We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach in Amed”
Review of Santai Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santai Hotel Bali
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Amed
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I spent a few nights in Amed at the Santai Resort which is right on the beach with the sound of gentle waves throughout the night. I stayed in an upstairs room a little farther from the water though there was still the feel and sounds of the ocean. The rooms are traditional Balinese with an open air shower, always such a great feeling to shower in an enclosed area outside. I was in Amed meeting some friends and really enjoyed my time there. The patio restaurant down by the pool is quite nice, it is right in front of the beach with great views. It is a nice atmosphere for coffee, breakfast or afternoon drinks. Wifi is available in all of the rooms and in the common areas around the resort. The resort is also convenient to the dive operators in the village. I chose to dive with Adventure Divers Bali and absolutely recommend them as well.

Room Tip: I stayed in an upstairs room. I suggest if you reserve early, ask for a downstairs garden room or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear pkb2007,

Thank you for much for your lovely review. We are delighted to read about your seemingly wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

From Amed with Love,
Valerie, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

A delightful small hotel, right on the sea, near the rather drab village of Amed. I judge a hotel by how it handles the unforeseen . Santai, in particular the manager, scores 10/10 for resolving my problem. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast is the best I had anywhere during 12 days in Bali, and the staff go out of their way to look after the guests.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for one of the front lodges. The back lodges have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear william k,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us and with your fellow travellers.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Komang, our newly appointed Manager, was able to serve you to the best of your expectations.

We hope to see you again in the near future, and wish you a Happy Easter!

From Amed with Love,
Valerie, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

I changed the room twice because the first one stank of damp and the second one of some sort of chemical.
At first, the staff were resistant and said the smell was wood! It most certainly was nothing like wood. The hotel is in need of maintenance and perhaps damp proofing....

I eventually spoke to a manager who moved me to a room upstairs and it was fine. It is beyond me why they didn't put me in one of the upstairs rooms in the first place, they have four standards rooms and I was the only one booked in one of them, yet, they gave me the worst one first, then suggested I move to the second worst.

The food in the hotel restaurant is not bad at all, and the pool area is nice, the pool is quite small, however.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a standard room, make sure you have the one upstairs on the right, it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalija_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Natalija_London,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience here with us and with your fellow travellers.

We have investigated the smell that you mentioned. It so happens that our Gardening Team had been spraying with a special product against mosquitoes, but also against rodents, which is always a potential problem in the tropics. So the smell came from Pest Control spraying, not from anything else. We are very sorry that you had to experience this while you were staying with us. We will make sure this doesn't happen again with future guests.

Also, we have re-trained our Staff so that the best rooms are being allocated first, especially in low season, which is when you visited us.

We thank you again for your honest review and do hope to see you again in the near future. I would love to welcome you personally next time you stay with us.

With Love from Amed,
Valerie, Marketing Manager







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Traditional style balinese rooms, simple & clean. Great fresh fish & delicious chocolate fondant served at the restaurant. Friendly staff. Manicure treatment can be improved. Overall, a good memory for the family!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank olivier882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear olivier882016,

Thank you for your response and sorry for the delay in responding.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We just upgraded our Spa offer by partnering up with Channa Spa, the amazing Spa located two minutes away by car, at our sister hotel, The Griya. Our guests now have the opportunity to enjoy highly professional services in a stunning and peaceful environment.

We hope to welcome you again one day, and wish you Happy Easter holidays, wherever this finds you!

From Amed with Love,
Valerie, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We booked this hotel shortly before our trip over Booking.com and only looked the pictures on the website, which looked quite nice and clean. When we arrived we realized that the reality had not much to do with what we saw on the website.

The room was badly illuminated, all the furniture (bed/ closet, chairs and on the terrace) looked quite old and dirty and the entire apartment/ cottage was dilapidated and shabby. It looked like that the pictures were taken 20 years ago and since then, not much was invested or maintained. Besides there was a street and bar not far from the cottage, thus you always had some noise.
The toughest part however was, that we had a rat in the (open) bathroom. This was in the end too much and we decided to check out the next day.

The manager was quite friendly, but at the same time he said he could not give the money for the other paid nights back and I have to clarify this with Booking.com. I wrote Booking.com several times about this issue and it took them always 1 week or more to answer. I send pictures they said they didn´t receive and they said they need to talk to the hotel for a refund, though the hotel said I need to talk to Booking.com. 1 day after the opportunity to write an evaluation about the hotel expired, Booking.com said they cannot do anything and closed the case.

Overall it was a very bad experience after a lovely holiday (and much better hotels) in Bali. We would certainly not recommend the Santai Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Michael N,

Thank you very much for honest feedback.
We value our guests' point of view.


We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that your stay at Santai was not up to par. This is very disappointing to hear, yet we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally.

Please note that all your information information has been passed on to our brand new Hotel Manager. He brings 18 years of invaluable 5* hotel experience to Santai.

With the help of our new Manager, our goal is to:
- elevate and upgrade Santai to the next level of customer service as well as guest comfort
- renovate Santai in the course of the next two years so we can provide higher comfort standards to our guests.

Despite your bad experience, we truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

Thanks again for having shared your experience with us and with your fellow travellers.

Warm and sunny regards from Amed,
Valerie, Marketing Team Santai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We had one dinner and one lunch here. Food was good, especially the fish, and well worth the price. Quick service in Amed standards. We did some snorkeling in front of the hotel and they provided us towels and a place to change&shower.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Bear k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Bear k,

We truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

We also wanted to announce that we have hired a brand new Manager, Komang Simpen, who brings 18 years of invaluable 5* hotel experience to Santai.

With the help of Komang, our goal is to:
- elevate and upgrade Santai to the next level of customer service as well as guest comfort
- renovate Santai in the course of the next two years so we can provide higher comfort standards to our guests.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

Also, our brand new web-site just went live. You can now make direct reservations with us through here: santaibali.com.

Thanks again for having shared your experience with us and with your fellow travellers.

Warm and sunny regards from Amed,
Marketing Team Santai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Very relaxing milleu, underlined by beatiful music. Nice pool in a fantastic garden. Very Delicious food in the restaurant. Nice and helpful staff. The room was a little dated, but comfort nevertheless god. A bit difficult to bath in the sea due to a stoney Beach

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingridwahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Dear Ingridwahlin,

Thank you for your review about us. We truly value our guests' opinion and shared experience.

Amed offers an array of various beaches but because we are located at the foot of Mount Agung, Bali's highest (inactive) volcano, our beaches offer either black sand (which a lot of guests find very unusual but rather attractive) as well as pebbles, rocks and stones. We always recommend our guests that come to Amed to bring a pair of water-shoes to protect their feet.

We also wanted to announce that we have hired a brand new Manager, Komang Simpen, who brings 18 years of invaluable 5* hotel experience to Santai.

With the help of Komang, our goal is to:
- elevate and upgrade Santai to the next level of customer service as well as guest comfort
- renovate Santai in the course of the next two years so we can provide higher comfort standards to our guests.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

Warm and sunny regards from Amed,
Marketing Team Santai



.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
3.1 km away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
3.6 km away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 23 in Amed
511 reviews
2.9 km away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Griya Villas and Spa
10.7 km away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
1.3 km away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santai Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santai Hotel Bali

Address: Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amed
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: $73 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santai Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santai Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai Hotel Bali Amed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing