We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Premium + Best service”
other travellers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
246 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 246 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Anchal M
1 review
“Premium + Best service”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house was in excellent condition with great taste of South Indian food ( this comment is coming from a north Indian cuisine). The service is a bit on the higher side but the amenities provided makes it totally worthy. We were lucky to see sunrise.

One suggestion would be to not recommend the Shantidham Massage. It was not a very good experience for the ladies and was not hygienic.

The boat crew was very helpful, and arranged music system to party in the evening. All in all it was a good experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and Rooms
Liked least: Massage
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thnakyou for your review . We have noted the point regarding the Ayurveda massaging center which you have mentioned . There are lots of traditional Ayurveda cetres on the way which you have to select . We don't have a single point of contact for ayurvedic massaging , as different customer choose different centre based on their preference.

We request you to do visit our boat :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chakravar...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Wonderful experience!!!”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelled with my family and had wonderful experience at the houseboat. Thanks to Pournami team for making our stay memorable. We have taken 2 Bedroom Deluxe AC Houseboat for overnight stay. The bedrooms are very clean, food was amazing and cooked to our comfort, the onboard team was very friendly, enjoyed fishing. Overall it was wonderful experience and would surely recommend to my friends and relatives.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip. Do visit us again :). Thankyou once again for being a part of Pournami Houseboats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soumy B
1 review
“Wonderful Experience...”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We were looking for a relaxing experience from our busy work schedules and Our stay at the Pournami houseboat turned to be the perfect solution. The houseboat was clean and spacious, with well established living room, bed rooms and attached bathrooms. The staff is very courteous and do tell stories and history of the nearby places as the trip went on. We opted for kerala cuisine and the food was also good with full of kerala delicious items. Thanks Parvathy and Pournami boat crew for a wonderful day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you for your awesome review . We are happy that you enjoyed the trip. Please do visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopi Kris...
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Memorable experience..Friendly helpful on-boat staff”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

During my summer holiday vacation trip with my wife and child to Kerala, we stayed one night in house boat which is unforgettable memorable good experience. On-Boat staff is very helpful. Taste of food served could be better. Morning return cruise time could be more than 1 hr to enjoy the natural beauty of backwaters. I would recommend to travelers who wants to stay in house boat to plan with Pournami House boats.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2015
Thank you for the review Sir. We have noted all you points & please do visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePopson...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, tasty food, shame about the bugs”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked in advance to stay for 1 night on a 1 bedroom deluxe a/c houseboat with upper deck during our 9 day trip to Kerala.

Having read the positive reviews from trip advisor, we were confident that this company would provide us with a good experience.

We were met by a representative from the company at the boating jetty and taken to our boat called "why not?". We were shown around the boat which appeared as in the photographs given to us at the time of booking, and introduced to the two staff who would be taking care of us during our trip.

We were provided with fresh coconut to drink and soon set sail! The scenery was stunning and the man who was driving the boat had excellent knowledge about the backwaters. He pointed out areas of interest to us and even let us have a go at driving the boat!

all our meals were very tasty, there was an abundance of food.

The place where we docked for the evening was peaceful and we were able to get off the boat and go for a short walk too.

The thing that let the boat down for us was the cleanliness. When we came to go to bed we found that one of our towels was stained, and the other had lots of dead ants on it. We had to pick these off and in the end gave up and used our own travel towel instead. A number of bugs had found their way into our room during the day despite us keeping the bedroom door closed, and unfortunately the mosquito net provided had a huge hole in it so was not fit for purpose.
(luckily we carried our own net and used this). On closer inspection of the rest of the boat there were many cobwebs around and it did not feel like it had been cleaned properly or even used recently. This was really disappointing for us.

The other unfortunate thing is that there is no where to sit in the evening. We sat on the deck to eat our dinner and found ourselves fending off bugs, and so quickly escaped to our slightly less bug infested bedroom for the night.

It could be improved with a good clean, and perhaps some mosquito netting or screens that can be put around the seating area for the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for taking time to write the review. We have noted the positives and negatives you have mentioned about the trip. As it was a peak day with your prior approval we had given the boat from our associate company by showing the snaps. And we are happy about the fact that to an extend it satisfied your expectations regarding the service, food, sightseeing & guidance. We like to point out the fact that the houseboat cannot be compared to a star hotel with regards to facilities and external environmental factors. Regarding your negatives mentioned in the review we will take it up with the management of the houseboat that was provided to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bino S
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“A Memorable house boat trip”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

First and foremoset we would like to thank Dr. Anu S Jayaram, MVSc scholar of Madras Veterinary College for suggesting "Pournami house boats" for our trip.

We, a family of three took the pournami single bed room AC deluxe house boat on 3rd and 4th May 2015. We had a wonderful and memorable trip in the house boat. We really enjoyed the cruise, hospitality, food, guidance and sight seeing during the entire trip. We could feel a "Professional" touch during our entire travel in the house boat and in all activities and happenings during the trip. We relished all the kerala dishes served in the house boat.

Fortunately the day we hired the house boat (May 3rd) was a full moon day (Pournami in Malayalam) and it perfectly matched with the "Pournami house boat", especially the night hault along the river shore with full moon on top of us and its shadow in the running waters was mindblowing.

We would strongly recomment "Pournami house boats" for our friends and relatives who are planning a house boat trip in Alappuzha. We wish "Pournami house boats" to continue their excellent services in future...

Thanks to Mrs. Parvathy for the excellent guidance before, during and after the cruise

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, Food and Cruise
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Thankyou for your excellant review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the trip :)

Please do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip A
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service coupled with clean House Boat”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I had booked a 2 Bedroom Deluxe Semi-A/C HB, for mine & my extended family. The HB was clean and in excellent condition. The staff were extremely courteous and went out of the way to ensure our comforts & safety (especially since I had a 1 year old baby girl). Truly an enjoyable experience. The food was really tasty & good, except for breakfast which could have been better.

On the whole a very good experience and I would definitely recommend Pournami Houseboats....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2015
Thankyou for your great review Sir. We do take an extra special care if the guest is coming with infants as we better know how much you are concerned.

Do visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing