We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When visiting Guilford Courthouse Nat'l Park, don't overlook this historic gem!”

Tannenbaum Historical Park
Ranked #27 of 57 things to do in Greensboro
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Tannenbaum Historic Park, adjacent to the Guilford Courthouse National Military Park, gives visitors the opportunity to learn about 18th century farm life. The park centers on the restored farmstead of Joseph Hoskins. During the hours leading up to the historic Revolutionary War battle, fought March 15, 1781, the farm served as a staging area for British troops. In addition to the house, kitchen, and barn, the site also includes the Colonial Heritage Center, with exhibits depicting life before, during, and after the battle and original paintings by noted military artist Dale Galleon. A museum store and picnic grounds are also located at the Park. Tannenbaum is about six miles northwest of downtown Greensboro, off Battleground Avenue. It is open Tuesday-Sunday.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank D2958ZXgarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"colonial heritage"
in 4 reviews
"guilford courthouse"
in 5 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"barn"
in 2 reviews
"farmstead"
in 2 reviews
"battle"
in 4 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2017

I dropped by here during the week, but the Colonial Heritage Center (museum) was closed. I think it's closed until 2018. I walked the grounds, and read the signs, but there really wasn't much to see with all of the historic buildings closed. I peeked into the Hoskins House, which stands in its original spot since it was built in 1813, an early 19th century barn that was moved to this site, and a blacksmith shop. I read the information signs posted, but would like to have learned more.There's also a water pump and a garden.

If you're already at the Guilford National Cemetery historic park next door, you might as well pop over here for a quick 10 minute peek. Otherwise, skip it and go to the High Point Museum where there are similar buildings outside that are open on weekends with living history "actors" who invite you in and tell you about the building and the items in it.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 311queenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

Nice stroll over the grounds viewing the buildings. The Cultural Center is closed until 2018. I'm hoping that is the reason why you were unable to view inside of the buildings. The park is well maintained and has plenty of parking. We found it interesting that in the owners will, he specified all lumber from his land was not to be sold, but be used only to maintain farm.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Snowbirdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

I really like the interactive map which shows the important battle that happened here during the Revolutionary War. There are some great activities for kids as well. The outside tour of the a farmstead is a real addition to the museum.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank zeemie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2016

I had visited Guilford Courthouse several times before I became aware of this museum, which is close by and well worth a visit (and also free!). There are gardens to walk round even if the museum is closed (it's closed on Mondays in the winter and has shorter opening hours than Guilford Courthouse Military Park). The museum itself has a great diorama of the battle that took place there and a very interesting section about different historical aspects of life in NC for the early settlers.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tannenbaum Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Tannenbaum Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing