We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The rooms are great - the suites have a perfect amount of space for a family to share comfortably, and the amenities (kitchen, bathroom) are up to a very high standard. The view of the lake is beautiful.

The staff is extremely courteous and helpful, and the activities and extra things that the hotel makes available are impressive and add to the experience. I really enjoyed the bikes that guests are allowed to use.

A great choice if you intend on staying in Grand Marais.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    64
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
89
129
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here in November, just at the beginning of the off season, so the normally high price didn't factor in. Our suite was well furnished and decorated, and of course we had a great view of Lake Superior. It worked out perfectly for us to prepare sandwiches for our daily hikes in the kitchenette and also whip up snacks after a long day. A warning - many shops and restaurants close down in Grand Marais in November, so your choices for activities and dining are reduced. Some reopen for the ski season after a couple months off.

Room Tip: Get one on Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parksvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIdwest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I am sure a few years ago East Bay Suites was a clean, wonderful place, but we were disappointed in our stay. The overall cleanliness of our room and the property was the biggest letdown. Add on top of that it was $240+ for night's stay and we came away feeling that we over payed.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom and everything in there felt cramped. Furniture was squeezed in and moving around the room was somewhat cumbersome. Bedroom was the same. Queen size bed (comfortable) and a dresser crammed into the corner with little room to move about freely.

The fireplace which to me is the focal point of the room, was electric and you could hear wheels squeaking when you ran it. The TV above the fireplace had burn marks from when someone lit a candle under it, but the TV did work. And every carpet in the room was covered in stains.

The deck was small and the patio furniture and wood and starting to rot, but the wonderful view of the lake made us forget this.The patio door swung inward to a already cramped room, so open the door fully meant moving a chair out of the way. The screen was extremely dirty too.

The bathroom was the only part of the room that looked like it was not updated recently. Old shower (good water pressure though), old sink, but a nice high toilet. Poor lightning throughout the bathroom made it hard for my wife to primp before our evening out.

The best part of the room was the full kitchen. Modern clean appliances and a large table help ease our burden of disappointment.

We were to stay two night, but only stayed one. The woman at the front desk was very accommodating and understanding. Although there was a no cancellation policy, we were not charged for our second night. We can only assume that they filled our room and they did the honest thing and didn't double charge the room. Probably our most pleasant surprise and we called and thanked them after our trip.

Although we are disappointed by our stay, we would reconsider staying again on the sole fact that the front desk was accommodating to us. We will just prep ourselves for the cleanliness before hand.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheOneAfter909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed in one of the studio rooms. The Murphy bed was very comfortable. Room looked out over the lake. The weather was nice enough to keep the patio door open and listen to the waves crashing the beach. Love the town and would definitely recommend the Angry Trout for a meal during their open season.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS-KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at East Bay Suites very much! We had a 1-bedroom suite, which was very roomy and right on the lake. It was great to listen to the waves at night. The decor was very colorful and warm, with a lovely small kitchen. The unit even had a washer and dryer for extended stays. My only wish was for a king bed rather than a queen, but we made it work for 3 nights. Extremely convenient to the shops and restaurants. We walked everywhere during our stay. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Grand Marais.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived on Labor day weekend and lucked out and got the last room available. It seems as if the hotel used to be apts before it became a hotel. Our room was clean. Had a small flat screen tv, electric fireplace, small kitchenette and balcony. We faced the city side. It was cold to have the patio door open or to be out on balcony at this time. The hotel is right on the beach of lake superior. On the grounds of the hotel there is a grill. You can make camping fire right on the beach. No pool. We enjoyed the stay. Would return to the property.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moldoviangirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We might not have looked the room description very well, so I understood our room was facing the parking lot instead of lake view. Considering lack of research on our part, the room was still not good...the layout was awful. Too many furniture in the small room, we could hardly move. Despite the quantities of chairs in the room, we couldn't feel comfortable sitting any of them. Also how could anybody figure out the shower?? I've never seen anything like it before. My husband is very good at figuring mechanical things, but he had a hard time to figure this one!! Staff was courteous and pleasant to deal with..
There was no coffee in the morning at the lounge area and room coffee was awful (I think it's because of tap water). So overall I rate the room poor...it might have been different if you stay in the lake view room.

Room Tip: Get the lake view room unless you don't care....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmcc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
30.9 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.3 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
107 reviews
0.2 km away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
440 reviews
0.3 km away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing