We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and delightful ”

Little Choc Apothecary
Ranked #643 of 6,665 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Price range: US$8 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are proud to say that Little Choc Apothecary is the first fully vegan creperie in NYC. We offer a creative selection of sweet and savory crepes, as well as homemade baked goods. Our products are completely plant based, free of any chemical binders, gums, artificial flavors, and overly processed sugars and flours. We source our ingredients from local farms and distributors who focus on sustainability, and providing local, organic, and fair trade products whenever possible. Our liquid menu includes freshly pressed juices, Toby's Estate coffee and espresso drinks, as well as an apothecary-like selection of house blended teas. With over 100 different herb varieties, our guests have the freedom to request off menu, personalized tea blends based on their health, or taste preferences. Any individual herb or tea blend is available to take home by the ounce. While our crepe batter and a wide selection of desserts are gluten-free, we want our gluten sensitive guests to know that we do make gluten containing products in our kitchen. While we do our best to label and separate the cooking equipment, a small chance of cross contamination cannot be eliminated.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

A cozy little vegan brunch spot. Loved the atmosphere. The service was really slow. The crepes were only average. A little tough. The espresso was average. Nice sized menu. Loved the old China dishes. Might give it a second chance but maybe not.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AdventureLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2018

We really enjoyed our afternoon tea at Little Choc Apothecary. We actually visited to try their vegan crepes (we're not vegan but we really like crepes) but we saw an afternoon tea on the menu, and being British, we had to try it.

You get a few options to choose from when ordering the afternoon tea - it comes as a sweet or savoury version, we got to choose which cookies we wanted, and we also got to choose the type of tea we wanted (English breakfast, obviously). We had coconut milk with our tea and it was delicious!

The cakes were interesting and well worth a try - everything was tasty and we were amazed (we're not experts in vegan food!) at the coconut milk-based clotted cream! The lemon and sugar crepe was also delicious (of course we still ordered a crepe - it's what we went there for!).

Space is limited and a little cramped, but it's pretty, and the food is good, so it's worth it. We probably won't visit often, but when we fancy it we will be back. The smells coming from the kitchen downstairs were amazing (mushrooms, I think) so we'd like to try something savoury next time.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LTLOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

We don’t usually eat vegan but also don’t mind trying it out. The crepes were nice and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of upstairs. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Went for dessert mid week, not many customers, mostly all finishing their food.
Sat upstairs, nice cosy cafe. This is where the problems arose...

Those downstairs said hello but we got nothing from the guy upstairs who was standing at the counter right next to our table. After a few minutes he came over and wiped the table and said he would come back with water, which came 15 min later.

Ive never come across more fake, disrespectful and blatantly rude service at a cafe with no other patrons.

We got the food, and whilst eating one of the staff members was eating his dinner laughing and chatting loudly (understandable if on dinner break however you dont need to be obnoxious and loud).

Finished food, paid. No goodbye or thanks for coming (crepe maker downstairs did however say goodbye)

It was a very uncomfortable dessert. Despite the yummy crepes we will not come back nor recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

I went there for a single dinner and it was great. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The food was amazing! It's an art to cook and bake vegan and gluten-free food that tastes even better than non-vegan food. I had a very delicious crepe with mushrooms, spinach and walnuts and cashew-based cheese (so tasty) at the side. It was so good, if I wouldn't have been full after one I would have loved to try all the other savory crepes too. I also had a crunchy-soft scone with coconutmilk-based clotted cream and homemade raspberry jam.
Really, this vegan restaurant (for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner) is a must-visit for people who appreciate very tasty, qualitative animal-free and gluten-free food!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Limmattaucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Choc Apothecary also viewed

 

Been to Little Choc Apothecary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing