We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at all”

James Cook Sports Bar
Ranked #45 of 248 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$14
Cuisines: Indonesian, Australian
Description: The James Cook Sports Bar welcomes all lovers of sports, drink & food!
Restaurant details
Description: The James Cook Sports Bar welcomes all lovers of sports, drink & food!
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband went here because of good reviews on TripAdvisor, but it was total fail. We were alone in the restaurant, ordered one chicken Parmesan and pork dish. It took them around 40 minutes to make it! And everything tasted bad. Pork was dry and not chewy, chicken were fat and dry as well. As a sport bar you expect that tv will show some games, but it was showing soap serial without no sound. Boring!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank natalijab112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, Owner at James Cook Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Natalija. I am sorry that your recent visit with us was not what you expected. Our kitchen has been without a Head Chef for a short time, and maybe this has been reflected in your review of our bar. Having said that, this is no excuse as our kitchen works very hard to produce great food no matter what the circumstances.

I am happy to inform you that we have recently employed a new Head Chef and we are excited to have him work with us! He has many years experience cooking around the world and already has definite ideas for our kitchen, menu and staff. We are excited about the future direction of our kitchen. Should you choose to come back and give us another go, please let me know so I can meet with you personally.

Enjoy the remainder of your time in Bali,

Cheers,

Nikki
Owner
James Cook Sports Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff and management. Very quiet during day time but gets busier in the evenings with quiz nights, pool competitions, darts nights etc.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, Owner at James Cook Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your 5 star review Peter. We're really happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you got involved in some of the bar activities you mentioned. I will pass on your kinds words to our Team who work very hard to provide the friendly atmosphere you encountered recently.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Nikki
Owner
James Cook Sports Bra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

My family and I spent Australia Day 2018 at the James Cook Sports bar after a friend had recommended we go and we weren’t disappointed. The Australian owners welcomed everyone like they are friends and I observed them spending time talking to all of their patrons and making sure everyone was being catered and cared for. Their staff are friendly, polite and efficient and the food was fresh and delicious. Our kids were welcomed and activities were planned to ensure the whole family had fun. The highlight for me were the cocktails which were delicious and authentic. It is a great place to chill and meet new friends.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank monsierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, Owner at James Cook Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Wow what a day to come to an Aussie owned pub in Bali - Australia Day! But what good fun we had! We've very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves on such a busy day - but it was jammed packed with the BBQ, games, sport, music and family fun - so it would be hard not to have fun lol. We look forward to seeing you and your family back on our next big event lol!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

We discovered this cool sports bar early in our trip and spent a lot of time here. Watched the tennis, the cricket, etc, played darts and enjoyed delicious food and plenty of drinks at affordable prices. Took the kids a few times too - they're well looked after with a kids room to hang if they want. Very friendly atmosphere. Would definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, Owner at James Cook Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thanks so much for taking the tine tine to leave us such a wonder review Anna. Our staff work very hard to provide just the experience you described, so we will pass on your good words to them. We are happy to read that all of your family enjoyed their time with us, and we look forward tossing you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Great for watching sports, pool or darts.
The pub grub style food is delicious and affordable too... what more do you need?

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank eatnlove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki D, Owner at James Cook Sports Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review the James Cook Sports Bar and leave a fabulous 5 Stars! And we like your copy: "what more do you need?" Exactly: sports, drink & food - we have it all lol!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon,

Cheers,

Nikki
Owner
James Cook Sports Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Cook Sports Bar also viewed

Seminyak, Kuta District
Seminyak, Kuta District
 
Jimbaran, South Kuta
Denpasar, Bali
 
Tibubeneng, North Kuta
Legian, Kuta District
 

Been to James Cook Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing