We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful in Gatlinburg!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So beautiful in Gatlinburg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Really enjoyed ourselves. Gatlinburg Town Square is lovely and the staff helpful and friendly. Love this part of the country.
Also very happy to hear that it is under a new management company. Liberte Management is in Florida also and we have stayed at 2 of their resorts with great satisfaction.
We will be back in the summer!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gus_Gruerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    683
    351
    138
    122
See reviews for
920
692
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Higgins Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We just stayed at Gatlinburg Town Square for 5 days and we can't say enough good about the resort....the resort is located a short walk to the downtown area of Gatlinburg, once we arrived at the resort, we never had to drive anywhere again! The staff at the resort were very knowledgeable about the area and excited to share all the highlights of this great vacation destination. The rooms themselves where very clean and beautifully decorated! We couldn't have asked for more...we'll be back next year!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a "creekside room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

First, clarifications: After reading several reviews, seems there's much confusion about this timeshare resort. Some reviews may be referring to the buildings up and across the street known as Gatlinburg Town Village; also a part of Summer Bay Resorts. Until Jan 4, 2011, for Gatinburg Town Square, you had to check in at the reservation office at Gatlinburg Town Village, then drive a few hundred feet to the Gatlinburg Town Square buildings. Gatlinburg Town Village were the first/older buildings. Addtionally, Gatlinburg Town Square buildings were built in phases so the rooms do vary in size; some of the studios are smaller than other studios, depending on which building you are in. The studios do not have a balcony or the jacuzzi tub. Most of the 1 bedroom units now have granite counters, new decor, furniture, etc. as upgrades are made to different buildings each year.
I own a 1 week, 2 bedroom lockout unit in Gatlinburg Town Square Phase 2b, and do not trade so I am here every year for the past 5 years. I just spent 2 weeks here, January 6 thru 20, 2012. Instead of taking a 2 bedroom for only 1 week, I took week #1 in a 1 bedroom, and week #2 in a studio. Upon checking in, the registration office was closed/dark with a sign on the door to proceed to the Gatlinburg Town Square buildings for check in. I was told registration had just moved there 3 days ago. Check in was quick, all staff were extremely friendly, rooms were excellent; both weeks I was given a room in the building facing the woods/river. It was very quiet and I enjoyed my stay as usual; I have never had any issues. Check out is simple/fast.
Changes coming?? - Rumor I heard from 2 different people were that this resort is no longer a Summer Bay Resort. Perhaps, it's not yet legally finalized yet??. As an owner I would think that I would be notified if this is the case.
I recommend Gatlinburg Town Square, I have never been disappointed with my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank smokymtn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and I spent a week here in April. We had a wonderful time. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was prompt with concerns (our smoke detector went off for battery replacement). Also, the staff here isn't pushy about timeshare sales like some places. The location was great. Just a short walk to the main downtown attractions, or Smoky mountain trails! There was a great pancake house right across the street. Try the wild berry crepes; they are to die for! If you are in the area I encourage a visit to the salt and pepper museum and dollywood (in pigeon forge about a 15 minute drive). And, if you are in pigeon forge, stop into the old mill for any meal....it's all good!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amybeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had numerous problems just in getting our reservation confirmed, the front desk staff is extremely poorly trained and so it took four different calls before we found someone who could make the reservation and hit a day where their computers were up and running.
Once we had the reservation confirmed I called twice to ask for a view of anything but the parking lot and to be in a phase two building after reading another review that suggested this was better than phase one.
We arrived at 4, when you are allowed to start checking in, and found our unit to be in serious disrepair and overlooking a parking lot. When I asked to be moved the front desk was adamant they had nothing else available. As the parking lot was not half full this struck me as odd, but the next day when I asked to be moved again they repeated they were completely full. The dumpster trucks and tour buses backing up with the loud beeping in the parking lot that was between our building and the hotel behind ours started each morning around 4 am and continued off and on until 6. The walls are extremely thin, we could not only smell the food cooking in the unit next to ours, but could hear the people as well, despite having the fans in our room on.
The bedspread had several holes, sheets did as well and the carpet was filthy. The appliances were very worn and the mini fridge froze all of our food, even though we had it on a setting of two (out of six).
This "resort" is so worn out and antiquated that I cannot imagine ever returning, the customer service was poor to say the least before we arrived but during our stay and during check out it really hit rock bottom. The people were not unfriendly, just incredibly poorly trained. The last instance of this was when we asked if there was an ice machine, one person said there was not, then another person called us to say that they would bring us ice the day we checked out and when I called to see if they could bring it in the morning we were told that we could get it ourselves, and where the machine was, but when we went it was completely empty. Obviously that was the least of our problems during the stay, but just an example of how disorganized and poorly trained their staff are.
The parking is also something of note, anyone without a very compact car and will have a high likelihood of getting dented, dinged, or swiped by another driver and/or by not being able to navigate the ridiculously small parking spaces and maze of concrete poles. Many of the cars we saw had to park on the white lines, they could not physically fit between the lines, and would have to let their passengers out before pulling into a space.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Staying here could be hit or miss. Each Condo is owned individually so some may be nicer then others. We had revesered two separate rooms both by different owners. I can say both were nice and clean. One was more updated then the other but both were very nice. Location was good as well with the parkway being a short walk away. Indoor pool was nice, mgmt let us stay swimming past closing hours which was nice of them. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoganM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

It's not 5 star but comfortable. We stayed in a hotel room on the samll side, will not sleep 4 people. it was enough for us. greta area to visit and had a lot of fun. Location is great for all area attractions

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank duckandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
1.3 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#22 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.9 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts

Property: Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Address: 414 Historic Nature Trl, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#23 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gatlinburg Town Square Nestled in the midst of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, you'll find resort living in an area so vividly beautiful, walking through it is akin to moving through a painting. Gatlinburg Town Square and Town Village are ideally situated in the heart of Gatlinburg Tennessee, within easy walking distance to downtown and all the entertainment, shopping and nightlife only the Smokies could offer. Discover nature's gallery of mountain trails, pristine waterfalls and breathtaking mountain vistas, all on display and timelessly preserved for your family's enjoyment in The Great Smoky Mountains National Park, located less than a mile away. Whether you want to bask in the tranquility of the mountains, or discover the adventures that await within them, you are sure to find something to fit your vacation needs. As soon as you arrive at the resort, you'll find yourself adjusting to 'mountain time' as you gaze upon a three-story waterfall cascading down the stone tower beckoning you inside where you will be greeted by a resort team exuding the Southern hospitality for which this region is world famous. Let the vacation begin by lounging in front of your private fireplace or by grilling alongside our spring-fed creek. Here, you can indulge in the many attractions, such as in an aerial tram ride 2,675 feet above the city, and immerse yourself in the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Ostrovok so you can book your Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatlinburg Town Square Hotel Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing