We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, but dirty beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service, but dirty beach”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Everything about this hotel was great except for two things. I'll start with the good, though. The staff was absolutely fabulous. They were training the weekend we were there, so there were lots of staff on hand, and everywhere you went everyone said hello with a smile. Everyone was very helpful. We had a standard room (cheapest) and it was relatively good value for money. The room was fine, bed was comfortable, bathroom was nice. We didn't spend much time in the room anyhow since there is plenty to do around Menjangan Island and Pemuteran (diving, snorkeling, hiking, etc). They have a restaurant right on the beach but the food is pretty average.

Now for the downsides:

1. The amount of trash on the beach and in the water was truly unimaginable. I can't believe that between all of the hotels in Pemuteran they can't spare a few staff each to do a huge beach cleanup a couple of times a day. We were there in the rainy season, which means a lot of trash from Indonesia is carried into West Bali. But that doesn't mean it should just be left there in the water. We spent a lot of our time there just picking up plastic. We even found a hypodermic needle in the sand.

2. The hotel offered wifi for $6 per hour. To me, this is ridiculous. I have been living in Bali and know that wifi is readily available (for free) nearly everywhere you go. To pay $6 per hour is just outrageous. Even though this hotel was very nice, I wouldn't go back just because they don't offer free wifi. For those of us who sometimes have to bring our work along on holiday with us, we can't afford to be in a place that doesn't allow us to use our computer.

Other than those two things, it was a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rtobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    284
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
216
475
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent five wonderful nights here. It is perhaps the first hotel in Pemuteran and is very nicely and warmly run. Our suite was close to the beach and the restaurant, with a stream and moat around it. The vlilla has a Balinese outside bathroom, with the shower having bright yellow flowers around it. There are two day beds and a romantic four post king bed. The restaurant, including breakfast, was very friendly and the food generally good. They have Illy coffee. The spa is very good, with very competent Balinese massages for 150,000 rpa. Right next to the snorkelling reef. Very relaxing and not far from other places to eat. Staff very helpful. Certainly, we would stay there again, as opposed for example to Matahari which is souless and far from anywhere else. A very good dive centre next door that takes you to the island, a must-do.

Room Tip: Near the beach is great. We stayed in Frog
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

If you are a serious snorkeler you should definitely come to Pemuteran to go to Menjagan Island. We spent several nights at Taman Sari and thought it was the nicest place on the beach. We stayed in the Gekko Suite, which was delightful. Beautiful views from the terrace on the second floor and lovely outdoor bathroom. The best was quite clean and the water was clear while we were there. There is a pretty small resort so it was not at all crowded. Dining on the beach is quite nice although we thought the dinner food was mediocre. Breakfast was much better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

It was nice to see this part of the island. The snorkeling on Menjangan island was amazing and well worth it. I would do it again. The room was clean and well serviced. Our room felt very private, even with others around. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwikel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent the Christmas holiday in Taman Sari. Although the hotel was nearly fully booked it never felt like it. The seaside setting is absolutely lovely and our "suite" was totally adequate. Yes, it is possible to get nicer rooms in Bali but I'm not sure you can get something on the seaside that is this tranquil. We stayed here with two kids of one and two years old and thanks to the spacious setup never felt concerned about our screaming kids disturbing other people looking for peace and quiet as we would be (and have been) in other more densely set up places.
The hotel is popular with agents working for European tour operators so you do get the odd group of people on a package tour but we never found this too disturbing.
This was not our first stay and we would probably go back here. The biggest drawback is the ever increasing transit time from the airport (currently around 4 hours) due to traffic becoming worse every year.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camiel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Taman Sari in north western Bali. The first time was 10 years ago and we went on recommendation from friends, we found it to be a stunning beachfront property and on most recent visit December 2011 our first impressions were met and outdone for our 2nd visit. The coral reef restoration spanning at least 400 metres along the beachfront and almost that far out into the sea is incredible to say the least. The snorkelling was sensational and viewing was like a Jacques Cousteau underwater documentary. 100's of species of fish and probably the same amount of different corals. It's certainly a credit to the founders of this project. The resort has grown and improved, the grounds are simply stunning with the majestic mountain range behind the resort framing the impressive grounds. The villas & suites have been maintained to a high level over the 10 years with them being large, clean, great aircon and beautifully furnished. The 3 bedroom villa that we initally had booked was not of the same standard, I believe that it may actually be owned by someone else and it was for sale, this may explain the lack of tiles in the bathrooms and poor furnishings, our dismay was quickly dispelled by the staff who promptly met our request to move into the resort grounds into a suite villa...we request to move went smoothly, efficiently and with plenty of smiles. The day trip out to Mengeran Island for snorkelling was sensational to say the least, the coral and fish life were mesmerising, the picnic lunch fun and the boat trip relaxing and extremly enjoyable. The 6 nights in Taman Sari was relaxing, enjoyable and topped with great service and great food, massages and everything else this stunning resort has to offer makes the 3 1/2 hour trip from the dirty, dusty southern regions a worthwhile adventure. This area is the Bali in all it's glory that made it the destination that it has become today, sadly the south of Bali has lost it's beauty & culture and has become crass, commercial and insanely busy. It's become a low rise Bangkok full of noise and pollution. You want to see why Bali got it's reputation 20 years ago as a "must see" and wondered why with all the Kuta stories you've heard? Go north, go east, see the "real Bali" you'll have your answer. Taman Sari is a jewell worth sharing.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the suites, i.e. Frog, Dolphin (2 rooms), Lotus for families or 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

After a hellish pace traipsing through Sulawesi, I nearly wept arriving at Bali Taman Sari. In a fit of frivolity I booked the Turtle Suite and we loved it: Huge Room, outdoor shower, private porch surrounded by a pond. Adjacent to the room is a large sitting bed with mosquito net for afternoon reading or relaxing.

The room has A/C and we did not find mosquitos a problem, though did use the bed mosquito net each night. The grounds are beautiful and laid out over a large area that offers priavcy for most guests.

The staff was friendly and helpful -- although a bit perfunctory about it.

The restaurant prices were a bit high -- we averaged $US25 for each meal for two. Breakfast was included in our booking price and more than adequate.

The only surprise were the amount of families with kids on the premises. For the most part not a nuisance but if you are looking for a "kid free" zone, this might not be it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlJini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.7 km away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
1.3 km away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
82 reviews
1.5 km away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
260 reviews
0.4 km away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#5 of 10 in Pemuteran
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa

Property: Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Address: Dusun Loka Segara, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#2 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taman Sari Bali Far removed from the busy Bali tourist centers, the unspoiled northwest offers a view into the uniqueness of Bali. Still undeveloped, with nature and marine parks preserving the area, one finds a grand expanse of coconut groves and beautiful ancient templesdotting the landscape. The magnificent volcanoes of Java are a perfect backdrop forspectacular sunrises and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Sari Bali Resort And Spa
Taman Sari Bali Hotel Pemuteran
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing