We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
105
9
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbisonsand dunesother guestsriding experienceexperienced ridersdiverse grouphorned owlsunforgettable vacationcattle drivejack rabbitssangre de cristo mountainsstewart househot tubbuffet stylecolorado vacationdunes national parkfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 115 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the ranch for two nights. Short stays are less preferred by the ranch but we were keen as we didn't want to stay in Alamosa and other accommodation in the area was full. We were there principally to visit Great Sand Dunes National Park so used the ranch as a base. The accommodation was good (we had en suite in the Stewart House) - quiet, clean and comfortable which is all we needed. Room rate includes breakfast, a pack lunch and dinner which was perfect for what we were doing. And the food is really good - what a really pleasant surprise. Other visitors were there for a week of horsemanship and couldn't rave more enthusiastically about the place. Worth including on your list.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank timf699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a life experience I'll never forget! 5 nights at Zapata Ranch. This was mine and my husbands first time on a ranch and we loved every minute. The staff were fantastic and always went that extra mile to make sure we were getting the maximum enjoyment from our time there. We are both riders but we're used to English style riding , we soon felt confident in the western discipline. Our horses were allocated to us for the duration of our stay, matched to our ability etc. This was good as it saved the bother of having to alter stirrups each day and off course enabled us to build up a rapport with our four footed friends! Our horses were well behaved,willing and very surefooted ( I'm sure they had four wheel drive equivalent the way they tackled the varied terrain) We enjoyed having our own personal wrangler Emily who was absolutely brilliant and guided us over the different terrains and instructed us well when we were able to get involved in rounding up about 200 head of cattle.
When we arrived there was a welcoming letter in our room outlining our personal itinerary for our stay, which was as flexible as we wished it to be. As well as the riding we were able to try leather working, hiking and roping technique and relax in the hot tub.
The food was first class starting with cold and hot breakfast options, a pack up to take out on the ride and a hearty meal in the evening beautifully prepared and cooked by the excellent chef Joseph. Evening entertainment one night was provided by a local singer and guitarist who played a variety of traditional cowboy songs and even some Eagles numbers by request!
Thoroughly recommend this place for anyone that wants to experience an authentic ranch vacation regardless of age and riding experience. It really ticked all our boxes.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for 4 nights to celebrate our 30th birthdays. It was our first experience at a guest ranch and we could have not picked a better one. The staff are all amazing and willing to help with any issue.
Chef Joseph and his assistant Claire cooked us meals that rival the most expensive restaurants.
Riding in the Dunes Park was one of my favorite experiences of my life, the views are breath taking.
If you are looking for a guest ranch in Colorado I would definitely book with Zapata.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Wonderful beyond belief. The staff, wranglers, chef and chef assistant are beyond anything I have ever experienced. They will do anything to make your trip perfect in every way. Accommodations and surroundings are perfect and relaxing.

Room Tip: We had the Crane... comfy and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiseOne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Zapata Ranch over the weekend. You can stay for only 1 night if you want. It is an AMAZING place. Very close to the Dunes-our room was very nice-clean and serviceable. Probably the best thing was the food. There is a hot breakfast served at 8:00am-we had pancakes and eggs one day and a fritatta and delicious muffins. The only thing better than breakfast was the dinner. First night we had a fantastic pork loin with incredible homemade sides and the second night we had bison lasagna. We live near Denver and just went down there for the weekend. I recommend this place completely. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The area is beautiful and a quick trip from the Denver area. If you go, stay at Zapata Ranch!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cofamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews