We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies

Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 108 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies in Gatlinburg, TN, is literally teeming with life - over 10,000 exotic sea creatures in 350 individual species. There are more fish in this aquarium than there are people living in the entire town of Gatlinburg!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Chilhowie, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

It's nice but it usually extremely crowded, which is a big turn off for me. The penguins playhouse wasn't what I thought it would be.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mom23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,614
    2,500
    714
    122
    46
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Visited the aquarium in Myrtle Beach, SC some years back, was not impressed. So, when we seen this one, we thought "if you have seen one, you have seen them all." We almost didn't visit. We decided to give it a try and so glad we did. Very nice, clean and almost brand new.

Helpful?
Thank wildwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The best $100 I ever spent. It was fascinating for every member of our family from toddlers to senior citizens. The build entrance is technically handicapped accessible, but it's a very very very long distance from the parking garage, and the pitch of the ramps are way too steep (not standard ADA). Inside the entire aquarium has ramped walkways throughout. Most of the tanks are easily visible for children & adults in walkers, wheelchairs, or strollers. The kid's tunnels under the tanks were too short for our toddler wheelchair, put she was able to crawl through. The access bubbles are out of reach for kids who cannot stand. All the exhibits were filled with live attractions. The walkway through the main tank was spectacular. We spent 6 hours at the aquarium and it was pure pleasure.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lineville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

It was very fun even with us who had a 2 year old.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
“Kids loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our daughter loved the aquarium, although she did get a little frightened in the underwater tunnel, we think it was the eerie music, but the fact sharks were swimming all around could have been it too! :-) We loved it! Very fun!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies also viewed

 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing