We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great, specially with the money the resort charges”
Review of The Lagoona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lagoona Resort
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but not great, specially with the money the resort charges”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We 2 couples took the 2 night, 3 day package and were excited about our 1st trip to lonavala...
To start with insufficient sign boards exhibited and hence u can't reach the resort w/out asking bystanders.. nevertheless most locals are aware of the resort. The road to the resort is non existent and brace yourself for a mini jungle safari. The outside view of resort is "WOW" and presents itself to be a commodious property. Check in was smooth. As soon you enter the lift the damp smell of carpet starts hitting you and by the time you are settled inside your room you are almost dizzy with the dankness. Room size is adequate with a decent sofa and a table attached with a small balcony. Washrooms were well maintained too.
Resort has enough activities to keep u entertained for a day although you wish that the TT table and pool table was of better quality and TT rackets were not bald. There is a not so clean, shallow swimming pool and a heavily alagae infested green "lagoon". We were even advised to do fishing in the "lagoon".....!*$%.
Breakfast and Dinner buffet was not bad but not too good and Saturday night dinner was a chaos with guests running for hot chappatis.
All in all it was not a bad stay and my biggest grouse with the resort is it's unclean and damp carpets, non functioning AC control, room telephone, poorly maintained facilities.
Service was generally good with some chocolates and fruits served in the evening and buffet dinner delivered to room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    176
    94
    23
    38
See reviews for
187
88
Solo
0
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The place looked reasonably grand... and to be honest was the only resort which still had a room available on a Friday afternoon for the next night. So Lagoona it was by fate!

The Property has a great feel when you enter the place and seems like a very upmarket place. The rooms were decent and reasonably well equipped. But the place had many signs of poor upkeep. the lights kept going off despite the key in the Master switch at the room entry. the electric kettle was broken.

Overall hygiene and cleanliness of the place are decent. they have a massive pond / lake at the back... which looks dirtyyyy and could have really added to the beauty of the property. the views on any side of the property arent great. so dont pick this place if you want a great valley view or some lush green forest view.

this place is good for people with not very very high expectations from their hotel service quality. just a neat clean and modern place to stay and be happy with just the company you have!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shanksplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Lagoona resort is a good and huge property located very conveniently. However the rooms and food is too expensive there. Otherwise its a good experience to stay at Lagoona...........it offers a great view of the mountains and ideal for a break

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsankush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

at a whopping cost of Rs 7500 PER night, you would expect atleast decent rooms... the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are neat... however ,the carpets have not seen a shampoo in yrs (probably from when the place was estalished). This leaves a musty smell through out the room. Service has been dreadful. We had to wait for 45 mins to get just water!!! Whats worse is we havent been given the famous "Lagoon facing rooms". the entrance of the place looks just like fariyas but i guess thats just a facade! So all in all got a bad deal.... :(

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank draman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lonavala hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

i went to lagoona with my family for a short 1 day trip to lonavala.

the property is located in scenic location in lonavala, but little far from main market. so make sure you have your own vehicle at your disposal in case you have move around.

the rooms are old but nicely done up. but again and again i got the feeling that the property needs to be looked after. e.g. there is a huge aquarium in the reception area with giant fishes in it but it was covered in algae so much that one could barely admire the fish. similarly the carpet was old. the t.v. set was also very old with a remote which had its battery cover broken.

the food was good but again there was a very limited choice in buffet.

the staff however was very courteous and helpful.

this hotel was very expensive compared to the services we got. i'm sure there are many god properties in Lonavala for same price

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saps_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

value for money...me and my family stayed at lagoona from 7th June till 10th June 2011..the experience was tooooo goooood..break fast and dinner spread is fabulous..rooms are lavishly huge with all amenities..best games room i have seen with air hockey.. pool table,, soccer,, play station 2... t.t carom and sonu-the trainer who taught me how to play pool and i cannot forget him ever..huge terrace to spend some quiet moments with u r spouse

Room Tip: take the lagoon facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rameshiyer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Lagoona resort is perhaps one of the better resorts around Lonavala region, a place which has been commercialized by so many hotels, resorts that promise a hill station experience but then end up being just another hotel to stay over....a lot is actually expected when one arrives in to a place like Lonavala especially which is so commercialized and crowded over the last few years.
So, lagoona was arefreshign experience oevrall and a place i would like to visit more than once.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunilGolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
3.8 km away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
811 reviews
2.0 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.1 km away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#12 of 67 in Lonavala
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
507 reviews
1.9 km away
Crystal County Resort
Crystal County Resort
#13 of 67 in Lonavala
75 reviews
2.2 km away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagoona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagoona Resort

Property: The Lagoona Resort
Address: S No. 55, Tungarli | Tungarli, Lonavala 410403, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lagoona Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lagoona Resort, Lonavala-India’s first eco-friendly resort in Maharashtra. Our resort is located in Lonavala near Khandala, on the Pune and Mumbai Express Highway, providing a leisurely escape from the city life. In spite of being on the outskirts, we are well connected with the city and beyond. Each of our 68 well- appointed guest rooms are fully equipped with TV, direct dial telephone, internet connectivity, channel music, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, electronic safe and individual temperature controls, to ensure that you are comfortable. Our all-day dining restaurant, The Patio features mouth-watering dishes from Indian, Asian and Continental cuisines. Our elaborate buffet spreads for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can indulge in a number of recreational activities such as the indoor ones like the pool, carom, and table-tennis or relax by the outdoor pool-side which comes with an attached baby pool as well.The Lagoona Resort offers the prefect hideaway for a luxurious holiday away from the hustle-bustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lagoona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lagoona Hotel Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing