We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel with good rates”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is relatively new so everything is in excellent condition. The staff is friendly and attentive. It is next door to an Aloft so if you're not interested in room service and want to save some money you're better off staying there. It is not too far from downtown Brooklyn so you can see a different part of NYC compared to Manhattan. You may not want to walk around by yourself after dark. I never had a problem, but you can find yourself alone pretty fast on some of the side streets which can be bad. To be fair, this area is improving and I never felt unsafe. It is a good alternative to expensive hotels in Manhattan, but be prepared for a 30 min subway ride to midtown. They did open a Shake Shack a couple of blocks away, and there is Junior's cheesecake nearby as well. I recommend both.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonC195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for recognizing the hotel newness and staff attentiveness. We have high expectations on these fronts. The next time you are in town I hope you have an opportunity to walk or bike the Brooklyn Bridge and of course enjoy a meal in our Grubstake Restaurant or a cocktail at our rooftop lounge, the Brooklyn Terrace.

Thanks again for staying with us and for being Starwood loyal

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    435
    224
    51
    70
See reviews for
318
268
92
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southernsurprise
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Priceline! Priceline! Priceline! I got this hotel for $80 a night! Loved it. The hotel is a little hard to find...it's surrounded by one-way streets (as is everything in NYC). There are a lot of renovations going on around the hotel so don't let the run down buildings scare you; I felt safe here. Parking is around the corner for $30 a day...it's valet parking also but it costs more. The hotel is walking distance to the Fulton Street Mall and local mom and pop resturants (good eating). To get into the city, you have to catch a red 2 or 3 train. It is about 30 minutes to Times Square, but close to the financial district and downtown Manhattan. It's a cheaper alternative to staying in Manhattan. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernsurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
And hello to you as well. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Sheraton Brooklyn Hotel. Clearly a great value located minutes from lower Manhattan and 20 minutes from Times Square

We look forward to your return visit. Safe travels and thank you for being Starwood loyal

Marie Kupfer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Sheraton:
- very helpful staff
- top location (multiple subways within 5 min walking, 2/3 line 1 min away) > easy to get into manhatten
- short walk to smith street with cafes, bars, and shops
- macy's and other larger shops around the corner
- quite street
- free lobby wifi + internet computers
- great room with all amenities (excellent beds, clean, large room, ironing boards, huge flatscreen HD TV)
All in all, highly recommendable

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Just a brief note of thanks for all your kind words regarding our staff, property and location.. Our team works very hard at insuring every stay is a perfect stay.

Brooklyn has become a hugely popular venue for leisure travel. The Brooklyn Bridge Promenade, Juniors Restaurant, Coney Island and of course the Barclay Center soon to be home of the Nets are all geat places to visit. And be sure not to miss having a cocktail at the Brooklyn Terrace, our rooftop lounge, the next time you are in town.

Safe Travels,

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 11th till 31st March 2012. We had a very pleasant stay thereat. The rooms were always very clean. The staff at the front desk were always ready to help and the restaurant food is excellent and not very expensive. The only thing is that they do not have free wifi in the rooms. But apart from that we had an excellent stay and will definately recommend it to my friends,. The location is good as well since there are 3 subways stations in the vicinities which run all night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hili082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton. I will be certain to pass along your words to to our staff. We look forward to being your host in the near future.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Clean updated rooms. Decent lobby bar and morning breakfast for SPG members. Overall great stay for a business traveler doing business in Brooklyn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktattai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are excited to be part of the new energy in Brooklyn for both leisure and business travellers. Please be sure to tell all your colleagues.

On a personal note, Brooklyn has also become a popular venue for leisure travel. The Brooklyn Bridge Promenade, Juniors Restaurant, Coney Island and of course the Barclay Center soon to be home of the Nets are all geat places to visit. And be sure not to miss having a cocktail at the Brooklyn Terrace, our rooftop lounge.

We look forward to being your host.

Regards
Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our daughter is moving to NY so we (myself,wife and daughter) were on a tour to check out neighborhoods in Brooklyn and Manhattan. We weren't considering this neighborhood (downtown Brooklyn) but I did not like this hotel's neighborhood at all - trashy. I can't fathom why Sheraton would put a hotel here.

Staff at the hotel was very good - took our bags early including one with all of my electronic stuff in it - no problems. Looked for a place to eat and the best we could do was Five Guys. There are no family restaurants with moderate-priced food. I will not eat in a hotel restaurant - it's not what they do best. We could not get into a Manhattan hotel because it was St. Patrick's day weekend. Parking worked out well as we did not need access to the car - $25 one block away. Subway access is very good.

So - nice place to lay your head but don't plan on enjoying the local sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thanks so much for your review and kind words about the Sheraton. Im glad to hear your daughter is moving to the area so I trust you will be a frequent guest.

Please be certain to contact my office directly so I can share with you names of some of the great restaurants and sites in Brooklyn. Brooklyn is going through a huge transformation and has much to offer.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I arrived at the Sheraton Brooklyn for vacation March 8-14, 2012. The guest relations officer was very professional and welcoming and the hotel really surprised ,the foyer and surrounding area were tastefully decorated. We were on the 21st floor and you could see the sea and ships in the distance and the Brooklyn skyline. The rooms were cleaned and beds made when we returned from shopping. The only complaint i have is that my stay was too short.

Dont let the name Brooklyn conjure images of dirt and crime, the Fulton Mall which is a wide range of stores inclusive of Macy's, Modells (Sports) and various high end stores. The buses and trains run on time and you dont feel intimidated or nobody interferes with you.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms you can see the ships in the harbour and the Brooklyn Skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deniseii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieKupfer, General Manager at Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you so very much for the great review and yes we are sorry also that your stay was so short. I hope you had an opportunity to walk the Brooklyn Bridge, visit Juniors Restaurant, Our Grubstake Restaurant, and of course our rooftop lounge, The Brooklyn Terrace. I also hope you signed up to be an SPG member so you can take advantage of our loyalty program.

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton and we look forward to being your host in the near future.

Marie Kupfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.0 km away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#20 of 72 in Brooklyn
995 reviews
0.4 km away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.0 km away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#23 of 72 in Brooklyn
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.5 km away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#15 of 72 in Brooklyn
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Property: Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
Address: 228 Duffield Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#15 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel, the area's newest full-service hotel, is 1 MTA stop from Manhattan near MetroTech Ctr, Bklyn Heights, and BAM. We have 4,300sq ft of meeting space and a rooftop deck. Pool Hours: Mon- Fri 5pm-10pm Sat- Sun 10am- 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing