We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Glacier Bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glacier Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Glacier Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great place to stay because of its terrific location overlooking the bay inlet. They provide transportation to all the activities, although you may have to wait for the shuttle or bus to show up. We had all of our meals in the Lodge because going elsewhere would have been very difficult, but the meals were good. We obtained two nights stay for the price of one using the Tour Saver coupon book.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    90
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
105
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Beautiful setting, lots of ranger led activities. Room spacious and beds comfortable. Restaurant limited and fairly expensive as you would expect for this setting the food was nice. They catered to my gluten free, vegetarian needs without fuss.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I just left a two night stay at the lodge. I was a little hesitant to stay here because I couldn't find any recent reviews but have to say I was pleasantly surprised. We were met at the airport and taken to the lodge. Our room was ready on arrival...a double bed and two single beds. Bed was ok. Room was clean. The lodge is rustic but very comfortable.
I had purchased the inclusive package which included a boat tour to the glaciers and meals. After seeing the price of the meals I was glad I did. The food was very good but expensive!!
We were able to order an appetizer, soup/salad entree and dessert. If ordered separately it would have been about $150 for two of us. Dinner entrees were around $30.
The boat tour was very interesting.
I would definately recommend staying here (it is run by the National Parks).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rorygirl4528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
338 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here four nights for sightseeing and whale watching in the Glacier Bay area. We got a lodge room with a view which I highly advise - but be prepared for views filtered through the trees. The room was basic with a double and a single bed. No TV - you do not and should not need one . It was much like a basic motel room. You are in Alaska for nature - this is not the Ritz. The hotel is essentially run by a bunch of twenty-somethings who mostly have good attitudes but a little light on hospitality industry training. Our ground transfers by the way were provided gratis - although they often involved detours to do other errands. Go with the flow and you'll be OK. The food service is fairly good - particularly if you like fresh salmon and halibut. They do have spotty wifi in the lodge lobby which we had to use briefly - it worked finally. Be sure to book your adventures such as the day long Glacier Bay trip and the whale watch trip in advance. Do not miss either of these - particularly the whale watch trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

When you have a lodge in a place like Glacier Bay, you already have the most amazing location you can!! This lodge is in the park!! You walk a few feet one way and you're going on one of several pristine temperate rain forest hikes. A few feet the other way and you've got miles of beach you can walk along, and many places you can stop along the way to sit and enjoy the quiet and serenity. And, also right there is the dock where the boat cruise leaves from. This certainly is a great place to "get away from it all".
The rooms certainly aren't the Ritz but the beds are comfortable, the have adequate lighting, nice bathrooms and considering where you are, who could ask for anything more. I think they even have Wi-fi. We were there with our two teenage sons and the rooms were big enough for both us and our stuff.
The staff is really, really nice, very eager and helpful to answer any and all of our questions. Their shuttle picked us up at the airport and dropped us back.
Some people have complained that it's pricey, but everything in Alaska is. We paid about the same rate for a dump near the entrance of Denali. The only thing that was pricey, I think, was the restaurant, but I do understand given where you are and that you can only get there by plane or boat. Furthermore, the lodge has no real grocery store for snacks (other than a few candybars in the gift shop) so If I had stayed longer I would have gone to Gustavus to get food at least once and the lodge shuttle will take you there and give you enough time to go shopping. We were there for 2 days - went on the boat one day, hiked around the other day. Would've loved to have more to just relax.
The Alaska TourSaver coupon book had a 2 for 1 coupons for the boat cruise, and a buy one night, get other free for the Glacier Bay Lodge which also reduced the cost considerably.
The boat cruise is something that should not be missed - you see spectacular scenery and it is run very well. My only complaint was not with the crew but the other passengers who set up their camera equipment in the premier viewing spots, filled up the benches with their equipment and did not share, but that's another story.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Great fun, not much to do and somewhat overpriced but worth a few days. Lots of whales and fish in Bartlett bay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobooVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed one night flying in from Juneau in the morning and out the next day in the evening after the trip to Glacier Bay on the catamaran.
The place is awesome.
In the main wooden building there are a very good restaurant with a view on a channel literally invaded by whales (each table has a pair of binoculars on it but you could easily spot them even without them), a living area in front of a huge fireplace, a small souvenir shop and on the upper floor a bookstore and mini-museum managed by the park rangers.
The rooms are in several wooden buildings scattered in the forest and linked together by boardwalks; some of the rooms feature the same view as the restaurant. The rooms are warm, clean, quiet and well furnished, if a little small. On the notepad which sat on the desk the room maid had left a message saying something like "Enjoy your time at Glacier Bay" which was a nice personal touch.
We arrived too late to take any of the whale watching tours: despite what it says on the hotel information sheet, the last whale watching trip starts at 12:30, which is quite a waste given the long hours of light in the evening. But the driver of the shuttle bus who took us to the Lodge from the airport gave us a great tip, i.e. you don't need to go on a boat to watch the whales but just walk on the beach going left out of the lodge, and as a matter of fact we saw dozens of whales in a few hours there, some of them breaching and some simply emerging out of the water very close to the shore. All the time you could hear them "sing" very loudly, which was an unexpected and incredible experience.
In the afternoon we also took a guided walk of the rainforest with a very knowledgeable ranger. We didn't spot any wildlife, though she said moose and bears were common in the area.
The next day we took the catamaran through the West Arm of Glacier Bay. Despite the rainy weather we saw whales, sea lions, puffins, eagles, brown bears, and a couple of orcas which were simply awesome! The glaciers are nice, but nowhere like the Tracy Arm in terms of scenery and amount of ice calving, however the trip was definitely worthwhile for the wildlife.
Overall we had a great time at Glacier Bay Lodge: the staff was anything between friendly and just about right, but we didn't experience any of the rudeness or dumbness mentioned in other reviews; the rooms and common areas are very nice and cozy, and the location... well, how do you call watching and listening to whales out of your bedroom window?
The price was on the high side, but for a place in the middle of nowhere with the comfort of a 4 star hotel it is more than justified - and we didn't spend much less in much more ordinary places across Alaska anyway.

Room Tip: We had room 15 and the manager said it was the best, possibly that was because other rooms had a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina_e_Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
14.3 km away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
6.5 km away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
7.2 km away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
8.6 km away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Bay Lodge

Property: Glacier Bay Lodge
Address: 179 Barlett Cove, Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Glacier Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Bay Hotel Gustavus
Glacier Bay Lodge Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing