We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Bliss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Rock Retreat
Ranked #46 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Not only was this one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, but it was one of the most nourishing experiences I have ever had.
All 4 double-storey villas are perched right on the water with 180 degree views of the ocean making morning sunrises and evening sunsets magical and uninterrupted.
I found the staff very kind and caring and the detox program was tailor made to suit each persons body and needs. Morning qi gong and yoga were incredible and it felt like being on an Island where time had stopped and you could replenish your spirit in a tranquil safe, beautiful and dare I say loving environment. Afternoons reading books by the pool were also a highlight for me. Overall I had an amazing experience (and I am quite fussy) - I felt connected to myself again. I lost 3kg in 5 days and my body and mind felt truly detoxified. Highly recommended for Solo / Couples / Friends!!

Room Tip: *All villas are right on the water so you can't go wrong with any of them.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lennalove A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Golden Rock Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had high hopes for this retreat but was gravely disappointed. The retreat is 2-3 star max and is so isolated you can't leave the complex as there is nothing surrounding. Cabin fever. Unlike other detox retreats there is no spa services and no Western medical advice for such an intense cleanse that they offer. If I had known all this I would have much rather gone to a retreat in Ubud that was closer to civilization and better equipped. The exercise equipment is poor and only involves a small stepper and a tiny circle trampoline. Take hundreds of books and DVDs if you are going as there is nothing to do.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FratelliFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Everything about Golden Rock is amazing. The location is remote and so so beautiful, the staff are incredible and the detox program leaves your body, mind and soul feeling rejuvenated. There's only 4 villas, so it's quiet (except for the sound of the sea).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liblit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My sister and I did the fasting programme at Golden Rock in Easter of last year. The staff were absolutely amazing and attended to our every need, which was really what we needed during a fast, having very little energy. The treatments and yoga classes were brilliant, everyone at the retreat wants to be there and is passionate about what they do. Overall the programme is brilliant and the only place I have found to do a fast in luxury. the villas are beautiful bali style two story villas with beautiful ocean views, so that you wake up watching the neigbrouring villagers heading off on their sailing boats for their morning fishing trip. They are clean with luxury outdoor showers.
I am looking to do another retreat somewhere in Europe and there just seems to be nothing of this scale and luxury at a very affordable price. Hence my delayed review of Golden Rock, having found nothing to compare I am about to return for the second year running. The only negatives are, it is a 3 hour drive around widing roads and you can't swim at the beach as it is too painful and slippery to get over the rocks to the water. Besides that, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone wanting to do a fast with fantastic service and support, in a luxury surrounding and a comprehensive programme (including 2 x daily yoga and full treatments). I have done oodles of research on fasting retreats and have been on 2 other retreats, including Kamalaya (beautiful resort where you get charged astronomical prices for every little extra and they do not offer fasting or propert detox menu) as well as a more low key programme - neither compares to Golden Rock. One last thing, you will never get bored as there programme keeps you busy, you will leave feeling like a new person and it has certainly changed my eating habils.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank minky_068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.2 km away
Villa Sky Dancer
Villa Sky Dancer
#14 of 95 in Abang
51 reviews
1.1 km away
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#25 of 79 in Amed
13 reviews
0.5 km away
Wawa Wewe Rock
Wawa Wewe Rock
#6 of 8 in Bunutan
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#4 of 19 in Amed
129 reviews
0.3 km away
Meditasi Bungalows
Meditasi Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Bunutan
177 reviews
2.1 km away
Villa Infinite Horizon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rock Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rock Retreat

Address: Aas, Bunutan | 10 km southeast of Amed, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a remote spot on the north east tip of Bali, Golden Rock Retreat is an exquisite and innovative detox and healing centre that provides our guests with a unique opportunity to take part in our carefully prepared health programs, whilst experiencing the peace and tranquility of local Balinese life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Rock Retreat Hotel Amed
Golden Rock Retreat Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing