We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On water's edge and dog friendly”
Review of East Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Bay Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Certificate of Excellence
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“On water's edge and dog friendly”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We're back for the 3rd year in a row and pleased at how well the property has been maintained over the years. Suite #304 is dog friendly (and expands to an additional sleeping bath area) - very spacious. Upon checkin we were advised there would be a $20 night fee for the dog, which is fine. But they don't seem strict about applying it, so keep that under your hat when you check in. The suite #304 is very comfortable and a great value for the $. Walkable to downtown and very convenient to shopping and dining areas.The staff are professional and friendly at the same time. The place is very clean.

Room Tip: Beaware that some rooms may be on the rear of the property and have "town views".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJFogelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    64
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
87
127
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had the studio so it was a bit small but perfect for just the two of us on an anniversary trip. The price was right and we had a fireplace and a balcony (what more could we need?)! We loved being right on the water and so close to all the little shops. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Pet friendly, kind, attentive staff, clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Beautiful view, great room with a fireplace and kitchen. We had a wonderful time and hope to come again. No complaints at all

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were very impressed with the suite that we were in and would love to see what it is like in the summertime when more places are open. We had a kitchen that we used everyday and appreciated all the room that we had. It was a great feeling that we could prepare our meals together and sit down at the table and eat together. The bedrooms were nice and clean and really appreciated that there were two bathrooms in the suite. Loved the two sided fireplace and the view that we had from the master bedroom. Friendly staff with many amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAMinMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

East Bay Suites is located on the beautiful shore of the lake. Our three-bedroom suite had plenty of space to spread out, but also had a close-knit feel when wanted. The full kitchen was a huge plus, as we cooked nearly all of our meals. There were also games and movies available for the one rainy day during our stay. Friendly staff with many ammenities. We hope to go back during the summer season when most of the shops in town are open.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed over President's Day weekend for three nights. Great location - right downtown on the lake. Even in the winter, with the windows/doors closed, we could hear the waves lapping the shore. Lots of parking for our truck & trailer (snowmobiles). Walking distance to art galleries, restaurants, shops, groceries.

Suite 306 was beautifully decorated - felt like a cabin up north. Room was very well designed, with a separate bedroom (king bed) and a pull-out leather couch. Two TVs was a surprise luxury. Kitchen with large frig/freezer with water/ice dispenser, dishwasher. Baskets of various sizes were provided to keep food items organized. Washer/Dryer in unit too. Bathroom was HUGE with separate deep tub, nice cabinet to house travel kits. Nice table for eating meals. Candles all over for ambience. Aveda products in bath; organic coffee & tea in kitchen.

Beds were comfortable, TONS of pillows. Computer provided in bedroom. Two-sided fireplace (slight clicking noise when it was running) was VERY nice. Couch plus two chairs and ottoman in living area, chairs & table on balcony as well.

DVDs were available free of charge in the lobby, as the room had a DVD & VHS player (CD player too...I think). Popcorn and lots of toppings were available on weekend nights in the community room where there were games, Wii, checkers, and a large fireplace.

Lovely place to stay - highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekfun2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Marais
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
The Shoreline Inn
The Shoreline Inn
#9 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
30.9 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aspen Lodge
Aspen Lodge
#8 of 10 in Grand Marais
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 km away
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
Harbor Inn Restaurant & Motel
#6 of 10 in Grand Marais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 km away
Mangy Moose Motel
Mangy Moose Motel
#1 of 10 in Grand Marais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Suites

Property: East Bay Suites
Address: 21 Wisconsin St, Grand Marais, MN 55604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Bay Suites sits in the heart of it all: on the edge of the world's greatest fresh water lake, at the base of the Sawtooth Mountains, a short drive from the pristine Boundary Waters Canoe Area and world class Superior Hiking Trail, and just steps from your favorite local shops and restaurants in the center of the quaint harbor village of Grand Marais. The perfect blend of outdoor recreation, unique shopping and culture, East Bay Suites has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your East Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Grand Marais
East Bay Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing