We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taksu Holiday Club
Nearby Hotels
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarta Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Taman Sari(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soori Bali(Tabanan)
US$605
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WakaGangga(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$147
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Moksha Boutique Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Istana Balian(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$18
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
6
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
3
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 22 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We were picked up at the airport by the driver the hotel arranged upon my request. He was on time and spoke reasonably good English. We were really surprised by the driving style in Bali. Prepare for a white knuckle ride! We stopped at a grocery store on the way for extra beverages, water and snacks. The hotel is down a dirt road about a twenty minute walk from a typical Balinese village. Not touristy at all, just real, friendly locals going about their lives to those who travel to see the local culture it did the job. The resort is lovely with great landscaping and a rustic yet refined charm. Try to request an ocean front villa otherwise you may face the back of another villa. We were on the ocean and the view was gorgeous! Small villa with a limited kitchen but doable. Beds were fine as were the linens and the bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Don't leave any food out on the counters unsealed (you are in the tropics after all) tiny ants will appear to steal your crumbs. We enjoyed this place very much and were traveling with a 11/2 year old and a teen. The hotel is surrounded by rice paddies and the biggest waves I've ever seen (at least when we were there). We walked the beach and collected surprisingly great shells. My husband and stepson body surfed and had a blast but got kind of beat up by the waves. The sunsets were stunning and the pool was perfect. It's a small property but I found it convenient to be close to everything at the hotel. It wasn't sterile feeling like a big resort. The manager Gusti works hard to fulfill your needs, he spoke to us every single day to inquire about our stay and how he could help make it as comfortable as possible. My baby girl was sad to say goodbye to him as he carried her all over and was so sweet to her. The Balinese LOVE children! The restaurant was good enough but not amazing. We had massages in our villa everyday that the hotel set up for us. Very good for around $16 US for an hour. We visited a local orphanage, a happy and special experience. We had a meal at the weekly market in the village with small food vendors serving delicious local food off of carts. None of us got sick and I always get sick when we travel. I went to a yoga class in the village and I was the only non-local and they were welcoming and happy to have me. Please please do your research before choosing to come to this place. Apparently many people arrive without knowing how remote it is and get very upset and take it out on the kind staff. This breaks my heart. If you want a disco or a mall, please stay in Kuta. If you want the beauty and tranquility of "old Bali" come here. I would not recommend more than three or four nights as you might get bored after doing all there is to do that is unless you just want to completely unplug and read or be with your partner without distractions. We went to Ubud for three nights after four nights at Taksu and thought it was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2010

While our stay at Taksu was pleasant, it was definitely not what we were expected. We pre-booked through a timeshare, and frankly it wasn't worth the money. Although we were given a large cottage, we opted to move to a much smaller one because it had a patio overlooking the ocean. This proved to be an excellent decision as it was more private and we spent almost the whole time relaxing in the shade of our patio. The accommodations were basic and neat. However, the bed linens smelled musty. The bathrooms were barely tolerable.

The pool is nice, but because of the cramped layout and very few guests, we felt like we were in a fishbowl. All the staff and other guests watching each other. It was difficult to get used to. And the surf was very rough on the beach.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is VERY far from anything else. Because of this, we had to rent a driver for a day, which was expensive. However, our driver was great and we had an amazing day driving around Bali.

Also, because you are so far, you basically have to eat at the hotel restaurant. The food was fine but extremely expensive!! It was close to $4 for a cup of tea!! We're lucky we brought some food...there are no other options for dinner!

Overall, we had a nice stay, but we were both relieved that it only lasted four nights. It was just not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punda92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2010

If you're looking for nightlife, music or anything implicated in hustling and bustling about, this is not the place for you. This place is 100% tranquility and was by far the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. Rooms were unbelievable, staff was great, beautiful pool and still not that far from things if you're interested in getting a good dose of culture. We booked our holiday with DCB Travel Deals (www.dcbtraveldeals.ca) and got an amazing price also. Anyone looking for a relaxing and rejuvenating vacation, visit Taksu Holiday Club.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Myself and three girlfriends stayed in Impian in Seminyak and Taksu on Soka beach. Both owned by the same people. Both were beautiful and very well designed. At Impian the swimming pool in our living room was a definite highlight. It was very easy to access town and the woman looking after us- Ai, was lovely and very helpful. The beach in Seminyak was nice and good food around these areas.
Taksu was very secluded and relaxing. We rented scooters and went up and down the beach during sunset watching the fisherman. Our day trips included visiting waterfalls, temples and water rafting. The driver was extremely helpful and spoke very good english and took us wherever we wanted to go.
Overall, we had a fabulous holiday and would definitely go back and it will not be long before we return again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2010

So there are many sides to Bali, there is night lifte, outdoor adeventure, and relaxation. Taksu is without a doubt a place to go in Bali to get away from it all. We arrived on Saturday and stayed at Taksu for our first four nights in Bali. Yes, it is FAR (1.5 hours) away from anything and everything, but it allowed for an amazing ability to truly disconnect.
We arrived about 8pm in DPS and the drive to Taksu was approx 1.5 hours, the resort provided transportation. (Remember you will need 25 USD to get into the country if you are doing a VOA - we were coming from another country and did not have enough cash - they let us out to use the ATM, but it was a bit of a hassle). We asked to stop at the grocery store along the way to pick up provisions. I would highly recommend doing this - just for the essentials - there are no grocery stores near the resort.
I traveled with my sister and two friends, all in their mid 30's to early 40's, and while we did spend a day or two exploring Bali from Taksu that involved lengthy car rides - the time we spent at Taksu was completely rejuvinating. There are absolutely no locals on the beach trying to sell you their goods - just the occassional local family playing in the surf and fishing.
The service here was amazing. The kitchen closes at 9pm and one day we arrived back around 8:45 and they were waiting for us, and happily served us dinner (not rushed and/or angry we were late). The rooms are perfectly adequate for what is needed if you are truly trying to get away. There is no internet, there is no cable TV. Our room did not have a kitchen - just a sink and an electric teapot and small fridge which was a little challenging, but we quickly adapted. The resort provided transportation (a la scooter) to a local yoga resort that had wifi access (I will say that you might want to emphasize that you would like to be picked back up!)
In the area - just a quick 15-20 minute drive west is a local surfer beach and hotel where they have more of a drink selection and restaurant. About 40 minutes east is a hindu temple that you can visit.
We arranged for transporation for a day (approx $70 for a full day I think it ended up being nearly 15 hours) and we went rafting, shopping in Ubud, watched the local Balinese dance - the Boranga - and got some provisions at Hardy's.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oregondux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews