We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax and try some hand at Kayak and peddal boating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2017

This place is built on the back waters and you need to take a small boat ride to enter. The rooms are tastefully done and well maintained. The food was also served hot and was prepared well and delicious.

There is a small area which has backwater where you can take the peddal boats, kayaks and row boats and enjoy. The water is not deep and so there is not much risk. They also take you to a trip of an unknown beach which is very clean and fun.

Room Tip: Try to book the executive rooms as they are more spacious and offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank errich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Hi
after some research we desided to visit Kondai Lip hotel... however our choice was proved little wrong. As its little difficult to find the hotel location second thing the hotel property is just picture perfect but... hotel is well short of staff.. we were made to wait for around 20 mins along with our kinds in beating sun just for a boatman who will take us to hotel shore. Also when we placed our food order we were made to wait for longer time. Food quality was average.. staff was not that customer friendly and english or hindi friendly. The boat ride by hotel is quite okay. Also the breakfast served by hotel was with very less options and test..
Also thr was straydog entered into hotel property and stole my shoe... this is not acceptable.. however hotel personel offered me money to compensate this.. which eventual i turn down.. overall we have mix experience about this hotel. Thanks

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kanchan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

How cool is this place. Arrival by boat and a very funky feel once you get there. The water is level with the land and the resort sits on its own piece . The accomadation is lovely big rooms , has a Balinese feel inside. Modern bathrooms and spacious. Food was perfect and the staff delightful. Can't complain about anything. Loved it.

Room Tip: All good I think we were in the cheapest and it was great
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Maureenandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The resort is set across the beautiful backwaters of Allepey with decent rooms and a spectacular view from the privacy of your room. The staff are warm and the service I felt was impressive. We were 3 families with 2 toddlers and 1 kid and were provided with whatever we asked for in addition to what was already available. No hostile people, starting from the man who takes us to the resort on the small boat. For those who wish to get into leisure activities can chill on hammocks, try a hand at badminton and paddle boat. The food was great though not inexpensive but worth it. It was a pleasant stay with no negative experiences... truely worth it :-)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Oh my my!!! Such a beautiful place. Such a mesmerizing place!! Just a WOW....
Amid the roads of allepey you find eyebrow raised where does this resort even exists. A small narrow road leads you this splendid resort where you need to reach the hotel through a boat when the road ends. Picturesque room view, refreshing environment, great food, relaxing activities- what more would anyone like to have for a tiring day or journey to end. A good resort to visit with the family where ample amount of time can be spent either in playing games, boating, kayaking and many more. Though the food costs a little more out of the budget, a day or two can be caught in relaxing in this resort.
Thank you for providing us with every little thing we needed even when our stay was just for a day. Hoping to get back to the resort for more such energizing stays in the future.
Kudos to the resort management.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We njoyed the cozy nature's stay in this watery resort....if you are yet to book one..go for this..right from entry to exit full of freshness.. amenities can be read thru site..but what i can tell you is shear enjoy from everything they mentioned.. especially the motor ride to beach..

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank avinash p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Rooms- Perfect and nothing to worry about! Clean, Spacious, Properly Managed, peaceful, and Quiet.... ..

Manager, and Staff: All are very good, Smile on Face, Co- operative, helping, humble, Friendly and easy- going.

Food- Delicious Food! Order an hour in advance as Chef cooks the fresh food based on your order (which is very good).. .. . All options are there!

I/ We liked the first thing is, to get into resort via Boat!!! There is a bridge too but Boat Experience for some feet to get into Resort is Very Good! And then Welcome Drink with a pinch of something Ayurvedic.

Hammocks are there, Boats are there, Sunset Boating is there, and Fishing is there!!!

Ayurvedic Massage, Spa et al is there!!! Some Therapies are also there... .

Room Tip: Every or Any Room is Quiet and Peaceful! Perfect for newlywed or for Family or for that matter to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImAVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
29.6 km away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
154 reviews
24 km away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 70 in Alappuzha
666 reviews
22.1 km away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 km away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
802 reviews
40.9 km away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
724 reviews
33.8 km away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Address: Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688537, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: C$93 - C$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn off the highway to Alleppey, onto a narrower road that winds its way through sleepy hamlets, going past prawn and shrimp farms and submerged fields of paddy. You gradually begin to feel the overwhelming presence of water. At times in the course of the journey it seems that for an instant one has dropped below the waterline. "Kondai Lip" Set amidst palms and lush tropical vegetation, traditional air conditioned cottages with canal facing sit outs, built with laterite and wood, elegantly furnished and equipped with all modern amenities. Just 55 km from Cochin International Airport and 18 kms towards Fort Cochin.Having its own Ayur health care Centre with Green Leaf accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing