We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were happy and would return again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Summit of Gatlinburg
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Sheridan, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“we were happy and would return again”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Just returned from a TAN vacation and were very happy!! Stayed in unit 8102 and was very happy with the view of the mountains.the unit was on 1st floor with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths,very comfortable. The pools and spas were nice and the people around the condos were very friendly. We even saw 2 bears wandering under the property,very cool!! As previous reviews said about the drive up it is winding and curvy. Our first day we arrived at night and it was a slow trip up but after 1 or 2 days it was nothing to drive there.It takes about 15 to 20 minutes to get to any of the main towns but to us not a big deal,where we live thats normal time to go anywhere. If you use gps it takes you there with no problem. We would sstay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ben222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    56
    28
    13
    15
See reviews for
97
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just got back from staying 5 nights in this condo complex. Our family absolutely loved it. We were on the first floor of building 6 and had a fantastic view of the mountains and the city below. It is a long, winding road up the mountain to this place but it is so worth it. I agree with a previous reviewer - don't come up here in the dark; especially your first time - you may never find it. Our unit was very clean and updated. Yes, the kitchen is pretty small but it had a refrigerator, stove and dishwasher - all newer appliances. There were four of us and we had enough plates, silverware and cooking utinsels. We stayed in the two bedroom unit and thought the rooms and bathrooms were more than adequate. Our family was very comfortable here. You just can't beat the price. We paid the same price here as it would be for a small hotel room on the main street of Gatlinburg. This place is so peaceful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I thought the place as a whole was very clean; even the laundry room was clean. If we ever come back to the Smokies I will absolutely stay here again. I can't imagine paying the same price for a small hotel room on the main street in Gatlinburg and putting up with the noise and congestion 24/7 when you could drive 15 minutes up the mountain and get a nice condo with spectacular views. Yes, it is a ways up a winding road but so worth it. I would come back here in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenJ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson914, Manager at The Summit of Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the Summit and the Smokies and we hope you can visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This place is disgusting. The first room they gave us smelled of something rotting. The kids noticed this as soon as we opened the door. So, we went back to the office to complain, and of course they give us another room. The second room smelled better, but the comfort had some very large, very noticeable stains on it. So, we head back to the office to get our money back and leave. That's when the desk clerk says that's not a problem, but they won't give us our deposit back, period. So, we said "fine, we'll just dispute the charge with credit card company". That's when she decided to upgrade our room. The third room was far from spotless, but it was livable, barely. We did stay, but only because we didn't want to have to find another room. My recommendation is to say as far away from this place as possible. Oh, and one more thing, the view they talk about is only from a select few room, otherwise you are staring at the back of some other condos, and the drive up to this place is as bad as some other say.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank wickedx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson914, Manager at The Summit of Gatlinburg, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
We always try to accommodate our guests and make their stay as enjoyable as possible. All the units face towards the mountains and not the backsides of the buildings. The clerk tried to accommodate by moving this guest to a larger unit with a great view at no additional cost. I do apologize that we could not make this a enjoyable two night stay for this visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Summit at Gatlinburg, TN - We just returned from a great TAN vacation in the Smokey Mountains. The condo at The Summit was very nice, clean and comfortable... two bedrooms, each with its own bathroom. We were in Condo Number 3101. This unit does not have a scenic view but is located right next to the swimming pool (very convenient). It's also a first floor unit with just 6 steps to entry. The indoor pool and spa area is also quite nice. Highly recommend. It is true that the ride up and down the mountain was a bit daunting, but if you follow the TAN directions exactly, not so bad. Beautiful views from the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maur155co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I will start off with the good. The view was great. The people who worked in the office were very nice and helpful. Our unit was a 3 bed 2 bath and was quite large. The deco was a bit dated but OK. The pool was good for the kids but had a lot of chlorine. My kids loved it though.

Now for the bad. Unless you are used to mountain driving (I am from Ohio so I am not) it was horrifying drive. Some of the road are not wide enough for two cars and there is a drop off on one side. The turns are so sharp. I would NEVER drive it at night or without a powerful car. Now if you are used to mountain driving then it should be OK for you. But if you are not BEWARE. The other problem we had was that some of the condos are privately owned and they can put up whatever they wish on their porches including wind chimes that keep you up ALL NIGHT LONG. Our neighbor would not take hers down and the person staying in our master bedroom got about 2 hours of sleep a night. I will say again the people who work there were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jltoth76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
221 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the 3 bedroom/2 bath with our daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren for 4 nights. The apartment was small, but adequate. The kitchen was very small and was not well equipped with the dishes needed for 5 people. The views are great and the service was good. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tubs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We've stayed at the Summit five times since 1994, most recently in march, 2010. While some may find the distance from town I'll problem, I'll tell you that we blew the transmission on our SUV going up the mountain but we STILL plan to go back in the spring of '11 (I since learned that it's best to take the Gatlinburg Bypass to the top of the mountain, then take the back road to the Summit-much easier). Views are fantastic, condos are cute, staff are VERY helpful - and you do, indeed, look down on everything -- almost a "straight across" view to Mt. LeConte. Great price, unmatched in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theoldpioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
4.5 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
446 reviews
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
3.8 km away
Gatlinburg Town Square Resort By Exploria Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
3.2 km away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
3.4 km away
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
Oak Square at Gatlinburg
#19 of 52 in Gatlinburg
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit of Gatlinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit of Gatlinburg

Property: The Summit of Gatlinburg
Address: 1260 Ski View Dr, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4514
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Gatlinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit of Gatlinburg 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Summit of Gatlinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Of Gatlinburg Hotel Gatlinburg
The Summit Gatlinburg
The Summit Hotel Gatlinburg
Summit Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing