opportunity, you really should take a weekend and just relax at this place. There's nowhere better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StarkMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
10.3 km away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,141 reviews
12.0 km away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
373 reviews
14.3 km away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
18.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
16.0 km away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#1 of 41 in Fairbanks
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Moose in the Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1691 Flatpick Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Moose in the Garden B&B and Vacation Rental is a private, spacious, log home located away from busy commercial areas and city lights. Perfect for viewing the northern lights. It rests on three acres atop an oasis of lawn surrounded by wild flowers and the northern boreal forest. Relax on the deck while taking in views of Denali, the Alaska Range, and the Tanana River Valley. Wildlife tracks that abound in the winter include moose, fox, ptarmigan, hare, vole and wolverine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Moose In The Garden Bed & Breakfast Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing