We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zapata Ranch - A Nature Conservancy Preserve
Nearby Hotels
US$106
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Alamosa)
US$79
US$67
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Motel(Alamosa)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Inn of Alamosa(Alamosa)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
98
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbisonsand dunesnature conservancyriding experienceexperienced ridersdiverse groupstewart houseunforgettable vacationjack rabbitscattle drivehot tubbuffet stylesangre de cristo mountainsthe san luis valleysandhill cranesdunes national parkspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 108 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for 4 nights to celebrate our 30th birthdays. It was our first experience at a guest ranch and we could have not picked a better one. The staff are all amazing and willing to help with any issue.
Chef Joseph and his assistant Claire cooked us meals that rival the most expensive restaurants.
Riding in the Dunes Park was one of my favorite experiences of my life, the views are breath taking.
If you are looking for a guest ranch in Colorado I would definitely book with Zapata.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Wonderful beyond belief. The staff, wranglers, chef and chef assistant are beyond anything I have ever experienced. They will do anything to make your trip perfect in every way. Accommodations and surroundings are perfect and relaxing.

Room Tip: We had the Crane... comfy and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseOne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Zapata Ranch over the weekend. You can stay for only 1 night if you want. It is an AMAZING place. Very close to the Dunes-our room was very nice-clean and serviceable. Probably the best thing was the food. There is a hot breakfast served at 8:00am-we had pancakes and eggs one day and a fritatta and delicious muffins. The only thing better than breakfast was the dinner. First night we had a fantastic pork loin with incredible homemade sides and the second night we had bison lasagna. We live near Denver and just went down there for the weekend. I recommend this place completely. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The area is beautiful and a quick trip from the Denver area. If you go, stay at Zapata Ranch!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cofamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2016

I spent three days at Zapata ranch in August 2016 with my husband, our 21 year old daughter and our 16 year old son. We all have enjoyed horseback riding for many years, and we treasured the chance to ride in the Great Sand Dunes National Park, on the Medona section of the ranch--seeing hundreds of wild bison and a herd of elk, and on the Zapata section of the ranch, with a chance to help push cattle from one section to another. The lodgings were extremely comfortable and the food was absolutely delicious. The staff could not have been more helpful, from the office staff in planning our trip to the wrangler who rode with just our family group each day. This was a magical, unforgettable experience. I hope that we can return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016

We wanted to see the sand dunes and only by coincidence found this Nature Conservancy owned ranch that is right there. Not luxurious or "dude ranchy" but very much like a working ranch with cattle and also a 2000 head bison heard. If you are a horse person this is the place for you--60 horses and tremendous wranglers, absolutely outstanding . There were 8 guests and we were the only Americans --Norwegians, Dutch, English and French. ---all delightful, serious horse people and fun.
Food was first rate---straightforward as it should be in a place like this but fresh local ingredients all expertly prepared. Rooms are basic ranch accommodations that are very clean and cared for daily---again , all consistent with the property and experience. We went with John, a local naturalist one day---he knew the area intamently having worked for the forest service. An excellent and engaging teacher. Finally, everyone working at the ranch was a delight --as one of the guests said, " I don't think anyone here knows the word "no"". We did not go there for the riding as everyone else did---they were all very accomplished---but we had a tremendous time none the less.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews