We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world charm needs a serious makeover”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 5 August 2017

This hotel has all the potential to be great but sadly is not. Beautiful timber ceilings, wide hallways and period furniture and fixtures throughout don't detract from the distinct feeling that it is tired and needs a major overhaul particularly to freshen the look to make it clean. The appalling bathroom and meagre poor quality towels and linens in particular need attention.

Our room was very spacious but cold. There was an open fire place which our driver said staff could light a fire in but when we enquired we were told there was no wood. Instead they provided a very inefficient fan heater which hardly blew out any hot air and unbelievably tried to charge us 1760 R upon checkout for the use of the heater!

We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel based on the poor TA reviews. Breakfast was fine - small plate of fruit, eggs any style and toast and jam, although we had the same badly stained tablecloth both mornings.

The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor and the water just ran into a cavity under the vanity and sat there stagnating and mould was all over the walls but at least the water was hot.

The young male staff were friendly and polite, however the middle aged man who appeared to be the manager was surly and slovenly dressed. Wifi very poor in room - had to keep on going into hallway to reconnect.

Would I stay here again - no.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tuck33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Nice place, stylish furniture with fire place. (Had to pay 1000 rupies for firewood) but OK.
Dirty bed and poor take away breakfast. Two small sandwiches and egg. I would not retirn. What a pity for such a nice place.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

On the positive side... This place definitely has a very strong whiff of colonial history. It's an interesting old building, which we were told was once the Governor's home. It has been kept intact, including the original furniture, and has quite an ambience. The room staff were very sweet, the bed linens and rooms were clean, and the breakfast tasty.

On the "could use improvement" side... With a little love, this could be a great place, but it had a strangely abandoned feel — few guests, fewer staff.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank carolcR4463QK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

As we alighted our vehicle after a long and winding days travel from Kandy, we were too exhausted to read the obvious sign from the gods of a small dead snake at the bottom of the stairs to this rather impressive structure. Little did we know that behind this buildings historic and charming colonial facade lay the weary ghosts of a thousand bummed off fox hunters, pith helmets all waving in fury, at their lack of changed bed linen and musty towels for the last two hundred years. And if you own a pith helmet, you too will be waving it in unison with these ghosts who join you while you lay sleepless under your musty sheets, searching longingly out the mouldy window for the first hint of morning light so that you may leave this place of drab misery, never to return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pgservage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Very promising place at the first glance - apparently a former old colonial house, located in a nice place.... but managed quite poorly. Dirty linen, cold rooms in the night and very poor sound-proof between the rooms. Did not find any other guests during the high period, had a breakfast alone - probably, an obvious evidence.
The only positive aspect was the real open fire in the room, prepared with the staff's assistance just for 600 rupees.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Dirty bed linen,dirty towels, no plug for the sink. Being over 6,000 ft up it is naturally cold at night. We were promised a fire. All we got were ashes in the grate. We were so cold throughout the night. Waited forty minutes for soup in our evening meal which was inedible when it arrived. I spoke to the manager the next morning who spoke good English and explained our dissatisfaction. He then retired to the kitchen and brought out this young girl who just kept giggling. He informed me she was the laundry girl and asked me to show her our room and explain my disappointment concerning the condition of the room's linen to her. I duly did this realizing the whole thing was an act. " I'm not going to pay her a day's wages" the manager shouted. The laundry girl just kept laughing. What a complete farce. Naturally , we checked out early as did two other Dutch couples who had experienced the same treatment.
The hotel is a disgrace and stay here at your pearl.

Room Tip: Don't go !!!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheGlazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We were forced to stay here as part of a package we were scammed into at Colombo Fort Railway station (please see my other post about this). On arrival at 3pm, bearing in mind we booked the tour days ago so they knew we were coming and when, we were told to sit in the lounge as the room wasn't ready. We had to sit here for about an hour with no offer of refreshment. We found a 'bar' which only offered warm Coca Cola. We ordered a tea and were expecting lovely local tea but were given Liptons.

No towels in the room and when requested came damp. As room (which was admittedly quite nice as was the building as a whole) was cold we asked for blankets which came wet!! Requested another one which came with holes.

We wanted to go out for dinner. The rain was hammering down so we asked the owner to call us a tuk tuk but he said repeatedly that we had to walk 100 metres down the road in the rain to the tuk tuk stand. As we hurried past the Alpine next door, an ordered tuk tuk sailed past (perhaps stay there!)

Breakfast was unimaginative. The owner wanted to charge us 1500 rupees to check out late.

Do not stay here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.1 km away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
87 reviews
0.6 km away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
253 reviews
1.5 km away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#8 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#23 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
163 reviews
2.5 km away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
2.6 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing