We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveller rating
611
172
55
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
172
55
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake mendota relaxation pool resort fee boathouse restaurant ice rink beautiful hotel steam room floor to ceiling windows self parking a lake view room room service beautiful room state street restaurants and bars walk in shower king room fitness center
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 895 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2017

We stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and it was just what we needed. We stayed in the main building and our room had a lovely and large balcony (even though it was raining). One small misunderstanding (100% on my part) was that when I booked the room it stated to have lake views (which was a huge selling point). While our room technically had a lake view it was to the right of our room and only visible when standing on the balcony. Soooooooooo if that's a big deal maybe call and clarify that you would like a lake facing room. Also wifi and parking are extra costs which raises the total cost of the room BUT in my opinion the parking is well worth the additional cost.

Otherwise room was super clean and fancy. Hotel bar was nice. Concierge desk was super helpful. My partner's glasses broke late at night and they had a stick of super glue on hand. So random but totally a life saver. The staff all around was very helpful.

AND we were able to walk down to the lake in the morning. So it all worked out!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017

Dear Erica C,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was accommodating to your needs. We hope you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Madison.

All Our Best,
Amy Supple, COO
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater. Great downtown location and Beautiful views of the lake. Resort fee seems excessive. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Dinner at the statehouse was better than breakfast.
Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peteriford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Peteriford,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to The Edgewater. Our resort fee ensures guests enjoy access to a number of amenities on property such as complimentary shuttle, bottled water in each room, and high-speed wifi, among many other offerings. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your visit and look forward to welcoming you to The Edgewater when your travels bring you to Madison.

All Our Best,
Amy Supple, COO
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Everything about our stay was terrific. The room was clean and comfortable with a lake view that can't be beat.

The fitness room had all of the equipment I could want.

Although we didn't have a chance to experience the luscious food, we heard it's great.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goalieguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear Goalieguru,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and that you had the opportunity to utilize our fitness room! We hope you will join us again for drinks or dinner over the summer on The Statehouse or Boathouse patios as the sunset over Lake Mendota is truly extraordinary!

All Our Best,
Amy Supple, COO
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017

The new and updated Edgewater is beautiful and so many details have been put in. Comfortable beds, spacious bathroom, robes to lounge in...the only "flaws" we found during our stay was the LOUD sound the doors make when closing, enough to wake us up in the morning, not enough towel bars/hooks in the bathroom, and while there was complimentary water at the front desk if you asked, it would be a nice idea to put at least two in each room when a guest checks in and to also be replenished daily from housekeeping.

We will stay again, these are just suggestions to make the experience even better for guests paying $$$ each night.

Room Tip: Request lakeside access for the best views!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OntheG0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear OntheGo0727,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to The Edgewater. We greatly appreciate your comments about your room and ways in which we can improve, these have been forwarded to our managers in order to improve every guests experience. When your travels bring you back to Madison, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Edgewater.

All Our Best,
Amy Supple, COO
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

The Edgewater provided excellent hospitality on our mid week getaway. utilized the spa services, In room dining was perfect, and the Statehouse dinner was delicious. All staff was exceptionally friendly. Hotel is close to State Street comedy club and many of good local restaurants. Would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a getaway.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear Laurie B,

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your mid-week adventure and that you were able to experience our Spa and The Statehouse restaurant. We hope to welcome you again soon to The Edgewater on the shores of beautiful Lake Mendota.

All Our Best,
Amy Supple, COO
The Edgewater Madison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews