We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
286
101
17
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
101
17
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room bedroom loft tennis courts indoor pool hot tub views of the mountains the smoky mountains an awesome view minute drive top floor cobbly nob nice condo pots and pans bit dated view from the balcony air hockey pull out couch
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 418 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here in early Dec '12, the front desk was helpful and the view, as said in other reviews, was great. The room was clean with nice furniture. The kitchen is outta date and so are the TV's but didn't take away from the stay. The pots and pans were a little warn but not impossible to use. The drive up to the hotel is a long curvy mountain road so be prepared. The cons to the room were a slightly small bathroom and kitchen, damp firewood from the front desk (that we had to pay for), poor internet and poor cell service (no big deal for us), and could hear people stomping around upstairs. The pros to our stay, away from the packed feel of Gatlinburg and PF, walking into the room felt like walking into a friends house not a empty hotel room, had a view of mountains and valleys, great place to relax and sleep in, and room was left alone while we were gone. If you like to make a mess and have housekeeping deal with it this place is not for you. If you want to stay at a place thats like home and can treat it as such then you're love it. Its the only place we'll stay and only place I'll recommend for visiting the smokies.

Room Tip: Would think middle or top floor would be best. Bottom has great view but have to hear people upstairs moving around. Have a flat walk to middle floor, upstairs and downstairs have steps.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great time in Deer Ridge, it's a great property with spectacular views. Awesome service specially from Jayme. Great guy very friendly. They had a party for their guest on New Year's Eve and he call us personally to invite us; that was a great detail. Thanks you for everything and will definetly see again on 2013.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had an excellent time staying here around New Years, they even had a New Years Eve party and invited all of the guests and provided food/drink/BEER/LIVE MUSIC!!

The views off the balcony were excellent, you can see quite a few of the mountains and watch the fog set in and the go away when it gets sunny.

The drive to the resort from the main road (Hwy 321) is a sight in itself! Its a very steep climb up the side of the mountain but it was well worth and a good experience if you aren't use to mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from our five night stay at Deer Ridge. We were in unit 202 which is right next to the main office. We stayed New Years Week. The second night we were there, the management of Deer Ridge had a complimentary New Years Eve Party. They had a Bluegrass Band (wonderful) food, beer and wine from a local winery. The staff went out of their way to make sure everyone had a great time, management gave out door prices (I am having coffee from my Deer Ridge Travel Mug, lol), party favors, and champagne at midnight. Memorable New Years Eve, for sure.
New Years Day my wife fixed cabbage, black eyed peas and ham in the more than adequate kitchen. Our kitchen was up to date with everything that we needed to cook a meal. In fact we had supper in the unit every night we were there but one. I was also able to watch football on the 40 inch TV over the fireplace. There was also a 40 inch TV in the bedroom, along with one of the most comfortable beds you ever want to sleep on. Cable along with the full array of stations.
We had the fire in the fireplace going every night. They do sell firewood at the main office. The price is very reasonable at four dollars a bundle, which will do you for the night. Kindling is also available at a nominal price. There is no washers or dryers but they do towel exchange, which was easy.
Other reviewers have already noted the great view. One of the best in the Smokies, stunning. Deer Ridge is located about 9 miles from Gatlinburg, so it was very convenient. Overall we had a great stay at a great price at a great resort in a great area. Would stay again and again.

Room Tip: I would recommend the D building but all rooms have a spectacular view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2012

A cosy little condo with absolutely stunning views; watching the sunset over the Smokey Mountains made it great value alone. We stayed in November and it was quiet; no noise from any of the flats around us. The only complaint would be the ancient state of the kitchen; a potential problem when you opt to cook for yourself (which you may be tempted to do given the limited restaurant choice in the area).

Also, don't necessarily trust the route given to you by your satnav. Ours took us off a turn too early to begin with.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews