We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Serene and relaxed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Serene and relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

It was nice to see this part of the island. The snorkeling on Menjangan island was amazing and well worth it. I would do it again. The room was clean and well serviced. Our room felt very private, even with others around. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwikel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    259
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
193
426
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent the Christmas holiday in Taman Sari. Although the hotel was nearly fully booked it never felt like it. The seaside setting is absolutely lovely and our "suite" was totally adequate. Yes, it is possible to get nicer rooms in Bali but I'm not sure you can get something on the seaside that is this tranquil. We stayed here with two kids of one and two years old and thanks to the spacious setup never felt concerned about our screaming kids disturbing other people looking for peace and quiet as we would be (and have been) in other more densely set up places.
The hotel is popular with agents working for European tour operators so you do get the odd group of people on a package tour but we never found this too disturbing.
This was not our first stay and we would probably go back here. The biggest drawback is the ever increasing transit time from the airport (currently around 4 hours) due to traffic becoming worse every year.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camiel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Taman Sari in north western Bali. The first time was 10 years ago and we went on recommendation from friends, we found it to be a stunning beachfront property and on most recent visit December 2011 our first impressions were met and outdone for our 2nd visit. The coral reef restoration spanning at least 400 metres along the beachfront and almost that far out into the sea is incredible to say the least. The snorkelling was sensational and viewing was like a Jacques Cousteau underwater documentary. 100's of species of fish and probably the same amount of different corals. It's certainly a credit to the founders of this project. The resort has grown and improved, the grounds are simply stunning with the majestic mountain range behind the resort framing the impressive grounds. The villas & suites have been maintained to a high level over the 10 years with them being large, clean, great aircon and beautifully furnished. The 3 bedroom villa that we initally had booked was not of the same standard, I believe that it may actually be owned by someone else and it was for sale, this may explain the lack of tiles in the bathrooms and poor furnishings, our dismay was quickly dispelled by the staff who promptly met our request to move into the resort grounds into a suite villa...we request to move went smoothly, efficiently and with plenty of smiles. The day trip out to Mengeran Island for snorkelling was sensational to say the least, the coral and fish life were mesmerising, the picnic lunch fun and the boat trip relaxing and extremly enjoyable. The 6 nights in Taman Sari was relaxing, enjoyable and topped with great service and great food, massages and everything else this stunning resort has to offer makes the 3 1/2 hour trip from the dirty, dusty southern regions a worthwhile adventure. This area is the Bali in all it's glory that made it the destination that it has become today, sadly the south of Bali has lost it's beauty & culture and has become crass, commercial and insanely busy. It's become a low rise Bangkok full of noise and pollution. You want to see why Bali got it's reputation 20 years ago as a "must see" and wondered why with all the Kuta stories you've heard? Go north, go east, see the "real Bali" you'll have your answer. Taman Sari is a jewell worth sharing.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the suites, i.e. Frog, Dolphin (2 rooms), Lotus for families or 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

After a hellish pace traipsing through Sulawesi, I nearly wept arriving at Bali Taman Sari. In a fit of frivolity I booked the Turtle Suite and we loved it: Huge Room, outdoor shower, private porch surrounded by a pond. Adjacent to the room is a large sitting bed with mosquito net for afternoon reading or relaxing.

The room has A/C and we did not find mosquitos a problem, though did use the bed mosquito net each night. The grounds are beautiful and laid out over a large area that offers priavcy for most guests.

The staff was friendly and helpful -- although a bit perfunctory about it.

The restaurant prices were a bit high -- we averaged $US25 for each meal for two. Breakfast was included in our booking price and more than adequate.

The only surprise were the amount of families with kids on the premises. For the most part not a nuisance but if you are looking for a "kid free" zone, this might not be it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlJini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Wow, what an amazing place. This had the best frontage of all hotels along the front. The food was great, as were the staff. This felt like the real Bali, worth making the trip from the south.

Room Tip: We had a garden suite which was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

bali dive academy offered me a special deal to dive lembongan and menjangan
and as i had a friend who wanted to snorkel with them
we decided to invest in a night at pemuteran (where the dive shop was) and booked a room via agoda (that was not the nice part)
we liked it so much there that we decided to stay another night
and we learnt that if you ask nicely at the front desk, you can get a discount
it was thus that our second night ended up costing us less and still came with breakfast
our room was comfortable and everything worked well
(there was a little problem with the hot water but they fixed it very quickly)
and though it was nothing particularly special, the food was pretty good and they were keen to accommodate my vegetarian diet
the beach itself was nothing to write home about so we didn't mind our cheaper room just because it was in the interior
instead we got a nice massage at the spa
which was well worth it
our stay at taman sari was a nice treat as we'd come from the villages where we were staying down by ubud
and we were happy that we could just hang around and wander around the resort for a couple of days
my friend seemed a bit disappointed by the coral reef conservation's results
probably because she'd been looking forward to it for so long
but we were still impressed by the project nonetheless
and even if diving/snorkeling the house reef wasn't particularly special
that i was able to get the wonderful staff from the dive shop to take me on a mac dive nearby the third morning
after a nice day at menjangan sites the second day
was the highlight for me

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selah, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My family and I spent three nights in the "Dolphin" cottage. It was perfectly lovely and large. We especially loved the terrace and fish pond. It is private and tranquil. We were not so thrilled about the beach and snorkeling opportunities. Presumably because of recent rains, the beach was littered with trash and the water was cloudy. While we are happy about efforts to re-introduce coral, the snorkeling was not great. And the price of diving at the resort was double the price of our diving adventure in Amed.
If you are looking for a snorkeling adventure, this is not the place. However, if you are looking for a place to relax and soak in peace and sun, we recommend the resort. I note that the resort was mostly populated by young adults and couples. Nonetheless, it still felt family-friendly. Our 12 year old loved the pool and massage.
The line staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, the female desk manager was not - a surprise, given that just about everybody in Bali treated us with kindness and respect.
Finally, the restaurant food is very good but a bit pricey for Bali. There are several warungs just a short walk from the resort that offer very good and inexpensive food. Unlike every other resort/hotel that we stayed at during our 3 week stay in Bali, this resort does not offer breakfast. For the price, it should.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
1.5 km away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.3 km away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#5 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
10.6 km away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.6 km away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa

Property: Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Address: Dusun Loka Segara, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taman Sari Bali Far removed from the busy Bali tourist centers, the unspoiled northwest offers a view into the uniqueness of Bali. Still undeveloped, with nature and marine parks preserving the area, one finds a grand expanse of coconut groves and beautiful ancient templesdotting the landscape. The magnificent volcanoes of Java are a perfect backdrop forspectacular sunrises and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Sari Bali Resort And Spa
Taman Sari Bali Hotel Pemuteran
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing