We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Relaxing and Dependable Riverhouse”
Review of Riverhouse Motels

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gatlinburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverhouse Motels
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at Riverhouse many times over the years but not in about eighteen months. We love the location on River Road on the other side of Little Pigeon River and the quietness this location affords. But you are still just one block from the Parkway right at Historic Nature Trail (formerly Airport Road) so very convenient. The room we had was updated which is very much needed not only at Riverhouse but we find at most Gatlinburg hotels. We had a king room with wood burning fireplace and the large balcony over the river is so nice. Small microwave, fridge, iron and ironing board, hair dryer available in all rooms as is a fire starter and wood logs for the fireplace. Double sinks - one in the vanity area with a very large mirror and counter top (three drawers for storage) and a second one in the bathroom with a pedestal sink. The bathtub was very large and VERY deep with jets with nice ceramic tile throughout. Sort of had to hike up your leg and climb in just to take a shower which even at age 65 wasn't a problem for us but felt I should mention it. Continental breakfast of either home made doughnuts or toast with coffee, hot tea or hot chocolate available by calling the office anytime between 8 and 10 a.m. and it arrives promptly. Bed was comfy and linens were nice. Office personnel always very nice as is the housekeeping staff. We stayed three nights and other than a next door neighbor who seemed to be fighting most of the night on Saturday night we enjoyed our stay as we always do. Not cheap by any means - our three night total was $412 but then it's Gatlinburg and the Riverhouse location and quietness (okay the fighting couple was NOT their fault) was worth it for this particular trip. We have never been disappointed staying at Riverhouse Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TnCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

It has been three years since we have been to the Riverhouse and nothing has changed. That is a very good thing. The place is very clean and comfortable. My wife is not a fan of dark paneling yet as she said,it works great for the Riverhouse. Going back in June.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdj1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Riverhouse At The Park in Gatlinburg TN several times. This time we tried Riverhouse Motor Lodge on River Rd.
Both of these hotels are practically the same, we personally like the large rooms and always request a room over the river which is nice.
We opted not to pay the extra for a wood burning fireplace in our room as it was a very warm January weekend. It's a GREAT option for a hotel on a cold winter night! We did miss the outdoor jacuzzi that the other one has, but last year when we stayed at the Riverhouse at The Park in mid-January, they closed it at that time anyway. (Something good to know if you're dying for a hot soak on a cold January night!)
We're pretty much lovers of Riverhouse, there's something "kitchy" and old fashioned about them, a step back in time, but they are on the "Tight" side. Shampoo ONLY on request and NO discounts, AAA or AARP. They are very stubborn about that, so you're paying for the room size and convenience and the RIVER-if you're lucky enough!
All said, we'll go back to both Riverhouses in the future!

Room Tip: Request a room over the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FranknMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I hate to even let the cat out of the bag about the Riverhouse. I have been visiting the Riverhouse for over 30 years with family. I travel alot for my job and have Diamond status with two major chains, and probably enjoy my stays at the Riverhouse more than most of the hotels I frequent with my travels. The decor is out of style with the old looking bed covers and wood paneling, but the rooms are extremely spacious, with a great balcony overlooking the river. Large bathroom area, two sinks, refrigerator make the stay comfortable. The real selling point for me is the woodburning fireplace. It's really enjoyable to pull up the chairs near the fireplace, enjoy a cocktail, with a conversation or a sporting event on TV.
The free breakfast is limited-but don't let it fool you. They have the best homemade donuts. I promise you-you can't eat just one!
The flowing stream is perfect for putting you to sleep.
The proximity to downtown is perfect-you can walk just about everywhere. I will continue to stay here, even if i could use my points at other chains nearby.

Room Tip: I prefer wood burning vs gas fireplace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChiliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We loved the fireplace and the complimentary wood and fire starters. You don't find many places that replenish the wood within a cabinet that can be accessed within the room. As others have said, the balcony and creek view are relaxing amenities. Room service breakfast was simple yet super convenient. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bellmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this lodge in September of 2011. We loved the place. It is like walking back in time when things were simple, clean, relaxing and worth the money you paid. We loved our balcony and how big the room was. The noise from the stream outside rocked us to sleep every night. Everyone was very friendly and we loved our coffee and breakfast being brought to our room every morning. (we could stay in our pjs and sit on the balcony and enjoy). The big attraction also are the bears that come by the stream and the woods. We loved watching them (from afar). Even though you are in the woods, you are only one block from the parkway. So it is easy for you to go back and forth any time that you want. Will definately stay there the next time we visit the Smokies. Only bad thing was it was suppose to be a no-pet hotel, and we saw dogs in one of the rooms.

Room Tip: choose room 16, 17, 18 or 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandma98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our fifth year staying here. We love the wood burning fireplaces, the mountain stream, the seclusion you seem to have behind the trees and stream and yet you are only a few minutes walk away from downtown Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Capnkirk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#18 of 77 in Gatlinburg
1,002 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#2 of 77 in Gatlinburg
383 reviews
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverhouse Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverhouse Motels

Address: 610 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3129
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Riverhouse Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
Riverhouse Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing