We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with lovely staff”
Review of Apa Kabar Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apa Kabar Villas
Ranked #12 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed here late June for 6 days. Our room didnt have ac working so they moved or shall I say free upgraded us into the magnificent 2 bedroom villa which is a little more per night only but a world away from the loft rooms. The spacious clean rooms were perfect and the outside shower was divine. Theres a large fridge, great sea views and the restuarant is right there. The besds are comfortable The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. Yogi is always working on the bar or restuarant and has a lovely demeanor about him. There are several great restuarants who will pick you up and drive you back the hotel free. Just ask reception to call them, Sails , Aquaterrace etc. Galanga restuarant nearby is a must visit. Breakfast served at Apa Kabar is more than adequate and you can eat next to the beach. Ask to see the private Villa with its own Infinity pool. The pool for the main hotel is quite deep but they have flotation aids. I will return here. Its quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a bit of a reception thoroughfare and a tad too close to the main road. All other rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and the resort is really nice. Recommend you stay away from room 9 as it backs right onto the road and can get noisy in the morning. We asked to be swapped to another room and were quickly accommodated. We were given room 9 as it sleeps 4 and we are a family of 3. We were moved to a room for 2 with an extra bed rolled in which we were very happy with. Room 7 is great. The staff are fantastic and it is right on the beach with awesome snorkeling directly out tge front. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank nextyearnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Our family of 5(three daughters aged 13,10 and 6) spent four nights at Apa Kabar in the three bedroom villa. We enjoyed our time there and it was especially nice to stay at the beginning of June before the tourist rush so the children mostly had the pool to themselves. It's in a great spot in quiet Bunutan amongst the frangipani trees within steps of the beach and with good snorkelling practically on the doorstep. The stony beach outside was lined with fishing boats which would go out every morning and late afternoon. It was nice to be amongst everyday Balinese life.

The staff were so lovely that I feel guilty saying anything bad about the place but I hope this is taken as a constructive criticism - it would be so easy to fix the little things and make a good place, great. The smaller villas looked lovely, especially the orange two bedroom villas with the ornate wooden doors(I had a peek inside too) but I got the feeling our villa wasn't used much and while attention was given to swan shaped towels on arrival and beautifully arranged flowers, the windows were dirty, the tea and coffee jars were half empty or empty and the stairs up to the neglected balcony were dusty. Mostly the beach was pretty good in terms of rubbish but once again it would have been so easy for the staff to quickly pick up the small amount of rubbish that was right outside the hotel especially when it was so quiet anyway. Things were immediately fixed when we pointed anything out and we still enjoyed our time.

We would recommend the whole pineapple dessert which came elaborately decorated much to my daughter's delight!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I've just returned from a 10 day stay in Amed, Bali. Amed is a bit like Bali (Kuta) was like in the early 1980's. Almost no beach touts, friendly happy people and lots of great places to stay.

We choose Apa Kabar for the 10 day stay and we were very happy with our decision. I had a double story AC villa with an on-suite bathroom and my wife, daughter and granddaughter a larger villa - small house with a kitchen, lounge room and two large bedrooms each with an en-suite and AC.

My villa's bed looked directly out to the sea where we went snorkeling once or twice a day.

If you after a mid range cost hotel with a view that has great staff, excellent food and large spacious rooms I'd recommend Apa Kabar.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Look we must be different to the many others who review this but I can't believe what you get for the money here.
We stayed in Ubud and Sanur in 5 star places for the same cost.
Here we were greeted by sheets with stains on them, old towels and a bathroom that smelt musty and was less than inviting.
We looked around and couldn't believe what you could get for much less.
It's a nice spot on the water, but we just don't see what others see here.
Sorry but can't say it's better than average

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dara-Khmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Not sure what we expected with Apa Kabar villas being our first time in Amed but there is a lot to like here. Staff were very enthusiastic particularly hard working breakfast and barman Yogi.
Rooms are large and quite comfortable with good aircon and a big balcony only metres from the beach. Restaurant and pool are both good - pool is quite deep and bit chilly. Snorkelling straight off beach was ok - very stony beach but ok once your in the water.
Some good local eateries within easy walk - with Galanga a standout one of the best restaurants you will find in Bali for the money. We stayed 4 nights and found it perfect for a relaxing break - don't go there for the nightlife or lovely beaches but if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta Amed is ideal.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maxwelldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

This resort is located in Amed - particularly famous for its dive spots. The resort itself is by the beach. You can go snorkeling or diving everyday if you want. The beach is rocky but around 5 meters into the water, there will be a beautiful stretch of corals you can widely enjoy. Balinese people are genuine and warm so rest-assured that the staff of this hotel will treat you vey well - as they did with me and my family. This place also offers spacious villas fitting for large groups. We were a family of six who enjoyed the comfort of the resort's relaxing ambiance. In the mornings, when the sky is clear (which it usually is), I enjoyed the sunrise. There is also a 10-ft deep pool you can use. While Amed is roughly 2 hours from the airport, the resort is still really accessible since it's by the main road and near convenient stores and restaurants. Overall, my stay was pleasant and peaceful - a holiday I wouldn't trade for anything else.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmainegrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amed hotels
3.2 km away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 23 in Amed
511 reviews
0.3 km away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 23 in Amed
242 reviews
2.8 km away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Kelapa Cottage
Kelapa Cottage
#2 of 90 in Amed
133 reviews
1.6 km away
Coral View Villas
Coral View Villas
#10 of 90 in Amed
326 reviews
1.5 km away
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Kabar Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Kabar Villas

Address: Desa Bunutan, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Amed
Price Range: $70 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apa Kabar Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ApaKabar Villas. Built in 1999 on a former rice paddy adjacent to the Bali Sea is owned by local native Wayan Menu and his friends Robby and Jim, Apa Kabar has grown and prospered into a stunning, boutique hotel.In 2015 a complete renovation was finished on the grounds, the cottages, a new restaurant and the addition of four ocean-front cottages. Our attentive family of staff members have become famous for their service and are always available for your needs.Apa Kabar is located on the tranquil, eastern coast of Bali, in the area known as Amed. Famous for outstanding diving, snorkeling, hiking and a relaxed ambiance, the area has amazing natural beauty and the people are warm and friendly. Apakabar Villas is an ideal location for those who wish to experience the "authentic" Bali, far away from the tourist crowds.The accommodations consist of 6 beautifully furnished, air-conditioned, one-bedroom cottages 4 of which contain a loft which includes two twin-sized futons along with a king size bed on the ground floor. All the rooms have beautiful, marble-tiled bathrooms and shower/baths. The rooms face the ocean, the beautiful swimming pool, rice paddies, or the tropical gardens on the property. There are also two two-bedroom villas located on the property. Each can be rented wholly or separated into one-bedroom units. And there is one 3 bedroom private house available.On site is our beautiful, open-air,restaurant offering a full-service menu of delicious local Balinese and Indonesian cuisine. Discover the culture, beauty and delightful people of Bali while enjoying a truly unique adventure on this magical island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apa Kabar Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Kabar Villas Hotel Amed
Apa Kabar Villas Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing