We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with amazing view”
Review of Mount View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount View Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Rooms are very comfortable and friendly staff. They have resultant there and we had good breakfast and dinner. They help us to manage our tour also. Specially room has great view of Nuwara eliya mountain.

Room Tip: Beautiful balcony View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hasith_Amarakoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

It was such a pleasant stay here. All the staff were so lovely and attentive. It was really nice to be presented with such great customer service. This is definitely a gorgeous boutique hotel.
We loved staying here so much that we extended our stay.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lilianmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelparadise, General Manager at Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

many thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

A friend visited to meet us and while he was leaving back they had closed the main door of the cottage and receptionist had slept. When we woke him up to open the door he started asking 100 questions to my friend who are you and why are you here (Most Imp - The receptionist was Drunk) his tone was very rude towards us and our friend too and started asking our friend to show is Identity proof. During questions and answers between us, don't for what reason he started threatening us. "We are big shots and you cannot do anything to us so you better be careful" this shows the hospitality of the Hotel staff towards the guests of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirti677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

It was like a 2 star hotel. The tv cable box was not working and the wifi reception in the room was poor. Had to come up to the lobby to surf net. There was no phone in the room therefore had to walk up to reception to report about tv to owner numerious times. Not a value for money hotel.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank rsuguna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

I went with my family for two nights. Management has had changed and new manager Roshan is supper cool and professional. Breakfast improved and have different choices. They have changed the bed linen and the pillows and on the process of changing the hot water system. Rest of the team also very caring. Pricing also reasonable. Can recommend for any one want to have hotel with peace and Calm area still near to the town.

Room Tip: Family rooms are much larger and has a better View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Devapriyaliyanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Not at all good. The room is big but the facilities in there are just horrible. The Balcony door doesn't lock, the cupboard provided in the room never shuts we need to use paper to close the cupboard door. The Bathroom handle was broken and hurt every time we open from inside.. There was no latch to the main room door.. We had to use the key provided to lock the door from inside (anyone with a spare key can open the door from outside) Basic amenities such coffee, tea bags and kettle was not provided in the room. We had to ask for it. Not even a single water bottle was kept in the room. And we were a family of three.. There was no Telephone (intercom) so as to call the reception or the room service. Every time we wanted something we had to walk all the way up to the reception.. Being in such a cold place no drinking water bottle, no kettle and walking up to the reception every time we wanted something Horrible service..

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Prashasti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only in order to go to world's end. Other than to sleep in the bed we didn't do anything else. The bed was too soft and we asked for extra blankets but the staff were really helpful and for £14 a night you can't complain. And the local friendly doctor who has been staying there for the past two months was lovely also!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kerrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0 km away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
10 reviews
0.6 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
232 reviews
2.3 km away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#24 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
2 km away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
261 reviews
1.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel

Address: St Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $34 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warmly welcome to mount view Hotel. We are proud to say our hotel is located in the border of highest mountain in Sri Lanka. Nuwara-Eliya is more about cooler climate relaxing getaway from the busy hectic hotter Colombo life or any other busy life Sri Lanka cities. Specially things to see: beautiful greenery hills, fresh vegetable farms, dairy farms, delicious fruits and beautiful flowers, most of tea plantations. You can choose best of the hotel accommodations and cuisines, and many detours to find some history. Enjoy and relax panoramic view of hill country valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing