We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean, Basic Guesthouse”
Review of Orchid Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 88 Kampot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We hiked around town a bit to find a reasonably priced guest house and finally settled down here for 4 nights in July. It was basic, cheap and clean, and the fan was plenty cool enough at the time. We also hired scooters here for 5usd a day to do day trips into Kep! The guys were really helpful and we were able to book an overnight bus to Siem Reap from reception. The only thing is that it is a little bit out of the way - 10min walk, but Kampots reasonably small anyway!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Orchid Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed in Kampot for 3 nights in this lovely guest house with large simple rooms, clean bathroom, hot shower and lovely stone picnic table outside your room. The owner was really helpful from when I arrived until I left without being in the slightest bit pushy. There is a travel agents next door which offers fantastic trips around Kep and to Bokor Hill Station - but again there is no pressure to take them. I would definitely recommend Kampot and this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed at Orchid Guesthouse in Kampot for two nights. It is an inexpensive hostel with basic rooms and a pleasant setting. There are not many luxuries on offer (although the beds are comfortable) but nor is there much to complain about. The room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. They also operate as a travel agent for tours and transport bookings, which is a helpful thing to have on your doorstep. The hostel opposite (whose name escapes me) seems to have a better bar area and social scene, but Orchid Guesthouse has better rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed there one night mid June. Nice location, clean rooms, first warm shower we had all week and it wasn't anymore expensive than our other places. Excellent place for the $! Good staff, very nice setting, cute bugalows :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Simple, spacious room with fan, tv and a/c. Bathroom had seen better days, but shower was warm and adequate. Basic restaurant with good selection of basic meals & drinks. Helpful for organising our tour to Bokor Hill Station (see it now - before it gets redeveloped!).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdjames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This place is a lovely and quaint, family run place. The rooms are cheap and comfortable, and the food is excellent. It is quiet at night, but there are a couple of good places within stumbling distance to get a few drinks. Just watch out for sleeping dogs!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_Ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and weren't disappointed.We paid $15 for an A/C bungalow with a terrace.All the rooms are set in a beautiful manicured garden.They have a variety of rooms and bungalows with A/C or fan.
We had hotwater,A/C and TV. The room was spotless.The restaurant was excellent serving delicious local food at a fair price.
I would recommend the day trip to the caves,pepper plantation including a meal at the krab market in Kep - absolutely delicious.The trip also includes a sunset river cruise along the Mekong.
We loved it here, it was so peaceful,a proper hidden gem.Only 10 min walk to the town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampot hotels
71.3 km away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
20 reviews
71.8 km away
Elephant's Dream Guest House
71.7 km away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.7 km away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
320 reviews
70.4 km away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 88 in Kampot
357 reviews
57.1 km away
Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Guesthouse

Address: 1 Oussaphea Village, Kampong Kandal Commune | opp. Blissful Guesthouse, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing