We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitulgala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kitulgala
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We didn't know what to expect with this hotel as our driver booked for us and he had never been there. We were pleasantly surprised. We went straight down to have lunch and it was a nice buffet. The restaurant overlooked the river and we were able to watch as river rafters finished their journey. It was nice and open. After lunch we were shown to our room and again we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very big and open. It accommodated our family of four just fine. The only complaint I would have is the lack of toiletries. We had no shampoo or soap. The staff was helpful and kind. Also, the following day when we went to shower they had absolutely no hot water. Not sure if that was due to common shower time but the day before we all had a nice hot shower. It wasn't freezing cold but just to be warned.

Room Tip: We didn't use the fitness center (I don't think they had one) or the room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    36
    33
    17
    17
See reviews for
36
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The mnagement of this hotel lets it down. The greeting was good - fresh juice on arrival and the room was magnificent, but the bathroom was smelly especially when others used their bathrooms the smell came up the drain!
After 5pm all the sensible staff appear to go home and leeave it to a bunch of lads. The bar is poorly stocked and the dirty menu offered so many dishes that you wonder how they can produce such variety hygenically. Although we ordered breakfast for 6-45am on our last day (said that breakfast started at 6.30am) no one was around. Eventually they were got out of bed by the chef who made tea and cooked some toast - one knife, no plates.
I tried to pay the bar bill the night before leaving and the staff tried to charge me for the room as well, they have a very poor command of English. However in the morning we found out that the staff had all been drunk the night before and tried to break down the door of our driver's room.

Room Tip: If you must go to this hotel, eensure rooms that look over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeinthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kitulgala hotels

Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Nature is great, hotel is not. Its run down, staff not trained well (but are nice and smiling which doesn't solve anything though).
The overnight guests are not their priority, as they cater for lunches and water rafting companies.
We were put in the roadside rooms, noisy and no possibilities to open window, not even thinking of having sitting area, terrace or anything. Ancient noisy AC, and you need to use chair to reach the regulation. Nothing is properly working and the towels are dirty.
Not good food for dinner (but maybe they do better job for the buffet lunches).
So stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The hotel is like an old word bungalow with a fabulous location overlooking the river. However, the one reason I would not currently recommend this hotel is for its poor service. It is the basic amenities that let you down - poor plumbing ( flushes not irking, showers not working, no hot water etc.). The food though is very very delicious. The service is very very slow if not non existent. The staff however is always smiling but I assume there is a major communication issue as they are not well versed in english. This is one hotel that I truly wish would come upto standard and I would surely recommend it again. Till then, great for a night if you have loads of patience...lovely rooms and fab views cannot make a holiday complete..service needs to be good too..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radz_radia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located near the white water rafting. There are 2-3 companies that providing rafting services that we within walking distance to the hotel. The hotel has beautifully landscaped providing a very natural garden environment. The staff is friendly but the meals and bar service is limited. The best value is to request a full board rate. This is not a very large facility so be sure to call ahead to insure availability.

Room Tip: Rafting is a must do - rates are negotiable but generally range from Rs. 1000 - 1500 per person. Ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soniasrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Plantation Hotel is a delightful place for a stopover.
One of the main attractions in Kitulgala is whitewater rafting, which is why we returned there after a previous visit a few years back.
The room, a triple room, we stayed in was spacious and nice with an outdoor terrace area. The hotel's restaurants have good food and overlook the river and there is a garden area and swimming pool right next to the river. It's a tranquil, relaxing spot. I would have been happy to stay longer. The only drawback, for one member of our party, was that the internet and wifi service were down. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is highly recommended. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here one night with the intention of going rafting in the morning, but it rained all night causing the river to rise and our rafting to be cancelled. It does look like a good spot for rafting and there were a number of rafting/adventure companies nearby (cut/paste N 06 59.556 E 080 25.070 into Google Earth to see where it is). When we arrived there was a large noisy wedding going on in the restaurant, but it was all over by about 7pm, with only a couple of other guests staying the night. Complimentary accommodation is available for your driver if you have one. The hotel has a strange layout, with some new and old parts to it, I guess explaining the differences in opinions here. Our room was a very clean, modern, newly decorated suite with a large balcony overlooking the river (the rooms facing the river seem to be the best). It had a flat screen TV with satellite channels, but note that there was no internet available anywhere in the hotel (or nearby) during our visit. There’s a small pool and a couple of sun beds next to the river, but beware of the voracious mosquitoes here (and on the balcony) around sundown. Despite having catered for the 200 wedding guests the chef was only too happy to make us a tasty salad with some avocados we’d bought beside the road, along with quite a good a-la-carte dinner (which was included in the room rate). There don’t appear to be any other dining options within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 330driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitulgala hotels
0.0 km away
Royal River Resort
Royal River Resort
#1 of 2 in Kitulgala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 km away
Kithulgala Rest House
Kithulgala Rest House
#5 of 6 in Kitulgala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 km away
Rafters Retreat
Rafters Retreat
#2 of 10 in Kitulgala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 6 in Kitulgala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 km away
Paradise Garden Resort
Paradise Garden Resort
#4 of 6 in Kitulgala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Breetas Garden
Hotel Breetas Garden
#2 of 6 in Kitulgala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hotel

Property: Plantation Hotel
Address: 250 Kalukohutenna, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kitulgala
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing