We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Service, Variable Quality Accomodation”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017

A splendid looking colonial era building close to the centre of Nuriwa Elia. The public areas look exactly the part, all chandeliers, wooden panelling and ceiling fans. By contrast, my room was a slight disappointment, being on the small side and the double bed actually two mattresses pushed together. There was no air-con (I guess it's considered unnecessary at an elevation of 6,000 feet) but there was a log effect electric fireplace which, although I didn't try it, appeared to be in working order. Mini Bar was present and correct, Bathroom had a bath tub with very basic overhead shower unit. No balcony, but you can open the windows for a bit of fresh air. Wi-fi didn't work in my room, but was fine in the public areas close to reception (several of my tour group reported the same problem). The dinner and breakfast buffets were good quality with plenty of choice, and the service was never less than excellent. Nuwara Eliya is a small town and it's an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel to the town centre, although if you've become accustomed to the tropical environment of lowland Sri Lanka it may come as a shock just how chilly it is at this altitude.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share such a detailed review with us here on TripAdvisor.
We always makes every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery.
However, you have noted some deficiencies during your stay, and I will make sure that these items are looked after.
I would like to let you know that wifi is available throughout the hotel now.
Once again, thank you for being a guest of Grand Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

Comfortable good sized rooms, the atmosphere is very colonial style and amazing.The breakfast buffet was good. Also enjoyed their Thai food restaurant. However my only problem was there was no wifi in rooms. With their location you can just stroll into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel, Nuwara Eliya for your recent travel,
We are delighted to know you had a wonderful stay, enjoying our breakfast buffet and Thai restaurant.
Thank you for your kind words and generous 4 stars.
I would like to let you know that wifi is available throughout the hotel now.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sri Lanka,

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Amazing hospitality great location
Great staff
Colonial at its best
If you need to experience true srilankan hospitality, please stop by even for a meal.
Great massage too
Just enjoy your time walking around the hotel

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kumari k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel, Nuwara Eliya.

We are overwhelmed with your particular way in which you make it a point to write and share your experience and appreciation about our hotel, overall facilities, quality of service and our jewel, the staff,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.

Thank you for your loyalty to our property, and we look forward to being of service to you once again.

Best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We were supposed to arrive at the Grand for dinner. However the bus that we were supposed to travel broke down and we got delayed. When we reached Grand hotel it was way past the buffet time and yet at 11:45 they had the buffet waiting for us with fresh food. Since that wow experience, our stay has been amazing...... Thanks to Tyrone and his team..from Chinthana,Luckshman,Attanayake,Viraj & Duminda for simply delighting us...

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for the glowing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay,
Thank you for your recognition on our dedicated teams. Our associate is our biggest treasure and I am glad to hear that they lived up to your high expectations. I will make sure the team hears about this. Your comment is, without a doubt, our great source of encouragement and inspiration to drive what we are doing every day.
It's our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Our group ate here three times during our stay in this town called Little England.

The High Tea here is not only delicious but superb value at around £6.50 and served in colonial surroundings with charming waiters.

The hotel offers various restaurants. We tried the Indian and the Thai and were impressed by both for quality, service and value.

I would have really like to have stayed here too!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback, we are delighted you had enjoyed the High Tea, Indian and Thai restaurants.
We strive to personalize every guest experience and I am so glad that this came across during your visit.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and spend a few days with us, so that you can explore many attractions and features in Nuwara Eliya.
We look forward to see you soon,

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I had a lovely experience at the Grand Hotel! the style of the hotel was unique and something I haven't seen before! The service was great and the food was tasty. I will recommend to anyone who wants to go to Sri Lanka to stay here!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Grand hotel, Nuwara Eliiya and we appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had wonderful stay with us and that our associates were able to make your stay comfortable.
Our aim is to provide our guests with memorable experiences and I am delighted to learn that my team was able to leave a positive impression on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

This is a Hotel which is all style and no substance. By that I mean that they pay lip service to their guests but don’t actually deliver the level of service you would expect.

Having said that the welcome was lovely complete with an excellent cup of tea. The rooms are relatively small but they are comfortable. We found the shower very poor - it needs a decent head!

The food in the buffet is good at both dinner and breakfast. A wide range of choice for all courses at dinner. We were provided with a breakfast box on our first morning as we left at 5 am and this was excellent.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Garforthsoulmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share such a detailed review with us here on TripAdvisor.
We always makes every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery.
However, you have noted some deficiencies during your stay, and I will make sure that these items are looked after.
Once again, thank you for being a guest of Grand Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best wishes,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
8 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,720 reviews
0.2 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
965 reviews
1.2 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
370 reviews
0.2 km away
Araliya Green City
Araliya Green City
#9 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
87 reviews
0.4 km away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: C$244 - C$376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing