We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is GORGEOUS! Awesome location too.”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Loved this hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed. Love the wood floors (as opposed to carpet in most hotels which grosses me out). It is very conveniently located - close to many restaurants, subway, etc. The only problem is that it is very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MomOfThree212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks for the 5 star review "MomOfThree"!
We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our room and location. Depending on the time of year, Brooklyn and NYC in particular can get very expensive. There are certain months, weekends and holiday where values exist. Please feel free to contact me whenever you plan to return and I'd be happy to assist you with your plans.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

We were glad we stayed at the Nu Brooklyn rather than the pricier but smaller rooms in downtown Manhattan for our holiday. It is very low-key but offers buffet breakfast every morning. It can get a little crowded in the lobby buffet set up though. Staff were pleasant, everything was clean. Easy walk to the Brooklyn Bridge and the DUMBO district. Chalkboards in the bathrooms were fun. We wrote down all the things we did each day in NYC on it and took a photo so we'd remember! Rooms are not super soundproof so if you have noisy or late neighbours, you might be woken.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairie_ola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks for sending such a complimentary review "prairie_ola"!
Brooklyn is a wonderful alternative for value and space compared with some downtown Manhattan properties. Staying at NU Hotel especially provides easy access to all transportation/subway lines that serve all parts of NYC, it's culture and attractions.
It's really cool that you wrote down your activities. It would be great if you could share the photo with me. We certainly do our best to soundproof the guest rooms from the outside noise with double insulated glass, but the hardwood floors absorb a little less noise in guest rooms than we'd prefer. However, our front office team is available 24/7 to contact any disrespectful guests that might be making excessive noise at inconvenient times.
We hope that you will return to us again.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I was visiting a friend in Brooklyn and stayed at the NU Hotel for one night. Check-in was quick and easy. Front desk attendant was pleasant. There is complementary La Colombe coffee in the lobby (great for coffee snobs like myself), as well as bananas and apples. There's a free continental breakfast in the morning (cereals, bagels, fruit, muffins, juice, tea). There is a small bar in the lobby also. It's definitely a boutique hotel, and the lobby reflects that. It's intimate, not massive. We stated in the Urban Suite. It was spacious and clean. The bed was super comfortable. I would recommend it for couples, but it is spacious enough for a family to stay in the room. The bathroom had a double sink which was nice.

Room Tip: The Urban Suite is spacious and fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MNGPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you, "MNGPhila"!
It's really great to know that you enjoyed your stay at NU Hotel and enjoyed the Urban Suite. I agree that the room is great for couples that need a little extra room. The Urban Suites are often times used as hospitality suites for wedding parties; due to the seating options and the ability to stage makeup, beverages and amenities. Since you mentioned families, I'll take this opportunity to mention that we have other suites that contain 2 bunk beds and a queen size bed.
We're really pleased that you enjoyed our coffee, breakfast and bar (as well).
Please choose to stay with us whenever you visit your friend again. Book directly on our website or contact us directly to learn about our discounts.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Located near shopping and amazing neighborhood restaurants. Rooms are beautiful and unique but above all is the Excellent Staff!!!
We had a small inconvenience and the staff was always pending to solve. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank filomena203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks "filomena203"!
I'm really pleased to learn that you enjoyed our neighborhood, our staff and our rooms. We stand ready to help you enjoy yourselves and assist with any needs you have in Brooklyn or at our property. We're very thankful for your 5 star review and recommendation. I hope that you will return to NU again in the near future.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Stayed for two nights on frigid weekend while visiting family. Room was warm and had all I needed -- comfortable bed, plenty of drawer space, bathrobes, yoga mat, k-cup coffeemaker. Nice continental breakfast. Must mention the very accommodating staff: not only were they attentive while I was there, but because of the big storm, my flights and arrival dates kept changing, and as long as I provided the canceled flight number, I wasn't charged for that night. I have stayed at several Brooklyn airbnbs, with mixed experience, and this hotel was far superior and actually less expensive, even including the cost of a taxi/Uber to family.

Room Tip: I asked for high floor, away from elevator, and on quiet side -- and heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank queensgrlStl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks for the 5 star review "gueensgrlStl"!
It give's us great pleasure to know that we were able to provide the warmth and comfort you required while visiting your family. Our team tries it's best to stay engaged with our guests and accommodate their needs. Storms can be very challenging and debilitating.
It's nice to hear that you found us to be a value (incl. transportation) as compared to the other experiences you've had in Brooklyn.
I hope you will plan to stay only at NU in the future.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

It was our first stay at the NU and I was very impressed despite the mixed reviews. I loved the ambiance of the lobby/bar: very cozy and intimate. I wish they had more choices of sweet white wines and food choices but never the less- the food served was very good. The room was amazing: away from the noise from Atlantic Ave and just the perfect warmth. It had a distinctive scent when I walked in that I fell in love with ( wish I knew what it was). The only compliant I have with the room is if ur really tall or u have knee issues, the bed will eventually catch up to u because its too low making it hard to get up. But nevertheless, its very cozy and unique design in the room and cute with the chalkboard in the bathroom.
We loved the breakfast and even though we wanted more choices it was still good. And the greatest plus: a punching bag in the gym to work out.
All in all: we had a great night and we would come back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank essence1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you "essence1517"!
The scent that you detected is the signature scent of our "independent collection" hotels. You can enjoy the scent in each of our properties. It's great to know that you experienced the food in our bar/lounge, enjoyed our breakfast, our fitness room. Our platform beds can be a little challenging for some guest. I apologize for that. Please contact me personally when you return. We may be able to provide a way to raise the mattress for your convenience.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here while visiting our kids nearby. This is the kind of hotel we love. Small enough for excellent personal service, all the necessary amenities and a great location at a reasonable price .

The hotel is decorated in a Brooklyn hipster style and we found it charming and very comfortable. We had a king room that was generous size by NYC standards.

We especially appreciated the front desk staff which responded quickly to our requests. I also appreciated being pleasantly greeted on the way in and out. A nice continental breakfast is included and the lobby turns into a bar with a light menu at night.

We will return !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank merylsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you Meryl!
We really appreciate your 5 star review of NU Hotel. We're very pleased to hear that you found us to be a "perfect fit". We're very proud of our room size and design. Its also nice to hear that you found our team to be friendly, enjoyed breakfast, the lobby bar and our amenities.
We'll look forward to your return
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.6 km away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
380 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
0.5 km away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.1 km away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: C$186 - C$485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NU Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing