We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Borderlands(Kitulgala)
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rafters Retreat(Kitulgala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Forest Edge(Kitulgala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
5
47
38
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
47
38
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolls roycesvintage car museumfried ricewater raftingset menuriver viewporschecadillacjaguarrainforestjourneyriverside
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 128 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Firstly this review is for the restaurant since i didn't find any separate page for it . The location of the restaurant is fantastic - located just next to the river amidst trees , the setting becomes even more impressive when it rains . it feels one is sitting inside a forest and dining . Also there is a Rolls Royce museum which comes in handy for clicking a nice set of pics to make the visit memorable .

We came here for a late lunch on the way to Colombo from Nuwara Eliya . We were also interested in rafting but the river was too tame for our taste . We ordered a banana milk shake , veg noodles , fried rice and grilled pepper chicken steak . The order took an unusually long time to arrive . the food was also average , nothing outstanding . There was a buffet but we decided to skip that.

Overall , i think its a restaurant in a fantastic setting which is let down by the mediocre food .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sayantag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2016

The restaurant was very well located at the end of our river rafting path and it had an amazing view facing the river.
Coming out hungry and tired from the river rafting we were made to wait 1hr just to get our plain cheese sandwich. They kept promising us the food will be ready in 5 minutes which dragged on to an hour.

Food was average and definitely not worth the wait.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2016

Near by the river bank and pool is in nice location and delicious food and attache to the Royal River Resort which is 6 km in wild , very calm "n quiet consisting only 4 beautiful rooms open to the marvel environment and greenish outer appearance. Main Kitchen Chef's name is Sanath is cooking oh!!! What a food i had in this hotel Oh !
It's amazing sound making from water flows in the river near by...and consisting natural pool also to fascinate..

Room Tip: all 4 room are very very nice and get different type of feelings..
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thakshila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for one night as part of an organised tour of Sri Lanka. It was one of the more basic hotels we stayed at. The best thing about this hotel was the location right on the river. This hotel has a lot of potential. We were in a tour group and the group had a variety of rooms. The better rooms were overlooking the river and have a shared balcony (rooms 9,10 & 11). Our room near the reception was somewhere in the middle in terms of the standard of the rooms at this hotel. We had view of a wall but this meant that the room was quiet. The close proximity to reception meant that Wi-fi could be accessed within the room (which it couldn’t in some of the rooms further away from reception). If this is something that is important to you it would be worth requesting a room near the reception desk. The bed was comfortable. There was a fridge in the room a little rusty around the edges) but no tea/coffee making facilities or hairdryer. In some of the hotels we stayed in if there was not a hairdryer in the room there was one available to loan from reception, although this was not the case here. The TV in the room was a very old model and was not working (which was not too much of a problem for us but may be if being able to watch TV is important to you). There were also a couple of dogs wandering around the hotel which did not bother us but may bother some people. The bed was comfortable but the bathroom wasn’t. The bathroom was large and in a poor state of repair. It was very outdated, was not particularly clean and was not well maintained- the head of the shower head popped off. Be careful as the water can come out scalding hot- without any warnings. We did not eat lunch but did have dinner and breakfast. The choice for both was fairly limited. The meals were definitely overpriced for what you received. There is a collection of classic cars on site and more could be made of this aspect of the hotel. There is a pool. Whilst we were there we walked around the local area. If going into the more densely vegetated areas just be aware that there are some leeches. Overall, if you are planning to go white water rafting and looking for a convenient hotel this hotel would possibly be worth considering. If you have a choice try and book one of the rooms with balcony. Some areas if the hotel may be more difficult to access for anyone with reduced mobility and some areas were poorly lit and difficult to negotiate in the dark. If you are not in the area for another reason such as rafting or needing somewhere to stay in this area you could give this hotel a miss. Unfortunately we would not be in a hurry to go back will probably not stay here again or recommend it to family/friends.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2016

It's hard to add too much to previous reviews which as a whole do a decent job in describing this property. Just to reinforce, make sure you get room 9, 10, or 11 for the large size, shared balcony and great view overlooking the river. Refrigerators are a nice feature at this hotel at least at those rooms. Lunch buffet is ok but overpriced. Yes, lunch time can attract crowds with returning river rafters. Other meals passable. And, yes, free internet in lobby area.

Room Tip: Rooms 9, 10, 11 are best.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterginsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews