We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galway Forest Lodge
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This is a lovely small facility nestled in tea plantations of Nuwara Eliya. You really get a whiff of the freshest possible air when you open your large windows. Its away from the city but not by much and you enjoy it because it makes it so serene. I went at year end so price was higher otherwise its decently priced. Rooms are pretty big but no coffee maker is there. Otherwise a clean property with good, respectful staff. restaurant has a good Non-veg buffet at a very small price,though vegetarian food is scarce. you will adore a walk around the lodge with nice scenery and waterfalls visible. All in all a little paradiseat a fair price.
Amitabh

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldoc009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for a night in December 2010 at this hotel:

What we liked:
Clean room with fresh linen
Nice food

What we did not like:
No room heater provided upon several requests, finally when we called up for the nth time, they told us that they had problems with the heaters (would have excused if this was not a hill station and not winter)
Service was poor at the restaurant
Poor TV signal reception (when asked they mentioned it was due to the inclement weather when it was not even raining & no thunderstorms as well !)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjtech81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Part of our 7 days trip in Sri Lanka, we stayed in the Galway forest Lodge for one night. This hotel is located outside of Nuwara Eliya. The room was spacious and clean.
The dinner and breakfast were awesome. The food was very good and the waiters were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

On our 12-day trip over the island we also came to Nuwara Eliya and stayed in the Galway Forest Lodge. It is located a bit outside but as the weather was really miserable we did not spend much time in the city.
We stayed only one night and it was OK.
The room was fine and we slept very well.
For dinner there was a buffet and also some live music. It was a bit crowded because of some tourist groups.
Food was OK as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuSuSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

located a little away from the very pretty nuwara eliya town. a nice luxury abode. cosy rooms with good facilities and restaurant. nice options in the buffet spread in dinner and breakfast. have a good view of the vegetable gardens.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank alawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We came to this hotel very frustrated and tired after a very long trip but as soon as we entered the hotel we were met with smiles ,tea and warm towels which we really needed at that moment. The staff there are really helpful and very good listeners to all your needs. We booked the hotel for 5 nights but felt so much at home that we extended our stay by an other two nights! The hotel is a bit out of the city but that did not bother us as we were self driving.
The food there is very good .(No wonder since the chef have won an award for his skills.)
In the evening during dinner the people are entertained by a live band. Very good band playing people's favorite songs.For after dinner there is a bar and lounge were you can either chill out or socialize with other people.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Nuwrwa Eliya is stunning in its scenery and gardens are beautiful.Our stay there was a memorable one .We made lots of friends there and would certainly return if I have the chance!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hotel is located a bit outside Nuwara Eliya town. Rooms are average, although quite clean. Not much of a view from the hotel of surroundings.
Food was quite tasty, although the staff was a bit fussy.
On Arrival, they give you nice warm towels and serve hot tea as welcome drink. Overall I felt it is good package tour oriented hotel, but not much for individual traveller

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godbolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
3.6 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
1.6 km away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#24 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
167 reviews
1.6 km away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#8 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
41 reviews
0.9 km away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
107 reviews
2 km away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Forest Lodge

Address: 89 Upper Lake Road, Havelook Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $125 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galway Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Galway Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Forest Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing