We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
552
342
89
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
342
89
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smith street chalkboard wall urban suite boerum hill downtown brooklyn bagels atlantic ave new york continental breakfast parking garage street noise great area lobby bar carroll gardens front desk staff restaurants and shops hard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018

I've stayed at the NUHotel several times. It has a fantastic location, clean rooms, fluffy towels, robes and spa like bathrooms with chalk boards. The gym is terrific as are the bikes, fresh cookies and included breakfast. What has always made it a must is the staff. Which are most always welcoming and super helpful. A special shout out to Natalie Fisk who is the assistant general manager who cares about your stay.! Right now they have tickets to the David Bowie exhibit at the nearby Brooklyn Museum which is phenomenal! Enjoy!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Noblefilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Thanks for the 5 Star review "Noblefilm". We really appreciate all the nice things you said about NU Hotel. Natalie inspires our team to extend great care and concern for our guests and it's very special when someone (like yourself) recognizes her personal efforts. The David Bowie exhibit at Brooklyn Museum is definitely a must see. We'll look forward to your next visit. Please don't hesitate to contact us in advance to makes sure all your future needs are satisfied.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

Excellent location. Hip vibe. Super clean room. Beautiful bed. Soft towels. These are a few of the many great things about the Nu Hotel, but its best quality by far is its people. The staff isn't just super attentive, you can tell they're just nice people. Absolutely the kind of talent that makes guests come back. I know we will.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ringcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Thank you “Ringcar”! I really appreciate your comments and 5 star review. Our team tries really hard to provide a high level of engagement and a valued experience: I am extremely proud of the team at NU Hotel, I am extremely fortunate to work with such caring and authentic people. Im so pleased that you felt their warmth.
Please come stay with us again and again
Gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

This hotel is wonderful and conveniently located near downtown Brooklyn & several subway lines right on Atlantic Avenue. Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel with wonderful staff, great gym, and good breakfast.

Room Tip: Urban Suite is wonderful and pet friendly
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank damefate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thanks for the 5 star review "damefate". We're pleased to know that you enjoyed our location and that you found us to be such a clean, comfortable and guest focused property.
Please stay with us again
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Stayed here on a weekend trip to NYC for 2 nights. Only had one major complaint about the place. First, the good: The location in downtown Brooklyn is great, next to a lot of bars and restaurants and public transpo. Upon check-in we were helped out by courteous staff and went up to our clean an spacious (for NYC) room. The bed is comfy and I enjoyed the soap and shampoo in the bathroom. We did not eat breakfast here even though it was free because we had outting each morning for breakfast but they provided free, excellent coffee in the lobby and free fresh baked cookies! The elevators were never crowded and the walls were thick so we did not hear out neighbors. The design of the hotel is nice and the lighting is just how I like it - dark.

So the only complaint - the first morning we were woken up by the cleaning staff chatting away in the hallway, very loudly. It seemed like one cleaner was carrying on a convo with another who was inside a room cleaning and the one in the hallway was basically talking at the top of her voice. It was around 9 in the morning and I wanted to sleep in but could not because of the noise. After about 20 minutes they moved on down the hall but I was already up. It's one thing when hotel guests talk loudly in the hallways as they move in and out. It's nother when its a staff member and they are standing there for 20 minutes talking loudly. Unacceptable. The management should tell the staff to keep it down in the hallways and rooms while cleaning.

Other than this misstep I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takosushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you takosushi!
I'm really please to hear that you enjoyed our location, amenities, our front office staff and our cookies. I completely agree with you, team members should not be speaking in the hallway and this is unacceptable. Please know that our team has received some supplementary training on guest corridor etiquette.
We will look forward to your return.
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

This was our first time staying here mainly because of it's proximity to our son and daughter-in-law. Brooklyn seems to have quite a few budget/low-end hotel options that get middlin' and widely ranging reviews. This hotel is fairly steady. It's classified as a boutique hotel, which I suppose means it's relatively small as a hotel and part of a small chain of hotels. It has a youthful vibe and the Euro feeling that is popular these days - artistically appointed, lean but perfectly functional furnishings, interesting design elements to the place. Considering that it is close to the foot of the Brooklyn bridge and on one of the busier Brooklyn streets - Atlantic Ave, it is fairly quiet and feels perfectly safe. The location also means that it is very close to the commercial center of Downtown Brooklyn and a 10 or 15 minute walk to the Barclay's Center. The breakfast is fairly standard "continental" fare but varied enough for a 2-4 day stay. The staff are helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJM747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Thank you TJM!
We really appreciate you review and the 5 stars. You're actually correct about our boutique hotel description. Typically boutique hotels are less than 100 rooms or so, offer a more personal experience, have cultural ties to the neighborhood and have an artistic design element. It's really nice to know that you enjoyed your experience and that we satisfied your expectations. We're very proud of our location and our staff. It's always rewarding to hear feedback that which you provided. Please choose to stay with us whenever you visit your family.
Thank you!
gary.desoiza@independentcollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews