We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
73
21
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
21
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount agung rice fields the hotel offers balinese food beautiful place padang bai each morning nyoman clare volcano temple massage prayer nature ritual driver transport
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 107 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at GMV on 25/26th January 2012 after meeting Nyoman at his Organic Restaurant back on the main road a few weeks before and him telling us about the resort. We were stunner by the view and said we would come back. We did and we got married there on the 26th, well, we had a commitment ceremony in the gardens overlooking the rice fields. It was an amazing day, only 7 of us Wayan were very helpful, and looked after our 9 month old son while we had our meals.

We can't recommend this place highly enough, we had the place to ourselves when we stayed and and at night all you could see where the stars and the lights on the villages on Agung volcano. Go for Room 8, it's above room 7 ansd you get a 270 degree view across the fields to Agung. Magical.

Room Tip: Room 8 for the view, although the bathroom in room 7 below is better.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiceSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I've been several times in this beautiful place.
This place is still real Bali with rice fields , great view at mountain Agung and awesome friendly native Balinese people.
The place has special energy , special spirit
You must try it yourself
Thank you Nyoman & Wayan , I love your GMV :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YAROSLAV S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this remote spot in east Bali. A perfect place to relax but also a good starting point for all kinds of activities such as hiking in the surroundings and climbing mount Agung. We especially liked these tours because they are not very touristy and the temple on mount Agung was very tranquille. We were able to experience some of the rituals there, very special. Although we were not really interested, it is also possible to visit the more popular sites such as the temple Besakih and and lake Batur.
So the daytrips you can choose from are plenty, but it is very tempting to enjoy the beautiful garde and the stunning view of mount Agung and the surrounding ricefields. The bungalows, sprinkeled on the hillside are spacious and clean. A lot of attention is given to the maintenance of the place. We were very pleased with the hospitality of our hosts Nyoman and Wayan, they made sure we had everything we need. We took a cooking lesson with Wayan and learned the recipes of the delicious meals we ate, such as ikan pepes. The local way to prepare tuna. So thank you Nyoman and Wayan!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed for one night in late December, but would have happily stayed for two. The managers are helpful and friendly, the setting is stupendous, and the garden lovely. We came by motorbike, and having some kind of transport while there would make your stay more enjoyable - although we walked into the village and found a delightful path back through the forest. The cottages are overall pretty well maintained - simple but clean. Breakfast was the standard guesthouse in Bali options, and well-prepared. Dinner was too salty and the meat was tough. I'd suggest sticking with vegetarian or low meat options.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews