We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back, friendly & fun vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vrindavanam Heritage Home
Ranked #55 of 214 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This place was recommended through friends of friends and it did not disappoint.
There is a casual atmosphere here with people hanging around all the time - so if you are expecting western hotel style experience then it may not be for you - but the really helpful and friendly staff would always go out of there way to get what ever lassi or advice we needed - morning or night. If the chef was out the recommendations where to eat locally and authentically were excellent and advice about taking a v cheap ferry boat to the small villages certainly saved us from being ripped off on a house boat experience and was much more fun interacting with all the locals who used the ferry services on a daily basis. It was refreshing to be in India and not feel like the people were trying to sell us something.
They have a lovely rickety tree house that was a perfect spot for recording the acoustic guitar with extra ambiance bird song and double stereo call to prayer from the local mosques!

The fish fry was tasty, fresh and delicious - the only reason we waited a little time for the food sometimes was because the chef was out at the local market picking up fresh supplies for the kitchen

Room Tip: went for the cheapest room and was perfectly adequate for my needs of sleeping and cleaning. Hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Like the previous reviewer, we came here because of the good tripadvisor rating, and like them, we would not stay here again. The room was dirty, did not even touch the mosquito net as it was brown with filth, the matt on the floor outside the bathroom was like it had been sprinkled with soil it was so dirty. There was an unwrapped condom in the bathroom on the window ledge when we arrived. When we came back at night the bathroom was crawling with cockroaches. The restaurant was not open as apparently the chef was not around. The wifi did not work. The staff consists of a group of men in their twenties, who sat about smoking cannabis and watching tv and played loud music at night with there friends, so you dont know who is staff and who is not. When we walked out of our room in the morning, there were cigarrete butts and packets all over the dining tables where they had not cleaned up. We left after 1 night, stupidly i paid up front, i would have left without paying otherwise. The good reviews on here baffle me, the only explanation i can come up with is that we came at the tail end of the season, so they had already made their money this year and just could not care less.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huckleblueberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shafees, Manager at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

First of all we would really like to express our deep apologies for what happened. The reason for writing this response is to let you know about our situation. The guest house has been partially closed for renovations and the staff is on their offseason holidays. We had informed the workers who where engaged in the renovation works to keep some rooms for the guests who come in. Without knowledge a worker had misplaced the room and gave it you. We are writing this because i came upon this review today and checked with the people since i myself is away. We are looking seriously into this matter and promise that this would never ever happen again since we keep a quality standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Came here because of good reviews on tripadvisor. We wanted to go for the standard room but the matrass was so thin that we decided to stay in a 'deluxe' room. The matrass was better, BUT there was a serious ant problem in the bathroom, the shower head came off when showering, the mosquito net was not big enough for the bed and the wifi was not working. The restaurant was only open at night and even then they ordered our food from another place since the chef was not there.

They did let us use the internet on their computer and the houseboat we booked through them (before all of the above happened) was quite ok (perhaps a bit overpriced - R 5500).

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shafees, Front Office Manager at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

We would like to let you know that the guest house is under renovation since it is off season. Almost all the staff are on their vacation that's why the kitchen was closed. We gave them a deluxe room for a standard price. We even took care of the bathroom issue and gave them another deluxe room. we did provide internet service at our front office, since we had a technical problem with the wi-fi router.

The houseboat rates are at a standard price, we cannot change it because that's our normal tariff. It was your decision in going with our houseboat, when you did check outside for other houseboats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Visited India for the first time recently. Spent some time here with friends, nice place with friendly and helpful staff and very good food which isn't surprising as it's a restaurant in its own right as well as a place to stay. You can have a room with A/C which is a big plus for me. Great value too, I will visit again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

There's not much to do in Alleppey, so chosing a nice place to stay was essential. After hours searching for a good place, I finally found this hiddem gem. Value is unbelievably good, the room was pretty good, super clean bathroom, restaurant was very slow (but the food was the bomb! really amazing). Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardoAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Having recently returned home from a short trip to Allepey I could not reccommend Vrindavanam Hertiage Home enough! Whether a tentative wanderer or a seasoned traveller, you couldn't hope for more from this oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of India. The staff were fantastically accommodating, friendly and helpful, providing advice and recommendations on the local area including houseboats trips and places to stay in the Misty Mountains. My birthday was celebrated in true Indian style with feast of delicious food and birthday cake, all made possible by those at Vrindavanam. I was simply overwhelmed at the generosity and effort put into making my day so special! The star of the heritage home however has to be the beautifully decorated garden that by night is lit with shimmering fairylights and candles. A treehouse, private porches and hammocks all add to the perfect charm of Vrindavanam. A big thank you to everyone that made my stay as memorable as it was and a special mention to the very talented Dilpo for teaching me how to make egg curry!! Delicious!

I will be back!! x

Room Tip: All rooms have fans but there are a couple of rooms with AC if desperate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Just been back to Vrindavenham for the third time in five years and it doesn't disappoint. The atmosphere is brilliant and the staff continue to be helpful and friendly. The whole place is stylish, really relaxed and great value. The food is excellent and I had the best meal of the trip - perfectly cooked Kingfisher fish. If you plan to visit Alappuzha, I really can recommend Vrindavanham.
Debbie C

Room Tip: There is often music, so if you prefer quiet, then choose a back room where it is really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 km away
Dazzle Dew
Dazzle Dew
#58 of 214 in Alappuzha
60 reviews
1.3 km away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#23 of 214 in Alappuzha
94 reviews
1.3 km away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
1.2 km away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#20 of 71 in Alappuzha
169 reviews
2.3 km away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 71 in Alappuzha
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vrindavanam Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vrindavanam Heritage Home

Address: Zachariya Bazar, Alappuzha 688001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $15 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The dream house of priceless memory" Heaven of Alleppey Rich, mystical cultural heritage that spans back through the ages: Alleppey opens its secrets to those who wish to leave behind the stresses and worries of everyday life. Situated close to the beach, Vrindavanam Heritage Home epitomizes Alleppey's true spirit and flavour. As the sole Heritage Home approved by the Govt. of Kerala (KTDC Alleppey), every day is a celebration of music, dance, fun and elation at Vrindavanam Heritage Home. Vrindavanam Heritage Home offers the best in accommodation and cuisine with plenty of facilities and services to play the perfect host. With 20 well appointed, spacious guest rooms and expansive options for dining, from Pan Asian to delectable Kerala cuisines, Vrindavanam Heritage Home promises an exemplary experience with a plethora of recreational tour packages for you and your family so that the fun never stops. Beautiful and exotic a place is Kerala, best known for its sun-kissed beaches, serene blue seas and lush greenery which has been very well maintained; you find a reflection of the same at Vrindavanam. This Heritage Home also boasts a meandering garden area that stretches across the property, making for a location that is a grand sight to behold. Being the only Heritage Home, we continue to offer our guests the best of service and amenities. A unique abode in the land of Alleppey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vrindavanam Heritage Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing