We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
117
33
4
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
33
4
10
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 175 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place was recommended through friends of friends and it did not disappoint.
There is a casual atmosphere here with people hanging around all the time - so if you are expecting western hotel style experience then it may not be for you - but the really helpful and friendly staff would always go out of there way to get what ever lassi or advice we needed - morning or night. If the chef was out the recommendations where to eat locally and authentically were excellent and advice about taking a v cheap ferry boat to the small villages certainly saved us from being ripped off on a house boat experience and was much more fun interacting with all the locals who used the ferry services on a daily basis. It was refreshing to be in India and not feel like the people were trying to sell us something.
They have a lovely rickety tree house that was a perfect spot for recording the acoustic guitar with extra ambiance bird song and double stereo call to prayer from the local mosques!

The fish fry was tasty, fresh and delicious - the only reason we waited a little time for the food sometimes was because the chef was out at the local market picking up fresh supplies for the kitchen

Room Tip: went for the cheapest room and was perfectly adequate for my needs of sleeping and cleaning. Hot water was available most of the time as was wi fi and electricity when the whole town had electricity but it was sometimes turned off - but that's a problem with the whole town!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Like the previous reviewer, we came here because of the good tripadvisor rating, and like them, we would not stay here again. The room was dirty, did not even touch the mosquito net as it was brown with filth, the matt on the floor outside the bathroom was like it had been sprinkled with soil it was so dirty. There was an unwrapped condom in the bathroom on the window ledge when we arrived. When we came back at night the bathroom was crawling with cockroaches. The restaurant was not open as apparently the chef was not around. The wifi did not work. The staff consists of a group of men in their twenties, who sat about smoking cannabis and watching tv and played loud music at night with there friends, so you dont know who is staff and who is not. When we walked out of our room in the morning, there were cigarrete butts and packets all over the dining tables where they had not cleaned up. We left after 1 night, stupidly i paid up front, i would have left without paying otherwise. The good reviews on here baffle me, the only explanation i can come up with is that we came at the tail end of the season, so they had already made their money this year and just could not care less.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huckleblueberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shafees, Manager at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

First of all we would really like to express our deep apologies for what happened. The reason for writing this response is to let you know about our situation. The guest house has been partially closed for renovations and the staff is on their offseason holidays. We had informed the workers who where engaged in the renovation works to keep some rooms for the guests who come in. Without knowledge a worker had misplaced the room and gave it you. We are writing this because i came upon this review today and checked with the people since i myself is away. We are looking seriously into this matter and promise that this would never ever happen again since we keep a quality standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Came here because of good reviews on tripadvisor. We wanted to go for the standard room but the matrass was so thin that we decided to stay in a 'deluxe' room. The matrass was better, BUT there was a serious ant problem in the bathroom, the shower head came off when showering, the mosquito net was not big enough for the bed and the wifi was not working. The restaurant was only open at night and even then they ordered our food from another place since the chef was not there.

They did let us use the internet on their computer and the houseboat we booked through them (before all of the above happened) was quite ok (perhaps a bit overpriced - R 5500).

Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shafees, Front Office Manager at Vrindavanam Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We would like to let you know that the guest house is under renovation since it is off season. Almost all the staff are on their vacation that's why the kitchen was closed. We gave them a deluxe room for a standard price. We even took care of the bathroom issue and gave them another deluxe room. we did provide internet service at our front office, since we had a technical problem with the wi-fi router.

The houseboat rates are at a standard price, we cannot change it because that's our normal tariff. It was your decision in going with our houseboat, when you did check outside for other houseboats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited India for the first time recently. Spent some time here with friends, nice place with friendly and helpful staff and very good food which isn't surprising as it's a restaurant in its own right as well as a place to stay. You can have a room with A/C which is a big plus for me. Great value too, I will visit again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2013

There's not much to do in Alleppey, so chosing a nice place to stay was essential. After hours searching for a good place, I finally found this hiddem gem. Value is unbelievably good, the room was pretty good, super clean bathroom, restaurant was very slow (but the food was the bomb! really amazing). Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews