We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was like living in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
View from one of the the porches....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from one of the the porches....
Terrace in front of bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
View from one of the the porches....
Terrace in front of bedroom 1
Shady porches....
Villa Celagi on the seaside
Villa Celagi on the seaside, the swimming pool is 15x7m
View on the Bali Sea
The bale bengong, the little covered Balinese elevated deck
View from the bale bengong
View from the bale bengong: sunrise above Lombok
Watch the put out to sea of the typical Balinese fishing boats, the Jukungs
Or the old wooden ships....
Have a rest besides the Buddha...
Via the small gate you will enter the villa
Front of Villa Celagi
Villa Celagi, view from the Bali Sea
Just sit and muse on your own privat platform by the sea....
Dive or snorkel from your private platform!
This is the large living space, open the large glass doors and outside and inside flow together!
Take a seat on the big wooden table and enjoy!
This is the place to watch TV, listen to your favorite music, read a good book or play a game with your tablet...
The large living room is 100m2
Villa Celagi in the evening
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Terrace in front of bedroom 2
Sandy beach, not far from the villa. Rent a Jukung and make a trip along the sea!
Boattrip from the sandy beach
Take the boat from Jemeluk to the Gili Islands (Lombok), about 75 min. fern
Terraced paddyfields
Upacara in Bangle
Funeral come past in front  of Villa Celagi
Upacara on the seaside of Banuyning
Wedding party
The shaman (fortune-teller) of Culik
Lempuyang, one of the eldest temples of Bali
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Amed, Abang, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anja O
Zwiggelte, The Netherlands
1 review
“It was like living in paradise”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Villa Celagi Bali

In May 2014 we had the pleasure of enjoying a week-long stay in the beautiful Villa Celagi. After we backpacked several days in Bali while staying overnight in various homes, guesthouses or small hotels, we finally arrived in the tranquil paradise like villa of Banjuning. It appeared to be much more spacious than we had imagined from the pictures in the brochure.

The villa was decorated beautifully and had all the conveniences one could imagine:
-a welcoming bouquet of flowers
- bottled water to be used for drinking water as well as for brushing our teeth and
taking any medicines,
- a modern and convenient sanitary bathroom and shower plus an extra guest bathroom.
- very comfortable and spacious bed complete with mosquito netting (klamboe).
- a safety locker for passports and other precious items.
- air conditioning and also fans to keep a comfortable room temperature .
- a large sitting room with sliding doors and privacy screens which could be opened to allow the comfortable and welcoming breeze to enter the room.
- a library with ample sitting space to read, watch TV and or listen to music.
The large kitchen is primarily occupied by the fabulous cook Wajang , who considers this her domain.

We were met in Pacung, by the very friendly and masterful chauffeur Ketut who drove the car very skillfully through the windy roads of the mountainous landscapes.

Once we arrived at the villa we were welcomed by Wajang who was not only very friendly and humoristic , but also was an excellent cook , she always was eager to please our individual needs and special dietary requests.

The gardener , Koman, was always busy tending to the lush and beautiful flowering vegetation around the villa and keeping the huge swimming pool sparkling clear and clean.
This week Koman was exceptionally busy because he was preparing for his wedding to his very beautiful bride. We were honored to be included in the festivities that lasted several days . Dressed in a sarong with slendang and udeng ( typical wedding attire) we were seated among the wedding guests and were witness to the festive wedding ceremonies . We feasted our eyes on all the colorful customs and traditions and even today all the countless impressions are still vividly in our memories here in our sometimes cold and rainy Netherlands.

Villa Celagi with all its colorful and fragrant vegetation is a true oasis of pure rest and tranquility , the bale bengong near the beautiful large swimming pool became our favorite hideout . With a Bintang or a glass of wine I truly enjoyed overlooking the Turquoise ocean with the colorful small fishing boats , the tall ocean boats and the occasional school of dolphins . We are grateful to Wajang, Dirta, Koman and Diri for lovingly taking care of our every need . This was a true paradise on earth: a vacation to never forget.
Roelof Jan and Hermine we gave your Villa Celagi a " 5 star rating" or a "Big fat 10+".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the balé bengong near the wonderful swimming place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful seaview, the armosphere and space in the house, the big swimming pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yves J
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beatiful house in a beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 6 days at Villa Celagi from the 26/01/2014 to the 01/02/2014, my wife, my daughter (9 years old) and myself.
No need to get back to the grandeur of the house, the beautiful and massive swimming pool overlooking the ocean, the friendliness of the staff mentioned by the other reviewers. All this is true and beyond what you would expect.
A few hints on what we did:
. we hired a car for the whole week. A tiny Suzuki, a bit worn out for USD 14 per day . I know you can get a chauffeur at a bargain price but nothing beats being free and wandering (and getting lost !) by yourself. The winding road along the coast is beautiful. Maybe more than in the rest of Bali, roads are very narrow, which means people rarely excede 30km/h. If by bad luck you were to hit an other vehicle chances are that no one would get hurt.
. We did an excursion to Lempuyang (our favorite temple) perched high in the mountain, that we saw in the mist
.Water palace of Ujung: very nice but less impressive than Lempuyang
. we hired a motorbike and did a tour in the little valleys that run perpendicular to the coast. Beautiful...
. we hired a Jurung (fisherman's sail boat) to go snorkeling from the next village. Nice as you get to see the coast line, but the underwater visibilty was not great. It was actually better to snorkel from the villa itself, although most of the time it was too rough to get in the water. A few metres from the villa's pontoon we could see corals and tropical fishes. WE even saw dolphins playing in the waves!

As we were there during the rainy season it rained almost every day, but usually only a few hours. Apart from one day, we had sun every day and we didn't seem to be bothered by the rain.

We ate mostly at home local food beautifuly preapred by Wayan. Excellent and cheap. There were always leftovers for the following day. We also ate at the upmarket and excellent restaurant of the Gryia hotel (10 mns drive from the villa). Expensive compared to the local eateries, but quite cheap when you come from Sydney (easily half the price of comparable meals).

Things to consider:
Amed is not densely populated and the place is generally quiet, but the house is not isolated and there are other habitations around, hence 2 or 3 times during our stay we had some Indonesion pop blaring from across the road or the roosters in the distance. Nothing that spoiled our sojourn and we slept very well but beware if you are after ABSOLUTE tranquility!
Also, I would not recommend the house for families with young children (<6). There are a lot of unprotected stairs and walls.

Nothing to do with the house itself, but more a general comment on Bali, which I think was compounded by the fact we were there during the rainy season: the amount of rubbish that litter the rivers, the sides of the roads and ultimately the beaches especialy near habitations. This is the first time we went to Bali and so cannot compare but from what we can hear from friends the problem is getting worse...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: limited selection of english books or DVD
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillithJa...
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Villa Celagi is one of the most beautiful and peaceful places we have ever stayed in. It truly is as described and photographed, but even more impressive in reality. With magnificent views overlooking the sea, an infinity pool that is one of the largest private pools I've seen, the open air living and the quieter location (a bit away from the busier Amed), it is the perfect place to spend a wonderful getaway. The staff is most friendly, professional and accommodating. Wayan is a fabulous cook….we didn't have to leave for any meals if we didn't want to. Dirta, the manager, is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and made us feel as if we were "family" and not guests. Komang, who takes care of the pool and gardens, is never without a welcoming smile. We also loved the area - Banunying. It is walkable to a few restaurants, beaches and snorkeling areas, yet quieter than than Amed.
The ocean is also accessible right from the villa. it was a bit rough at this time of year so we were unable to snorkel from the villa, but we enjoyed being down by the water and watching the fisherman. Also, sitting by the pool in the bale - no matter what the weather - is one of the most peaceful experiences both my husband and I have ever had.
Thank you Villa Celagi and staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matty24ja...
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway from all the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have had the most amazing stay at Villa Celagi, Amed it self is just amazing. Amed is very quiet, beautiful and relaxing. The villa is huge with 2 bedrooms, a massive pool (The biggest I have ever been in), a lounge room (with a library full of books, brouchers and magazines), day beds and a fully equipped kitchen (food all prepared by Wyan, who is jut amazing and can organise anything you need). The area is very safe and the local people are all amazing and friendly, they can organise the best fishing boat trips down at the café to the left of the villa. We recommend going to Aldi and hiring snorkelling gear (3dollars a day if that), you will not have to leave the Villa, just go down some stairs and to your very own platform to swim (It is very safe) and lots of fish to see on your adventures.

We had the best time and we will return many more times, defiantly for the people who want to see the beauty of Indonesia in Amed as you relax, eat, swim and fish. Their is no shopping stalls with all the tourist stuff just peaceful locals, restraunts, cafes and beach (with many dolphins passing by).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the beach at your door step
Liked least: At times all the stairs, but it keeps you very fit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hengelo (Ov)
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing