We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
185
70
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
70
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truman home office building beautiful garden historic district truman library boutique hotel no window fish pond kansas city small hotel yogurt off street parking bowling alley coin laundry room was spotless common areas keurig coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 279 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed one night. The hotel couldn't have been nicer. The staff was extra nice. The room was big, beds comfortable and very clean. The decor was almost bed and breakfast. The hotel is across the street from the Truman home and within walking of the square. Breakfast was practically made to order as there were few guests and they didn't want to waste food. We highly recommend Higher Ground and will definitely stay there again if in Independence.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018

This was our second visit, and we were very happy to be back. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast area is very roomy and breakfast was always good. It was nice sitting in the beautiful garden area. It's a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

So Glad you decided to visit us again. It is so nice to see people return and reconize thier faces. We work hard to make sure our hotel is as clean as it can be and that our guests are comfortable. Our garden is in its fully glory right now. Happy you had time to enjoy it during your stay. Hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Outstanding hotel..clean, quiet, a well stocked library. Room was freshly painted; everything worked; bed was very comfortable; best of all they have a garden...just a perfect place to sit under the shade trees in the afternoon and enjoy the fountain and all the plants...this was a hotel for grown ups...no pool, but who needs it. Right across the street from the Truman home and walking distance from the Truman museum...lots of victorian style homes in the neighborhood...the breakfast was hot and good.... honestly this is one of the best little finds ever. Loved it.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Yellowwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. Our guests do enjoy our beautiful garden. The owners are gardeners that enjoy providing a special experiance for thier guests. It takes alot of work to maintain and it is so encourging to see our efforts enjoyed and appreciated.. We hope to see you again at Higher Ground Hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

I love this mom and pop place. Definitely an older building in the midst of the historical Truman walking tour neighborhood of Independence. Very close to all the Truman and historical sites. We were warmly welcomed. The room and bed were fantastic. I very much enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank misskitty20004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work hard to make sure our guests are comfortable. We hope to see you again at
Higher Ground Hotel....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Across the street from Truman Home. Next door to Noland house. Tree lined streets and Victorian mansions with a church on every block. Close to many attractions in Independence. Very peaceful for the most part. Nearby Truman Street is the fast route from the police station to wherever so there was an occasional siren. Not intrusive.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank persall2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moretajunehartman, Manager at Higher Ground Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

We appreciate your kind words and great description of our neighborhood. It is not a normal location for a hotel. We are right across the street from the Truman Home and next door to a Museum about his courtship with Bess, called the Noland House. We are walking distance to 9 restaurants and many shops. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews