We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smokies Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Morris, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smokies Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We were greeted right away by Alexis, the front desk clerk. She has a great personality and answered any questions we had. While the rooms are not perfect, renovations are underway. We found the rooms to be quite acceptable. They were clean, did not smell, everything worked (including Wi-Fi). This hotel is not in the heart of Gatlinburg, however, we walked in to town within 10 minutes from the hotel and didn't have to pay the high prices for parking. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSalyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your GREAT review. We are really working hard on trying to get our hotel renovated. We will have it all done by summer this year. An the wifi we have had some work done on it and being in the mountains is hard to keep it. We really try to make sure that everything works properly. Thank you so very glad that everything was great for you all. An as far as the front desk they take great pride in there jobs and try to make sure that your stay goes great. Thank you and we can’t wait for you all to come back and stay with us!!!!! THANK YOU :)


Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    201
    105
    45
    45
See reviews for
282
222
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Market
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

It was your typical standard hotel. It was clean. My only complaint was that the pillows were too flat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBEEDOLLNewMarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for writing this review. As for your complaint i hope we did all we could to get you thicker pillows. We do have new pillows in our hotel, along with new box springs and we are getting new mattresses for all our rooms. We hope to see you next time and we will be sure to give you our brand new pillows!

Thank you!

Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

When we got their the front desk lady was nice and check in was smooth we got to out room and was clean and comfortable. I stayed in a 2 queen bed fireplace room. The next day we went down for breakfast. They had bagels,teddy bear shaped,waffles,coffee,fruit,juice,milk and cereal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
I'm am happy to hear you and your family had a enjoyable stay here at the Red Roof Inn in Gatlinburg. Thank you for writing this review, i can not stress enough how much we all appreciate your positive reviews. We look forward to hearing from you again on your next trip to the area!

Thank you!

Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

So it's dated and not "top of the class" but if you want MORE money to spend on attractions and souvenirs and if you want to enjoy your time out on the town (You are only in your room to SLEEP anyway) the beds are clean and the rooms are clean. There was no dirt or grime. I have seen grimy nasty hotels in my travels and have LEFT places because of filth. Red Roof is not nasty or grimy. Clean, affordable and well worth the short walk to the main drag. If someone doesn't like this hotel, it's because they live a life of luxury and didn't have a choice but to stay here. This place is worth the price and worth the savings! You will enjoy spending your money on what you came for.. the amazing attractions and sites of Gatlinburg!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace and a balcony :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluwakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
i greatly appreciate your pleasant review on TripAdvisor web site, My staff and I love reading these reviews when they come through. So on behalf of all of us here, Thank you! We all take great pride in keeping all our rooms clean and guest ready. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay here and the Great Smoky Mountains. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you!

Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Rooms are old, the beds were very worn out, the Free WI-FI did not work even after asking for help twice (had a laptop and 3 smart phones - non worked). The breakfast was bad and ants all over a table - in the WINTER! Would NEVER stay again.

Room Tip: Go some where else and pay more -- it will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsargewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you visiting this property and writing a review. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced on your trip and hope the staff helped while you were here to make it better. The Wi-Fi is hard to come by because of our location, again i apologize for this inconvenience. We have on going remodeling and are looking forward to all of our 82 rooms to be completed in the near future. We hope you come back and see the improvements we have made.

Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

the motel was ok for th money, however the pictures online were very misleading. It was very nice looking online but not so much in person. It lists aquarium in the title so I assumed it was close to the aquarium NOPE not even close. Needs updated very badly. Beds were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank droth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
We would first like to thank you so much for writing a review for us. We understand that your stay was not a pleasant one. Here at our hotel we have many types of room. We have King Themed room, King with fire places, Standard two Queen room, Two Queens with fire places, Standard Kings, Two bed room apartments and as well as Two Queens with kitchenettes in them. We have been doing some remodeling and hope to be done with all the room but this summer.

We do have Aquarium in our name and we are not but a 2 block walk for here to there. Which takes less then 7 min to walk there. All of Gatlinburg is about 1.5 miles long. And there is a trolly stop down by the main road that would take you right to the Aquarium for 50 cents a person.

Again thank you for your review and I hope that if you do come back to Gatlinburg that you would reconsider staying with us again.


Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I booked this room through the Red Roof website at the last minute. Almost all of Gatlinburg was either sold out or over priced due to the Friday night Christmas Parade and other special events in the area. This hotel was about half the cost of similar properties a bit further downtown.

After booking, I read the last couple of reviews and was a bit hesitant, but there had been a lot of positive reviews as well. I travel a lot and use tripadvisor to learn about most of the places I stay. I have learned that some people are just hard to please, and expect Ritz Carlton amenities at Motel Six prices (and I love both of those properties for different reasons).

This property is a bit farther from the main strip than I usually stay, but still a very comfortable walk to see all of Gatlinburg. I was here mostly to visit Dollywood's Christmas festival and to see a couple of shows in Pigeon Forge, and this hotel is very convenient since you can go to Pigeon Forge without fighting the Gatlinburg traffic (I like staying in Gatlinburg more than PF).

Check in was very smooth, took just a couple of minutes. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. I stayed in a theme suite (Africa) and there were all sorts of artifacts that made the room look like a safari camp, including old trunks, radios, telephones, lamps and a desk with an old woodstock manual typewriter. There were water buffalo and antelope horns on the wall along with a lot of african themed artwork and photography. More modern amenities included a flatscreen TV, fireplace, large jacuzzi tub, king bed and balconies that stretched along two sides of the suite (one overlooking the river).

Internet access was good. Often in Gburg (I have stayed at many of the hotels), wireless is tough due to the hills and trees, but I had no problems here. Perhaps because I had a room near the street. the free breakfast was limited but quite good. As good or better than most similar priced hotels in the area. They had biscuits and gravy, teddy bear waffles, toast and bagels, cold cereal, milk, apple juice, orange juice, oranges and apples. I usually don't eat the free breakfast (since I like to go out for breakfast) but I was in a hurry and what they offered was a good alternative.

There is plenty of parking, but be sure to ask the desk staff where to park given your room assignment. There are 3 different locations. Not a four star hotel, but then, you are not paying for one. But a clean, spacious, comfortable place to stay with a lot of amenties for the money. This was my first stay, but I will definitely stay here again.

Rick

Room Tip: The suites provide a lot of room, a fireplace, jacuzzi, fridge, wetbar, and microwave and are just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_740, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
I'm so excited to hear that you had a memorable stay at the Red Roof, Aquarium. we are a little walk away from the "main drag" but a very comfortable and quick one. We are conveniently located at the beginning of Gatlinburg, which makes it very easy to access the "spur" from Gatlinburg to Pigeon Forge in a very short time. Our theme rooms are very spacious and have modern amenity's. We have 6 different themed rooms, on your next trip you can stay in a different theme with completely different decorations and interior design! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Smokey Mountains!

Mike Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.3 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
1.6 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Address: 401 Hemlock St, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3009 (Formerly Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg. We are right across from "Gatlinburg Mountain Coaster" and also 1.5 miles from Great Smoky Mountain National Park, the busiest of all national parks with over 9 million visitors each year. The park offers endless outdoor activities such as downhill snow skiing, class IV whitewater rafting, golf, hiking options from 600 miles of trails, and fishing in hundreds of miles of streams. Relax at Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg while you're enjoying all Gatlinburg's restaurants, family fun museums (such as Ripley's Believe It or Not and Hollywood Star Car Museum), Dollywood Amusement Park, Splash Country, Dixie Stampede, and many, many other great attractions, fun for young and old. Year round events and concerts combine to make Gatlinburg a true entertainment destination in the beauty of the Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium
Red Roof Inn & Suites Gatlinburg - Aquarium Hotel Gatlinburg
Wildwood Hotel Gatlinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing