We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
102
110
40
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
110
40
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut restaurant banana porridge every morning european food surrounded by lush nice pool direct access to the beach quiet hotel tea and coffee swimming pool relaxing place facing the sea read a book day bed black sand few steps garden
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 276 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff speaking ok English and great airco. Spa treatments a bit pricy considering the quality and facilities. Not a lot to do and the food got boring after a while. Weird and small cocktails. Clean rooms but a bit rustic, I often had a lizard with me in the shower and felt a bit uneasy going to the toilet as it wasn't completely covered by the roof... Clean but small pool.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Michaela P,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We love hearing back from our guests! It is a very good input for improvement in the future.

We have taken notes on the two areas which you were not entirely happy about (i.e. cocktails and pricing of Spa), and we will follow up on those. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.

Regarding the lizards:

"Gecko" is the common name for any of about 65 species of small lizards. They are unique among lizards in their ability to make chirping or clicking sounds. The name "gecko" is a derivative of a Malay word that is an imitation of a lizard's call.

These little house geckos are great little exterminators. Unless you are overrun with them, they are worth having around. Here are a few facts for you:

- Geckos are a very common occurrence under the tropics; as much as spiders are in our Western houses
- Geckos are predators of pest insects and spiders as well, which is why they are so useful
- The vast majority of the time, they stay on the ceiling or on the highest part of the walls, close to the ceiling
- They won't die in your room, nor will it hang around long if it isn't finding bugs and mosquitoes to eat
- If by chance you should find it on your bed, it isn't going to stay, nor do they like to snuggle with humans and they certainly don't approach humans on purpose
- They are extremely unlikely to want to share your bed with you and will never bother you while sleeping
- These critters are a never ever a nuisance to humans unless you think of them as such
- We ask you not to try to harm them, as they are totally harmless to you
- Try to accept them as part of the typical, tropical "landscape"

Regarding the open air bathrooms: these are very traditional and actually popular in tropical countries, especially by the beach. Most guests love them but we can understand that it's not for everybody. That's very much a personal preference.

Regarding your comment about "not a lot to do", we have to disagree with you. Please find below the link to the entire catalogue of Activities which we offer in Amed (this Menu was available in your room) and around. There are soooo many things you can do: http://www.santaibali.com/?santai=explore-east-bali. It is not fair to say that there's not a lot to do. Rather, you may not have found in Amed the type of activities you were looking for and we're sorry about that.

Kindly please share your experience stay with us to your friends and we are very happy to welcome you again soon.

On behalf of our entire Team,

From Amed with love,
Komang, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

A lovely rustic (but comfortable) feel by the sea side. If you'd ever been to Kona Village in Hawaii, this has that feel but on a much smaller scale. Individual lodging units are constructed of traditional thatched materials (but are clean, have A/C, and comfortable beds). Nice pool, a little archway to walk through to the "beach" (in quotes because this is a rocky shoreline, not sandy), and nice dining area with great food. The staff are wonderful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LoveToTravelFrom650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic feedback.
We love hearing back from our guests!
And we strive every day to ensure our guests' stay
is a very enjoyable and a very memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back at Santai in the near future
and we hope you had a blissful time in Amed and in Bali.

Kindly please share your experience stay with us to your friends
and we are very happy to welcome you again soon.

On behalf of our entire Team,
From Amed with love,
Komang, Manager

PS We would love for you to like and share our Facebook and Instagram profiles. We hope to see you there soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017

I was there for 3 days in May and highly recommend this property. The location is excellent, quiet and beautiful. The pool sits just off the beach and I enjoyed a wonderful massage in the cabana. The staff is attentive and welcoming. Food delicious and coffee service delivered to the room each money. Also, enjoyed the private Balinese dancing.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _ferrarajanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Dear _ferrarajanet,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic feedback. We love hearing back from our guests! And we strive every day to ensure our guests' stay is a very enjoyable and a very memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back at Santai in the near future and we hope you had a blissful time in Amed and in Bali.

Kindly please share your experience stay with us to your friends and we are very happy to welcome you again soon.

On behalf of our entire Team,
From Amed with love,
Komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2017

The santai is pretty nice place, but unfortunately i don't know why it smelt like there was an open sewer nearby. They try pretty hard and make it a comfortable stay. The restaurant is nice, but they allow smoking. I would stay in their sister property next time.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SunnytheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Operations Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear SunnytheTraveller,

First of all, thank for having taken the time to share your experience with us and your fellow travellers. We are happy that you enjoyed our the best parts of our resort and at the same time, are disappointed that you had to experience some of the less good aspects.

We are in the process of renewing our entire sewage system, and this sometimes creates unwanted smells in the resort, when our workers are in the midst of the renovation works. We can assure you that this is very temporary and that we are doing our utmost best to fix the issue once and for all, in the next few days.

Thank you for your comment regarding the smoking allowance in Coconut restaurant. We understand that, despite it being an open-air restaurant, it is not enjoyable for non-smoking guests to have to have to endure the smoke. We decided to make Coconut a non-smoking restaurant from now on, and guests are invited to smoke by the pool or on the beach, but not longer at the table. We thank you again for your constructive feedback which helps us to improve ourselves every day.

Our sincere apologies for both inconveniences.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

From Amed with Love,
Komang, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Santai while doing our open water diving course at Amed. The hotel itself has stunning setting- right on the beach, next to a fishing village. It was a joy each morning to watch the sunrise & the fishing boats come in from the verandah of our bungalow.

The bungalow was large & spacious- with a loft room accomodating our daughter. Aircon worked well & wifi was good.

The staff were all lovely and attentive. Two of us were a bit sick while in Amed - so we didn't get a chance to really enjoy the acclaimed Coconut restaurant- but my wife assures me that the nasi goreng was the best she had ever had!

It was just a few little things that let the Santai down. In the 4 days we were there we didn't get a change of either room or beach towels & despite it being clear that there were 3 of us - every morning my daughter had to go & ask for a 3rd cup & bottle of water (which was charged for) so she could have a cup of tea & a drink.

Apart these things - Santai would have been a 4 star rating.

Tips: try to get a beachside bungalow. Plus- you really need to hire a motorcycle to explore & enjoy the area fully.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank BrisbaneTraveldoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaiManagement, Operations Manager at Santai Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear BrisbaneTraveldoctor,

First of all, apologies for the long delay in reacting to your review. Thank you for your patience!

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our Housekeeping management as well as our Restaurant Staff. This will not happen again!

Towels and sheets must be changed daily, or upon guests' requests, and each guest that has been booked into the room, is allowed free tea and coffee on the patio in the morning.

We sincerely apologise for both inconveniences and hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

From Amed with Love,
Komang, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews