We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we needed!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brooklyn, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Deborah00...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed!!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

It was already our fourth visit to NYC, but the first time we stayed in Brooklyn in the Prospekt Park area. This apartment really felt like home. At arrival we were greeted by the lovely Fraulein. She showed us around, explained some stuff, but she didn't bother us for the rest of our stay. Fraulein and her husband, who live upstairs, are really great, they even printed some tickets for us.

The apartment is wonderful and we stayed there for almost two weeks very comfortably with three. It has a large living/dining area with a big pullout sofa. The kitchen wasn't really big, but it contained everything we needed. The owners had even provided some bagels, juice, etc for the first day(s). The bedroom has a queenside bed. The bathroom is rather small (but that wasn't a problem for us) with a bath (with showercurtain) and toilet. At the back there was also a very lovely garden with garden furnuture (and some nice cats!!). We spend quite some time in the evenings there. The wireless internet was included in the price and worked very well.
The only downside I can think about is, there's isn't really AC, but there are fans at the ceiling and 'blowers' in the windows. It could really get hot in there when temperatures were above 30°C outside, but you also get used to it really...

Although the apartment is not located in Manhattan, it only takes around 20 minutes to get there by underground (8 minutes walk to Prospekt Park station). The metro runs all night, so no problem getting back there after an evening/night out in Manhattan. The eara didn't feel really safe at the beginning, but once you get used to it, it wasn't a problem at all anymore and the apartment itself in located in a calm and quiet street. ;-) There are lots of supermarkets around to do your grocery shopping and also some cheap laundrettes (you will need it for a longer stay as towels and sheets don't get changed).

I would definitely recommend this apartement if you don't feel like staying in the noise and buzz from Manhattan. Great value for money!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tx
Reviewed March 21, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TonyHarr
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recomended”
Reviewed November 27, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Lefferts Garden for a week in November. We wanted to stay outside Manhattan and in a nice neighbourhood - the flat hit the bill perfectly. We arrived tired, about midnight after traveling from the UK all day. We were met by Fraulein who was lovely. She had got bagels and beer for us which was perfect. During our stay we needed some documents printed and the Carella's could not have been more helpful in sorting that out. It takes about 25 minutes to get into Manhattan but I would also recommend some of the local amenities including Prospect Park and the Botanical gardens. The flat is clean and has everything you need for a holiday stay.
Once again thanks for everything John and Fraulein.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living in a real neighbourhood
Liked least: Traveling back late at night
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness Scotland
Reviewed November 10, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan
Reviewed July 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MA
Reviewed April 28, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Apr 2011
Hi Susan and Hank, How are you both? Hope you are doing well. We are just beginning to enjoy the great weather, but we still have spots of rain. I was able to find homes for the kittens through work. Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that you had a great time in Brooklyn. We enjoyed having you as our guest. On your next visit, we would like to give you a 10% discount on your stay as our thanks for choosing our suite. Warmest regards, Fraulein and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing