We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great time in a great apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
P1040957.JPG
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
P1040957.JPG
P1040954.JPG
Table opens to seat four.  Entrance to bathroom on right.
P1060078.JPG
Bedroom
Tiled shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brooklyn, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Brigitta...
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
“A great time in a great apartment”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The apartment was totally perfect for us. We (family with 2 adult daughters) have immediately felt at home in the comfortable and clean apartment. The apartment is even nicer than the photos promise. Manhattan is quickly reached. We would recommend the apartment without any doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
englishma...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good place to stay if you want to avoid busy New York”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Greenpoint is one stop on the Metro from Manhattan. This basement flat is below a 2storey house where the owner Jeanne lives. It is on a quiet one one way rd, close to 2 Metro stations, one an 8 minute walk over a bridge , and the other. 5 minute walk in the opposite direction , but you need to change trains to go to NY Central. Flat has one bedroom with very comfy bed. TV flat screen and small. Kettle heated up on stove, but all other conveniences. Could hear family in mornings as they got ready for school or work, but not too noisy. Felt a bit scared 1st night walking street to store but after that, felt pretty safe at night. Ate mainly in NY itself, plenty of restaurants there. Would have liked a proper map of the area that detailed the location of shops and stations as felt lost for the first couple of days. Overall, good place to stay. Push button key entry

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing another side to New York away from the city
Liked least: Not knowing where everything was (shops, trains) on arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2013
Maggie,
That's a great idea...I'll look into getting a map like you've suggested!
Thanks!!!
Jeanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betty0504...
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place to stay by far”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from our second stay in Greenpoint, and it was as wonderful as we remember it. The apartment is fantastic, with everything you need, especially very good air conditioning! We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Highlights this year were exploring Long Island City - a 10 minute walk from the apartment over the Pulaski Bridge with amazing views of the Manhattan skyline on the way. Lots of great bars and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed Woodbines on Vernon Boulevard (great service, food and wine). Testaccios a couple of doors down was great too, as was Blend, all within 2 minutes of each other. Perfect accommodation in a friendly and interesting community. You can't ask for more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great things to do in the evening, coming back to a cool and clean home away from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron B
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to New York City, comfortable, complete, and quiet”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 days with 2 teenagers. Even though we haven't met Jeanne in person due to her own holidays she made us feel at home from the very first moment by arranging things perfectly. The apartment is complete since everything you would expect from an apartment is present. Airco worked fine during the heatwave we encountered, kitchen is complete, shower is comfortable and wireless internet works fast and faultless (which is appreciated when travelling with teenagers). The subway was close by and travelling via line G station Greenpoint Avenue (access in India Street) and then change to line 7 station Court Square is a quick and easy way of getting to Grand Central Station or Times Square.
There is a grocery store (called Fresh Market and located on 953 Manhatten Avenue) close by with everything you need.

We experienced only one minor issue. The couch can be converted into a double bed but for an adult (or in our case a 6 ft 4 tall teenager) it's not the most comfortable bed to sleep on for 5 days. That said, it's really a minor issue as our son slept well and the quiet neighbourhood is a great plus during the night.

Thanks to Jeanne whose hospitality made a great start to our vacation.

Ron, Jeanette, Naomi & Jesse

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: price/quality, size, location
Liked least: The couch/sofabed
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GinBlox
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment! Lovely Neighborhood!”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this apartment for 4 nights during the New Years Holiday. It's a beautiful apartment located on a quiet street with plenty of space for myself and 2 teenagers. The neighborhood is filled with nice shops and eateries. We especially enjoyed the Triangolo Pizzeria. I will definitely book again on our return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickyhall...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find, great apartment, great location!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Greenpoint, such a great find. The apartment was clean and homely, it has everything you need for a really comfortable holiday. George and Jeanne were great, there if you wanted them, but not intrusive at all, in fact, we only bumped into Jeanne on the last day! They were very understanding when we missed the check out time of 10am, which we didn't realise until 12noon! The location is great, the neighbourhood is soooo quiet, it was hard to believe we were in New York! Manhattan was just a short trip on the 7 train, the subway station was a 10min walk over the Pulaski bridge, which has the great view of the Manhattan skyline, the subway to explore Brooklyn was a 5min walk on Manhattan Avenue.

Greenpoint has plenty of good restaurants and bars, we particularly liked the Lobster Joint, where the lobster rolls are huge (you have the choice of bread roll or bibb lettuce wrap) and the best fish and chips outside of the UK! The Mexican restaurant Papacitos was also really good, if a little noisy, we could have shared one fajitas between the two of us. There are loads more restaurants/bars, you can literally eat yourself around the world, there are restaurants that serve Polish, Thai, Peruvian, Colombian, Japanese, Chinese to name a very few! For beers we liked Mark Bar, good selection of beers and good alternative rock music.

Overall, if you are looking for a base to explore all that New York has to offer, then you can't go wrong in staying at George and Jeanne's place - it's a great apartment to come home to after the madness of Manhattan! Can not recommend it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$144
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing