We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Creek Lodge
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

After my husband and I found this place in Gatlinburg he refuses to stay anywhere else. It's a jewel in the middle of hotels and motels that are dreadfully in the need of modernizing. This hotel is perfect in every area. The first time we stayed here we received a free aquarium ticket. The exterior is beautiful but, the interior is just as delightful and the staff is super friendly plus helpful. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    214
    69
    18
    17
See reviews for
199
297
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I am SO happy to have found the Old Creek Lodge! My husband & I just stayed the night there for a quick anniversary get-away and were thoroughly impressed. Not only did we get a good rate of $68 / night, but were extatic that we finally found an affordable place that is UPDATED! We stay one night in Gatlinburg every year for our anniversary, and every place we have stayed has had the same old dated decor. But our room at the Old Creek Lodge was VERY clean, tastefully updated, right on the creek, & had a fireplace and spa-bath tub in the room that we didn't even expect! Also, the beds were very comfortable. I LOVED the tiled shower and granite bathroom countertop! The flatscreen t.v. was very nice too. Not to mention ALL of the furniture and bedding. I could go on and on. Location couldn't have been any better either! Very convenient, yet right off of the busy strip. We were able to walk EVERYWHERE! We had a very good Ale steak at Calhoun's before heading back to our room after a day of roaming the streets. We really have no complaints at all! I know where we are staying everytime we go back to Gatlinburg in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209 and LOVED it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in 'Old' Gatlinburg. I stayed here when it was Fairfield Inn also, and it is improved........along with that is ahigher rate, but what can you expect?

Pros -- I love the fact that every room has a fireplace, a balcony and is RIGHT on a stream with trees at your fingertips -- no other place in Gatlinburg has this, where you face the stream is semi-private even, you can see another hotel, but it isn't on a street location - just adorable, and I love hearing the stream at night and first thing in the morning. The linens are so comfortable, plus and very pretty, and the decor is very cute/lodge like. Has all the amenities you need - micro, fridge, flat tv. The handicapped bathroom was great, new stone decor, walk-in shower etc. I also like the fact that you don't walk down a long corridor to your room, you can open your door and be outside, yet I felt safe there. This hotel is better than Bearskin except for the pool. Loved the pics in the room too - nice touch!

Cons - yes, I like the location for the stream and being away from traffic, but with that you lose the strip, it would be quite a walk to go to the aquarium or Pancake Pantry from here- as they are on the opposite end and the shuttle just doesn't work for those unable to walk up stairs. So, despite being in Gatlinburg, I ended up paying for parking when I wanted to go to the other end of the strip, which I did daily because the free breakfast here, is just not much - and with Pancake Pantry there -- you just have to go out for breakfast while on vacation. The bathroom sink was small too, but it woult be hard to remedy that, and since they just renovated, I doubt they will anytime soon. The pool is nothing either, but I wasn't interested in that. There is a small area near the elevator that they should do something with -- maybe expand the eating area/kitchen so that it has outside dining??? And they really should get a waffle maker for any kids that might be staying and for whatever reason unable to go to a restarant -- just don't eat at Bennett's BBQ!

Though the furniture was cute, I doubt it will stand up over time, and some of it was not functional.

Room Tip: Handicapped room had wonderful shower. Ask for AARP discount. Get room on lower floor, elevator get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Upon checking into my room I found the toilet didn't work. Front desk came to my room and handed me a plunger and walked off. Room was not cleaned properly. Ice makers and pop machines did not work.

I have stayed at this property for the last ten years under the Fairfield brand and felt I got what I paid for. Now it feels like a new sign and facade and everything else has been cut from the budget. Probably a good value at $59.00 terrible at $100+. Location is good but that's about it now. What a shame!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bunyan480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here several times when it was Fairfield Inn , we were excited that it had been "renovated". I was disappointed to find that the place was converted not renovated. The only changes to the place was the logs that were put up to make the place look rustic and mountainy. Cheaply made log furniture in the rooms. Fireplace in our room had stone that was falling out. The location is excellent , view from the balcony is great. We were booked to stay for 5 nights but left after 4 due to the lack of maid service and groundskeeping. On our first morning there a maid knocked and was VERY put out that we were even in our room still. She said she would come back to clean. We left for the day and returned to a room that had not been cleaned , new towels and beds made , but sink and sink area were not cleaned and trash was not all removed. I called and told the lady at the front desk who assured me everything would be better tomorrow. The next day we returned to the same minor cleanup - sink was obviously not cleaned , nor was the toilet or shower area. Trash was not removed from room or balcony area. Room was not vacuumed. After the 3rd day in a row of this we told the front desk we would be leaving the next morning. The hotel was not as busy as we have seen in the past so there is no excuse. Crushed up cheetos were in the walkway in front of our door our entire stay. Trash cans in the parking area were never emptied while we there , just got messier and messier until trash was overflowing the cans. I complained 3 times but nothing changed , no supervisor/manager contacted me at all. This was a great little find when it was Fairfield Inn but we will not be returning to what was our favorite place to stay in Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave-Clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My family started off by staying at another hotel but it turned out to be a nightmare. The Old Creek Lodge was just what we were looking for! The staff was pleasant, the room was nice and clean and having a stream to look at and hear right outside of our balcony just put the icing on the cake! We will absolutely stay here on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank themaynardfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our visit started off a little rocky...the room hadn't been cleaned properly from the last guest. But the problem was quickly resolved and we loved our stay! The beds were super comfortable and the creek was lovely to listen to. The fireplace was nice and warm and the jacuzzi hottub was perfect for relaxing. It was a quick walk to the main drag and a quick drive into the park. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colette424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 km away
Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Creek Lodge

Property: Old Creek Lodge
Address: 680 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Creek Lodge promises the best that nature has to offer in Gatlinburg with its unique mountain charm located at the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. At Old Creek Lodge you’ll find state-of-the-art amenities among its traditional mountain craft decor and massive log beams. Downtown Gatlinburg shops, restaurants, and attractions are just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Old Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Creek Hotel Gatlinburg
Fairfield Inn Gatlinburg
Fairfield Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing