We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$42
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$22
US$17
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$74
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$54
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
92
105
40
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
105
40
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut restaurantevery morningfishnice pooltraditional stylesurrounded by lushswimming pooltea and coffeedirect access to the beachrocky beachhotel arrangedoutdoor bathroomfacing the searelaxing placeread a bookfew stepsday bed
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 261 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017

A delightful small hotel, right on the sea, near the rather drab village of Amed. I judge a hotel by how it handles the unforeseen . Santai, in particular the manager, scores 10/10 for resolving my problem. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast is the best I had anywhere during 12 days in Bali, and the staff go out of their way to look after the guests.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for one of the front lodges. The back lodges have no view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Dear william k,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us and with your fellow travellers.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Komang, our newly appointed Manager, was able to serve you to the best of your expectations.

We hope to see you again in the near future, and wish you a Happy Easter!

From Amed with Love,
Valerie, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017

I changed the room twice because the first one stank of damp and the second one of some sort of chemical.
At first, the staff were resistant and said the smell was wood! It most certainly was nothing like wood. The hotel is in need of maintenance and perhaps damp proofing....

I eventually spoke to a manager who moved me to a room upstairs and it was fine. It is beyond me why they didn't put me in one of the upstairs rooms in the first place, they have four standards rooms and I was the only one booked in one of them, yet, they gave me the worst one first, then suggested I move to the second worst.

The food in the hotel restaurant is not bad at all, and the pool area is nice, the pool is quite small, however.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a standard room, make sure you have the one upstairs on the right, it doesn't smell!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalija_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Dear Natalija_London,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience here with us and with your fellow travellers.

We have investigated the smell that you mentioned. It so happens that our Gardening Team had been spraying with a special product against mosquitoes, but also against rodents, which is always a potential problem in the tropics. So the smell came from Pest Control spraying, not from anything else. We are very sorry that you had to experience this while you were staying with us. We will make sure this doesn't happen again with future guests.

Also, we have re-trained our Staff so that the best rooms are being allocated first, especially in low season, which is when you visited us.

We thank you again for your honest review and do hope to see you again in the near future. I would love to welcome you personally next time you stay with us.

With Love from Amed,
Valerie, Marketing Manager







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Traditional style balinese rooms, simple & clean. Great fresh fish & delicious chocolate fondant served at the restaurant. Friendly staff. Manicure treatment can be improved. Overall, a good memory for the family!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank olivier882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Dear olivier882016,

Thank you for your response and sorry for the delay in responding.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We just upgraded our Spa offer by partnering up with Channa Spa, the amazing Spa located two minutes away by car, at our sister hotel, The Griya. Our guests now have the opportunity to enjoy highly professional services in a stunning and peaceful environment.

We hope to welcome you again one day, and wish you Happy Easter holidays, wherever this finds you!

From Amed with Love,
Valerie, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2016

We booked this hotel shortly before our trip over Booking.com and only looked the pictures on the website, which looked quite nice and clean. When we arrived we realized that the reality had not much to do with what we saw on the website.

The room was badly illuminated, all the furniture (bed/ closet, chairs and on the terrace) looked quite old and dirty and the entire apartment/ cottage was dilapidated and shabby. It looked like that the pictures were taken 20 years ago and since then, not much was invested or maintained. Besides there was a street and bar not far from the cottage, thus you always had some noise.
The toughest part however was, that we had a rat in the (open) bathroom. This was in the end too much and we decided to check out the next day.

The manager was quite friendly, but at the same time he said he could not give the money for the other paid nights back and I have to clarify this with Booking.com. I wrote Booking.com several times about this issue and it took them always 1 week or more to answer. I send pictures they said they didn´t receive and they said they need to talk to the hotel for a refund, though the hotel said I need to talk to Booking.com. 1 day after the opportunity to write an evaluation about the hotel expired, Booking.com said they cannot do anything and closed the case.

Overall it was a very bad experience after a lovely holiday (and much better hotels) in Bali. We would certainly not recommend the Santai Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Dear Michael N,

Thank you very much for honest feedback.
We value our guests' point of view.


We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that your stay at Santai was not up to par. This is very disappointing to hear, yet we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally.

Please note that all your information information has been passed on to our brand new Hotel Manager. He brings 18 years of invaluable 5* hotel experience to Santai.

With the help of our new Manager, our goal is to:
- elevate and upgrade Santai to the next level of customer service as well as guest comfort
- renovate Santai in the course of the next two years so we can provide higher comfort standards to our guests.

Despite your bad experience, we truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

Thanks again for having shared your experience with us and with your fellow travellers.

Warm and sunny regards from Amed,
Valerie, Marketing Team Santai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We had one dinner and one lunch here. Food was good, especially the fish, and well worth the price. Quick service in Amed standards. We did some snorkeling in front of the hotel and they provided us towels and a place to change&shower.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Bear k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullesdebleu, Marketing Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Dear Bear k,

We truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

We also wanted to announce that we have hired a brand new Manager, Komang Simpen, who brings 18 years of invaluable 5* hotel experience to Santai.

With the help of Komang, our goal is to:
- elevate and upgrade Santai to the next level of customer service as well as guest comfort
- renovate Santai in the course of the next two years so we can provide higher comfort standards to our guests.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.

Also, our brand new web-site just went live. You can now make direct reservations with us through here: santaibali.com.

Thanks again for having shared your experience with us and with your fellow travellers.

Warm and sunny regards from Amed,
Marketing Team Santai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews