We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,512)
Filter reviews
2,512 results
Traveller rating
939
916
421
154
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
916
421
154
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea indian restaurant magnolia restaurant sri lanka grand thai tea room old world charm golf course snooker room public rooms breakfast buffet is lobby area main restaurant colonial style colonial times common areas colonial feel
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 2,512 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2017

Comfortable good sized rooms, the atmosphere is very colonial style and amazing.The breakfast buffet was good. Also enjoyed their Thai food restaurant. However my only problem was there was no wifi in rooms. With their location you can just stroll into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel, Nuwara Eliya for your recent travel,
We are delighted to know you had a wonderful stay, enjoying our breakfast buffet and Thai restaurant.
Thank you for your kind words and generous 4 stars.
I would like to let you know that wifi is available throughout the hotel now.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka,

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

Amazing hospitality great location
Great staff
Colonial at its best
If you need to experience true srilankan hospitality, please stop by even for a meal.
Great massage too
Just enjoy your time walking around the hotel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kumari k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel, Nuwara Eliya.

We are overwhelmed with your particular way in which you make it a point to write and share your experience and appreciation about our hotel, overall facilities, quality of service and our jewel, the staff,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.

Thank you for your loyalty to our property, and we look forward to being of service to you once again.

Best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We were supposed to arrive at the Grand for dinner. However the bus that we were supposed to travel broke down and we got delayed. When we reached Grand hotel it was way past the buffet time and yet at 11:45 they had the buffet waiting for us with fresh food. Since that wow experience, our stay has been amazing...... Thanks to Tyrone and his team..from Chinthana,Luckshman,Attanayake,Viraj & Duminda for simply delighting us...

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for the glowing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay,
Thank you for your recognition on our dedicated teams. Our associate is our biggest treasure and I am glad to hear that they lived up to your high expectations. I will make sure the team hears about this. Your comment is, without a doubt, our great source of encouragement and inspiration to drive what we are doing every day.
It's our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

Our group ate here three times during our stay in this town called Little England.

The High Tea here is not only delicious but superb value at around £6.50 and served in colonial surroundings with charming waiters.

The hotel offers various restaurants. We tried the Indian and the Thai and were impressed by both for quality, service and value.

I would have really like to have stayed here too!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DSA402621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback, we are delighted you had enjoyed the High Tea, Indian and Thai restaurants.
We strive to personalize every guest experience and I am so glad that this came across during your visit.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and spend a few days with us, so that you can explore many attractions and features in Nuwara Eliya.
We look forward to see you soon,

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

I had a lovely experience at the Grand Hotel! the style of the hotel was unique and something I haven't seen before! The service was great and the food was tasty. I will recommend to anyone who wants to go to Sri Lanka to stay here!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Grand hotel, Nuwara Eliiya and we appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had wonderful stay with us and that our associates were able to make your stay comfortable.
Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I am delighted to learn that my team was able to leave a positive impression on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews