We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old house / hotel”
Review of The Columns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Columns
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The Columns is one (or three) old houses revitalised as a small hotel offering a dozen or so rooms over three or four floor. My room had a tiny sunny balcony overlooking the street, and the hotel is just a short stroll away from the river, many restaurants, many massage places, and a couple of small supermarkets. Breakfasts are very good and the helpful staff will call a taxi or a motorbike for you to go on to your next destination. Lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hallomega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We stayed here as part of our Honeymoon. Gorgious french colonial style building with a great Breakfast. 5 minutes walk from the waterfront and the waterfront restaurants and bars. The room was well air conditioned, which was a god send in the heat of cambodia. Th bread basket which come complimentary with your breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We have been 3 days in this wonderful Boutique Hotel. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Smiling faces are everywhere. The room was spacious and clean and beds comfy. The breakfast is a-la-card and choices are okay if you stay only a few days. The Crepes have been the best we ever had so far. From the hotel it is only a few minutes walk to shops, Restaurants. Thanks to the entire hotel staff for this wonderful stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank avb906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

After traveling for two weeks around Cambodia, our stay at the Columns was nice but basic. Considering the size of Kampot and the alternatives, this hotel is a good choice. As noted, the rooms are simple, not luxurious, but more importantly they are clean. The ceiling fan and air conditioner kept the room cool. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and linens were clean. Hot water takes a while to arrive so patience is required.

Although not river front, you are only a few minutes away from the bar boats and restaurants. The area is safe during the day and evening even though the street lighting at night could be better. The relatively isolated location also ensures a quiet and peaceful stay.

Breakfast is decent with a handful of choices including mango juice, tea and coffee. The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner but many restaurants are nearby.

The wi-fi worked most of the time but signal strength wasn't great. Tours and tuk-tuks can be organized by the front desk staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Canadian_Drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

2 steps away from the riveside, lovely restored in colonial style, with all the comforts you need such as fridge, wifi, safe, air conditioning, and a very nice breakfast! definitely worth a stay! price affordable

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank effemmeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We made a last minute booking when we found out we had a bank holiday coming up, so we rang on a Thursday and booked rooms for the long weekend. The staff were very helpful on arrival. I had the standard room which was nicely decorated, plenty big and had good air con. The room was spotlessly clean.
The room rate included breakfast which was about four or five choices, I'd recommend the fruit plate which was lovely and fresh and came with homemade yoghurt.
Location was great, a street back from the river, not beside any loud bars so very quiet.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dublineile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Only stayed here for one night to break the journey following our coach travel from Phnom Penh on the way to Kep, but wish it had been longer. Peaceful street, but easily walkable from the nearby bars and restaurants. Very sympathetically restored building. Good sized room with very high ceiling and big fan - we actually forgot to switch on air conditioning but room stayed remarkably cool due to stone walls and high ceilings! All the necessary facilities - walk in shower with toiletries, tea and coffee making, minibar, safe. Quite steep stairs up from reception. We had a real key. Being so used to electronic doors, we actually left the door open while we were out - no problems!

Served breakfast with excellent friendly service. Scrambled egg and bacon (other choices) freshly cooked and beautifully presented , basket of fresh bread made on the premises, delicious homemade mango and banana jams, plenty of juice and coffee.

Such friendly staff and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryndob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.5 km away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 18 in Kampot
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kampot
203 reviews
0.8 km away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 18 in Kampot
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 18 in Kampot
93 reviews
0.2 km away
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Bokor Mountain Lodge
#14 of 18 in Kampot
200 reviews
1.9 km away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 18 in Kampot
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns

Address: 37 Phoum 1 Ouksophear, Kampot, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range: $55 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columns is located on a quiet tree-lined street in the heart of old town Kampot. Our historic French Colonial houses have been restored to their original charm but with the addition of modern functionality and comforts. The relaxing atmosphere and central location make for an ideal place to stay while exploring the town and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing