We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Place Ever”
Review of The Folly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Folly
Ranked #1 of 29 Pottuvil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2016

we have booked over the phone for a day but been there for 3 weeks,what a place wow wow,its a beautifull place i have ever seen,just next to the beach.. my kids enjoyed lot,still my kids dreaming the place. love it love it,muba ur great and the boss very friendly and helping hand.food is very tasty.we will back soon....

Room Tip: A/C Room (but bit expensive)
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for The Folly
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016

We had an amazing stay at the Folly! Read about it in Lonely Planet, it was everything what we expected! It's located directly on the beach, has a good vibe and the cabanas are clean. Musquito nets are available. The staff is really friendly and very helpful, 24h a day. Muba is a great host, makes you feel at home immediately. The food in the Folly is great, everything is super fresh and well prepared. We would recommend this place to everyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Misty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We came across the folly by accident but are so pleased we did, it was 5* accommodation, all the staff and Muba were so kind and helpful, the accommodation was clean and the area of the huts was sweeped and beautiful, with places to wash ur feet to keep sand out your hut, flowers decorating the water spots and smiles all around. Food was also amazing, brought to you at your hut or on the beach, dream stay. I will be recommending to all my friends back home. A wonderful stay by the beach..... :-)

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyas155, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

we always working to deliver excellent service.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Despite several calls with the owner and written confirmation, our booking was not honored. When we arrived, the manager told us our canabas were slighty further down the beach. It turns out he had taken the liberty of booking another place (his friend's obvisouly) for us. The rooms were very spartiate and not on the beach at all. We would have booked ourselves something different if we had known the hotel was full.
This establishment is not managed seriously and keeps guests for granted. It lives on its reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MadameHaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyas155, Owner at The Folly, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

you came on that day as you pre booked, ask for the cheaper price , we refused to give you, you try to manipulate the things but i have given you proof as you booked for normal price,still we try to give you some discounts,you did not agree and left the place with out staying.i had look all your review( nearly 9 review),all of them you have reviewed very badly,we understanding now problem is not with the property but with you.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I can describe our stay at "The Folly" with one single word - AWESOME!

The follys and cabanas are clean and really authentic. It's a great experience to sleep there. The area is right next to the beach, with possibilities to relax and a private beach bar where you can have delicious fresh fruit juice or coconuts.
The manager - Muba - will do everything to make your stay as simple and comfortable as possible. No matter what kind of problem you have (if you need a surfboard, a taxi driver or you want to do a safari), Muba arranges it for you.
The food there is extremely good and always made fresh for you. If you want to have breakfast at 5am, you will get it. All the employees are so friendly.
If you are lucky and have the chance to stay there, do it!

It woud be a big mistake not to stay there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tschulss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Mother, father and two kifs (10 and12), stayed for five nights in the "suite" with AC, shower ect.
We had the best time, with friendly and serviceminded staff and tourists from all over the world.
Nice to hook up in the evening, connect the spotify on the speaker to share and enjoy conversations with all the different people + a coupple of beer
Staff is superrelaxed but still focused to give you the best service.
We would love to come back!

Best to you all from Norway

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank marohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Situated on the beach, this is very cool place to stay. The staff is awesome, they'll help you with anything. The place is not very big and the atmosphere is very relaxed/laid-back which makes you feel at home... Special thanks to Mubarak for all the care!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank n_remy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.5 km away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 13 in Arugam Bay
113 reviews
0.2 km away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Arugam Bay
132 reviews
0.5 km away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 13 in Arugam Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#3 of 13 in Arugam Bay
81 reviews
0.5 km away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#4 of 13 in Arugam Bay
225 reviews
1.0 km away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pottuvil
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Folly

Address: Main Road, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Samantha's Folly)
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Pottuvil
Price Range: $38 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly beach resort in the middle of the bay with 4 luxury cabanas, 6 funky follies and two beautiful luxury Arabian tents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Folly Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing