We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought I was in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Very aptly named hotel, I really expected golfers to be wandering around in plus four's. Almost a surprise not to see Black Pudding on the menu! Great base for exploring the area. We arrived by train and the hotel sent someone to pick us up and use for excursions around the tea plantations. The room was comfortable if a bit dated and tired and the food was just about ok, especially compared to other places we stayed in Sri Lanka,

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sassytraveller233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, subsequent to your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew's. Your feedback is much appreciated - thank you!

While thanking you for your patronage we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew's on your next holiday in the highlands of Sri Lanka.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

A good location, delicious food, good service and unique English feeling! With a family the loft-room was perfect. I definately will come back if we ever travel to Sri Lanka again! The bar needs some music, but the right atmosphere is there!

Room Tip: With a family the loft was very convenient and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NinBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Your compliments have been shared with my associates and we truly look forward to welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew's on your next holiday in the highlands of Sri Lanka.

Thank you for your patronage.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Stayed here for one night on our tour of Sri Lanka
Was upgraded to a suite very nice and clean but could do better of lots of other things food was not great just needs a little updating .
It was the first one in the chain but needs re looking at but didn’t spoil our trip to this amazing country

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for selecting to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew's during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. Your feedback is important to us as this will allow us to improve where necessary - thank you.

Wile thanking you for your patronage, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to serve you better.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I couldn't believe I was in Sri Lanka, when we arrived. Very lovely English gardens and the hotel is from a bygone age. Our room was very simply furnished but adequate for our one night stay. Unfortunately there was very heavy rain, so it seemed a little damp but, a heater had been provided. Would have been nice to have use of a pool but good hotel otherwise.Lovely town and very English, hence it's name.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kazbar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your lovely comments on Trip Advisor on your recent stay in our colonial manor house. We are very much glad to share your compliments with my associates and surely this helps us to do better in future.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew's during your next holiday in the highlands of Sri Lanka.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at St. Andrews at our stay at Nuwara Eliya. The first impression one you drive into the St. Andrews was impressive. The staff was friendly ( which I always liked about jetwing) and we got a warm welcome. The impression when we got to the rooms were average. I felt like it was average hotel room interior. Apart from that the shabby finishes of the interior kind of killed my excitement. Overall stay was good. The breakfast spread was average but what ever they had taste delicious and fresh.

If you get colder there is a lounge with a fire pit, so can get comfy. They also had a snooker table which was 150 odd years old, and you could use it with a small charge per hr.

Small suggestion St. Andrews -
May be you might want to consider adding some fans, as it gets warmer ( without using the heater) in the night. I am doubting due to less air circulation. Coz I had to ask for a pedestal fan from you guys.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yasasi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review of your stay with us. Reviews of this nature is both encouraging and also allows us to improve where necessary.

Thank you for your suggestions and we really hope to have the opportunity of serving you better in the future.

Thank you for your patronage.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I have visited St Andrews a few times before but this is the first time that i have stayed there and I was very impressed with the improvements that have been made in the last few years, the hotel still retains its colonial past - pool room, wood fires, bar & beautiful garden but there are also some welcome modern additions such as the light and airy breakfast room and the glass walled conservatory area so you can enjoy the views without the cooler climate. The rooms themselves are also much improved and are light, colourful and homely.
Both breakfast and dinner were excellent. The only slight problem which is the same in all Jetwing hotels is that you can only have black tea in your room - powdered milk creamer is not the same!
Unlike some of the other grand old hotels in Nuwara Eliya St Andrews has invested in improvements and is not just rooted in the past so we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thespicehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Guest,

It is great to read that you had a memorable holiday with us at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We are grateful to your kind words and compliments and they will be shared with my associates.

Guest reviews of this nature will certainly motivate and help the team to achieve higher standards, which will in turn improve the guest experience.

We are glad you enjoyed our colonial charm - Jetwing St. Andrew's and we thank you for your patronage.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Classic colonial style hotel; what do you expect with a name called St. Andrews? Service was very good and the rooms were elegant and spacious. The food was very good both at dinner and breakfast. The hotel is a few minutes walk into town and has some very well maintained gardens and a snooker room.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Clive888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017


Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experienced on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Jetwing St. Andrew's.

We have shared your compliments with my associates and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jetwing St. Andrew's during your next holiday in the highlands of Sri Lanka.


Ayubowan! (may you live long)


Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
7.8 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,712 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,179 reviews
1.4 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
369 reviews
3.6 km away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
12.2 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $225 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing