We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not That Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We got stuck in the Cortez area for the night and this was the only available room. I wasn't expecting much from a $65 per night motel, but we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms smelled good, the bed was comfortable, the linens were clean and the shower was delightful. I'd stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indescriminate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

I had to stay in this motel because there was no availability in any other place. At first I really hesitated to stay there, it looked scary and rundown, with customers smoking or walking their dogs... but as soon as I entered in my room a got surprised because of the extra clean and spacious room. It has a king bed, no bad smell in it, fridge and microwave, flat screen tv, toiletries etc. It is old, and the carpet was also old, but clean. No weird noises outside, so I had a good sleep. Breakfast is basic, with coffee , juice, milk, cereal, toast and waffle maker. If you are in a low budget or you do not have any other place to stay, at least this motel is clean and with the basic amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

The pictures online haven't been updated in years. Hundred dollar a night hotels usually live up to a minimum standard. This place has no standards. Door didn't lock correctly unless you played with it. A/C didn't work. Carpet was gross. Breakfast was just edible with orange drink...not even juice. Not the safest feeling place in the world...stay anywhere else... Please

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Only ended up here because our van broke down 33 miles away. The tow company dropped are van next store to be repaired. Closest motel for us to walk too. Checked in at 1:30am. The room smelled like smoke. Had to stay another night...asked to change to a non smoking room. I was told they all were non smoking, but people don't always listen. I asked to check out the room first..right next store. It smelled like a sewer. Instead they offered us Lysol spray and odo ban and we stayed where we were after using odo ban. The breakfast was ok.
The second morning we heard loud knocking at 9:30am. We were all sleeping. When I went to the door and asked who it was she said "room service." And left. At 10:30 she returned knocking again! I asked her what she wanted and she asked if we were staying another night. Check out was not until noon. How annoying. We will never stay there again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This was the worst place, by far, that we have EVER stayed at. When I walked in the door and saw the machine to "deodorize" it was a clear omen of how awful the place was going to be. Even after they had "deodorized" the room, the smell was abominable. I had also reserved a king bed, and instead had 2 queen beds. But that was nothing in comparison with the filthiness of the entire place. It also had no soap, and almost no toilet paper. And as not surprise at all, the battery to the smoke alarm was removed. All in all, the absolute worst place we have ever stayed at. If you have any choice at all, do not walk - RUN to another motel/hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Nice locally owned motel. Older but clean and with very helpful staff. Had a very nice outdoor pool, bbq grills available and plenty of activities on site. Made a great stop over in a long trip with a 9yr old. Super price

Room Tip: South side was close to pool but no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BWGLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was nothing fancy but absolutely clean! The staff was nice and approachable and very informative. The pool was clean and there was a nice sitting area where you could have shade or sun. They sell ice in the bag which was helpful to fill the cooler.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pettistl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.5 km away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
330 reviews
2 km away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.9 km away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
4.2 km away
Days Inn Cortez
Days Inn Cortez
#10 of 16 in Cortez
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Address: 640 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-3430 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $63 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesa Verde Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing